Feast logo

Healthy Breakfast

Potato hash

By Lavinia IftodiPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
1
Healthy Breakfast
Photo by Mary West on Unsplash

this might be one of my favorite egg dishes right now that is not only a great breakfast but is also made in about 15 minutes it starts with one big potato this weighs 250 gram I won't bother peeling this but instead I will take a brush and just clean it in my sink under cold water until all the dirty spots are gone now I will cut this potato into small cubes and the best way to do that is to first cut off one big slice and use the surface now as a stable base next I will first cut this into four big planks about one centimeter a half an inch thick then I will stack them cut them into French fries and now you can just cut them into cubes that will have roughly the same size I will do the same with the outside pieces as well now instead of cooking them around the pan I will first add them into a bowl and microwave them this will create a layer on the exterior of the potatoes that will then become crispy when they get fried in the pan you can also cook them raw of course if you want but then they will take a bit longer in the pan and you may have ending with burnt potatoes I will microwave them at 600 watts for 5 minutes in the meantime I will dice a small you know onion this weighs 70 gram and then I will prepare 100 gram of ham this is chicken ham and with 107 calories and 19 grams of protein one of the best protein sauces you can buy I will cut these in the same shape as my potatoes you can also add a red bell pepper or carrots to add some volume if you want but I will make this without any other vegetables I will also use three whole eggs for this if you want to use egg whites only that is fine but I would really suggest to use at least one whole egg because the yolk will taste amazing in this recipe okay let's get cooking I will start with adding 5 grams of olive oil into a pan of medium high heat this is a bit more than I usually will use but you will need it now I think the microwave potatoes and fry them for about three to four minutes and the occasion is stirring you will see that they will slightly stick and that is from the outer layer of starch so try to separate them with a spatula until they slowly get a brown color and start to become crispy this is where I will add the onions and also the ham and keep frying under occasional stirring for another 3 minutes if you see that there is not enough oil you can also add one second of oil and keep mixing so everything gets covered keep frying until the awnings start to become caramelized as well and then make three holes with your spatula to make space for the eggs I will again add a tiny bit of oil into every hole and then cracking the eggs if you want to use egg whites for less calories and more protein I would suggest one whole egg with 100 gram of egg whites that works pretty good reduce the heat now to medium low to not burn the bottom add a strong pinch of salt freshly ground black pepper I will also add some dashes of chili powder for some cake and now very important add three splashes around 25 grams of soy sauce and immediately close the lid so the steam will be trapped this will add a nice Umami layer through the entire dish that will taste absolutely amazing about two to three minutes later the eggs will be cooked so switch off the heat I will also add fresh cilantro on top possible work as well and there you go a potato hash breakfast that comes in with 615 calories 58 grams of Cups 24 grams of fat and 45 grams of protein this meal is so Savory and delicious

reciperestaurantscuisine
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.