Feast logo

How “Beat Bobby Flay” revived my marriage

A story of food and love

By Jazzy Published 5 months ago 3 min read
11
The chicken sandwich

My husband and I like to watch TV at the end of the day before bed. We would alternate between each of us, choosing what we wanted and sometimes having discussions based on these shows. I love drama and smut, so my choices were reality TV shows. He likes comedy, so it was always something light and funny. Recently, we have been in mind to have entertainment and learn something: que “Beating Bobby Flay.” My husband used to watch this show in high school and was excited to watch something outside the realm of what we usually choose; I was happy he was showing me something that meant something to him.

Don’t be fooled she liked it

For those who have not seen the show, the concept is simple. Chefs have to battle each other to get a chance to compete against Bobby Flay (who is a renowned chef in that world!) The chefs are given an ingredient they have to showcase, then after that round they get to tell Bobby Flay a dish they want to create, their signature dish! Which always comes down to the wire and is super intense!

This show ended up being such a revival for our marriage. Between work, health issues, and having a kid, we had fallen into patterns and routines that worked for us. Only to find some cracks in the intimacy and relationship. Complacency is easy when you're on autopilot. Luckily, after chatting about the show, a show debriefing, if you will, we talked about cooking together on one of our nights off. Not only would we learn new skills, but we got to be together and eat delicious food. I had never had a fried chicken sandwich due to being gluten-free, and that was the first undertaking we attempted together. I spent time researching what we needed and getting the ingredients, and that night, my husband and I worked together to make these sandwiches. Our daughter played at the table while he and I breaded and fried these chicken breasts. It was truly a picturesque scene I was hoping for more often in this fast paced life. We here in America tend to forget the Dolce Vida. The Sweet Life. The idea that we don’t have to be rushing but we can actually stop and enjoy things as well.

The husband and I

At last, I had a fried chicken sandwich. My husband had four, and our daughter even ate some! This experience was so calming and lovely we decided to make it a weekly thing; choose a recipe and make it together.

(So far I’ve been attempting other recipes on my own including, cashew chicken, Asian style meatloaf, and fall inspired chili. I have been making so much food I have to share it will anyone who is interested!)

Not surprisingly, we have gained a new appreciation for food and cooks, and I have found a new passion for making delightful dinners and expanding our palettes in general. I'm even enrolling in the local college to learn more cooking skills! My husband and I found a crossroad that works for us to build our intimacy; and maybe even one day, try to beat Bobby Flay.

If you have any recipes you think we simply must try I’m super open to anything. Currently we have a list of some I want to make, including paella and fensenjoon. I really want to branch out and try new flavors from different parts of the world and this has been so cool to do and learn about. There’s something poetic about having the world on your fork and then in your tummy isn’t there? ❤️

recipecuisine
11

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Sounds like a really cool show, I need to look it up! I really loved the idea of cooking together with your spouse/significant other too. Thanks for sharing!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Awesome! I love love love cooking shows. My favorite remains Top Chef on Bravo. There was also another show I found but so far there is only one season 🙁. It's call Crime scene kitchen. It's a baking show but very interesting to watch the contestants try and put the pieces together, while the viewers do the same. So glad you found common ground to reignite the reasons you chose each other. If you like brothy Asian styled soups, then you have to make potsticker soup. Buy some mini wontons (pork tastes the best to me), make a broth with soy sauce, to big spoons of salsa (yes salsa) sesame oil and ginger. Salt and pepper to taste. Add your favorite veggies and enjoy. Simmer until wontons are done and I usually add the veggies last, so they retain a crunch. Oh, you might be able to find gluten free wontons. Thanks for sharing your story.

  • Awww, you guys look soooo adorable! All three of you! I'm so happy you're making this into a weekly thing. Looking forward to reading about it if you decide to publish them here!

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    My wife and I usually find TV boring so we play 500 rummy a lot of nights. I tried to teach her chess but she found it boring so cards it is.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    How exciting! Well done!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Cooking together has always been a thing that we enjoy, and we fall out of the habit but always make it back to it 🥰. I love that show too!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Dancing or cooking can revive a relationship!!! Loving your feast story!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.