Feast logo

Grandma's Healing Recipe: Chicken and Dumplings for the Soul

A Nourishing Dish That Mends Hearts and Affirms Resilience"

By Sulley Samira Published 7 months ago 3 min read
1

In the darkest of moments, when life seemed to have thrown all its chaos at me, I received a comforting dish that not only nourished my body but also my soul. It was a dish that my grandmother, a woman of incredible strength and warmth, used to prepare – her famous Chicken and Dumplings.

The day I needed it most was a chilly, overcast afternoon. I had just received some life-altering news, the kind that makes your heart sink and your mind race with a million thoughts. I felt lost and disheartened, seeking solace in my grandmother's humble kitchen, a place that had always been my refuge.

As I entered, she greeted me with a reassuring smile. Without a word, she began to prepare her magical concoction of Chicken and Dumplings. The aroma of simmering chicken, vegetables, and the gentle hum of conversation gradually filled the room. It was as if my grandmother had a sixth sense, knowing exactly what I needed – a warm, hearty meal that would mend not just my empty stomach but also my wounded spirit.

While she chopped vegetables, my grandmother shared stories of her own struggles and triumphs. She spoke of resilience, hope, and the enduring power of love. Her words were like a soothing balm to my distressed soul. It was the first glimmer of hope in a dark day.

The dish took time to prepare, but it was worth every second. The chicken was tender, the vegetables were perfectly cooked, and the dumplings were soft, fluffy pillows that soaked up the rich broth. As we sat down to eat, my grandmother offered a heartfelt blessing: "May this meal fill you with warmth and strength. Just like the love that has always surrounded you."

Each bite was a reminder of the love and care that had always enveloped me, not only from my grandmother but from everyone who had supported me through life's trials. The dish was simple, yet it held the power to heal.

Today, I want to share my grandmother's recipe for Chicken and Dumplings, not only as a delicious meal but as a source of comfort, strength, and affirmation for anyone who prepares it.

**Chicken and Dumplings Recipe**

*Ingredients:*

- 1 whole chicken, cut into pieces

- 2 carrots, sliced

- 2 celery stalks, chopped

- 1 onion, finely chopped

- 2 cloves garlic, minced

- 4 cups chicken broth

- 2 cups water

- Salt and pepper to taste

- 2 cups all-purpose flour

- 1 tablespoon baking powder

- 1/2 teaspoon salt

- 1 cup milk

- 2 tablespoons melted butter

*Instructions:*

1. In a large pot, place the chicken pieces, carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. Add the chicken broth and water. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for about 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked and the vegetables are tender.

2. In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Stir in the milk and melted butter to form a soft dough.

3. Drop spoonfuls of the dumpling dough into the simmering broth. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes, or until the dumplings are cooked through.

4. Serve hot, with a generous spoonful of broth, chicken, vegetables, and dumplings in each bowl.

As you prepare and savor this meal, remember that it's not just food; it's a source of comfort, strength, and hope. The warmth it provides is a reminder that even in the darkest moments, there's light, and there are people who love and support you. This meal embodies the affirmation that you are stronger than you think, and you have the resilience to overcome any challenge.

As you savor every bite, know that you are not alone, and you are capable of enduring and thriving. Just like the love and strength that my grandmother's Chicken and Dumplings provided me, may this dish bring you the comfort and affirmation you need, reminding you that there is hope, love, and light even in the toughest of times.

restaurantsrecipehumanityhealthycuisine
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka7 months ago

    This looks good. I'm going to give it a try

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.