Feast logo

Guilt Free High Protein Zuchinni Cakes

Because, diets are so 2010

By Chelsea SwiftPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

Welcome back to the best blog in town, I'll be your host: Master chef, Chels.

Now you're wondering, did I name myself that? Yes....yes, I did but only after my fiance said it, so then I just ran with it.

Honestly, most of the time he immediately regrets complimenting me because I will just soak in that compliment for days....like, I'm talking marinate.

Bathe me in compliments is so real and yes, I also plan to make food puns this entire blog post.

Okay, anyways, I know you're not just here for my jokes and you're probably wondering how I made my plant based cakes "packed" with protein, but we have to have a little chat about your weird diet before we get started.

First of all, do not do a diet until you have the math correct. It's actual science guys, just save yourself some years and simply, calculate your personal calorie count; that's when you can line up the foods you love with those calories.

Simple, like cooking. It's literally not hard and you don't have to eat 1200 calories and cry when you look at pizza, you just need to do the math you swore you'd never use after high school.

Anyways, diets are now a thing of the past, grab an Eating Well mag if you don't believe me, it's simply not cool to not eat. This happened when pizza hit the streets dressed as cauliflower...

....while chucking the PLT sign. (plants, lettuce, tomato)

So yea, fashion food actually happened and now you can make anything you love, healthy.

Mac and cheese can now be packed with protein, your favorite burger can be stuffed with quinoa...

....so let the diets die and follow me on Instagram: @SwiftChefGetYaNikes I'm kidding, it's @chelsea.swift, but follow me to kitchen is so real, I always share skinny drinks and plant based recipes so check those out LIVE on there... and yea, you missed these delicious zuchinni cakes on my Instagram story because you weren't follow me, so if you like this recipe, definitely go do that at some point today. Recipe drops now:

High Protein Guilt Free Zuchinni Cakes | Recipe

  • 1 1/2 Zuchinni | Grated | Don't forget to: wring out zuchinni
  • 1/2 Carrot | Grated
  • 1/2 cup | All Purpose Quest Protein Powder | This is how you add the protein boo, I know, cheers babes!
  • 1 cup of egg whites
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups of GF panko crumbs
  • Himilayan Sea Salt, Peppercorn, Garlic Powder, Fresh Chive, Fresh Dill, Lemon Juice

Mix that up, form into cakes and press each side of the cake into GF panko crumbs - (do not coat with egg, just press)

Miso Carrot Ginger Sauce | Recipe: In a blender, add: water, ginger, himilayan sea salt, peppercorn, shredded carrot, honey, stevia, coconut aminos (or soy sauce) | blend it up, I honestly have no idea what the exact measurements are because, I already told you, I think I'm on top chef when I cook....

I start sweating, there's like, a spot light that turns on in my kitchen, the worst part is I'm alone and I have 3 minutes to finish the miso carrot sauce or I'm chopped.

Just whippin' those yolks today. That's how I spell "joke" by the way, with a soft "y".

Okay, now let me give you the rest of my method man (breathes heavy at pun no one noticed) just pan sear (two of my favorite cooking words) so, you want to pan sear those - in coconut oil or with coconut oil cooking spray - popular question I'm about to answer, coconut oil is the only oil that can be heated at a very high temp without changing the chemical balance and turning into a completely different oil.

Conclusion? Coconut oil is the best oil to use 80% of the time, the other 20% is zero cares, use what's in your cabinet and stop over thinking oil wars you forgot to think about when 9/11 happened. Okay back to the method: pretty simple, medium heat, pan sear both sides, then put the cover on for a few minutes, flip again and pull them off once they are crispy.

Voila, delicious, easy, healthy and very basic.

Before you say it, yes, you can add cheese, you can add different breadcrumbs, there's a million ways to twist, dip and flip; but my version is guilt free.

Notice there is no high calorie cheese, oils or fats. So, I'm throwing that out there because if you start adding meat and cheese, you did not get this recipe from me.

This is my "kale-ing it" recipe, that I now pass to you, so don't ruin this beautiful little plant based cake with your weird craving or high sugar sauces. Keep it simple, keep it real and you'll never have to diet again. Okay, now go, tell your family who sent you and whip these up for your next BBQ, so you can actually enjoy the party without suffering in the corner with a fruit salad.

I like big puns and I cannot lie. For more skinny drinks, weight loss motivation, positive energy, check out my podcast! On Pandora, Spotify and Apple: Click Here To Listen

Now offering custom weight loss plans on my website, click here to get started!

recipe

About the Creator

Chelsea Swift

Picture Regina George swapping the Burn Book for fashion, wellness, and spiritual growth – hi, that's me! My fashion sense? Vogue-worthy. Catch me crushing it in the author world, consulting, directing like a boss, or blogging up a storm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chelsea SwiftWritten by Chelsea Swift

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.