Feast logo

Fresh Lemon Coconut Bites

A summer delight!

By Katie . ERYT RCYT CraniosacralPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

These Are My Favourite Little Nutritious Bites!

I have been making variations of these tasty, nutritious bites for over 20 years now - yes, since I was a teen! And yes, my sister and bro made fun of me for being a health freak, although my sister did want to open a bakery with me so I could do the healthy treats and she could do the full butter side - not a bad idea! I am hypoglycemic, so having a well-balanced snack on me at all times is essential, and was super critical as a growing and very athletic teen.

Now as a mompreneur with a pretty full schedule - between having fun with my family, my passions, and my ‘work’ (I’m lucky to call work as I love what I do!) - I like to make sure I have healthy snacks on hand for when I’m out and about or a quick go to for myself and little ones. No matter what your schedule is like, these are simple snacks to make, with lots of variations for you to get creative with, and offer a filling, nutritious, yet light snack. They also store well in the fridge or freezer, so making a bigger batch (doubling below) is a great idea!

These little nutritious treats are perfect to take with you camping, hiking, for kids camps (see nut-free version if needed), or any adventure! This variation of fresh, light Lemon Coconut Energy Bites are one of my favourite treats for the Spring and Summer! They are packed with flavour and healthy fats to sustain you on your summer adventures, and a winner with little ones too! They are easy, no-bake nutritious nibbles you can make with little ones (fun to roll together) to help them get involved with cooking. As you will see below, there are also a number of variations, including; lime and berries, chocolate, and nut-free options! You can choose your own favourite nuts and flavours and get creative :)

Ingredients (organic where possible) - Makes 16:

1 cup of raw cashews

8 pitted dates, chopped

½ cup of hemp seeds

1 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes

¼ cup of flax seeds

2 organic lemons

How To:

1) Blend 1 cup of raw cashews and 8 pitted dates until smooth in blender or food processor

2) Add 1/2 cup of hemp seeds, 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes and ¼ cup of flax seeds and blend

3) Add in the zest of 2 organic lemons and their juice and blend

4) With a spoon (or hands), create little balls of the above mixture to roll in ½ cup of coconut flakes

I personally love playing with variations and tasting various combinations. In the cooler months I like to make them with almonds (replacing cashews) and cocoa replacing half of the coconut. There are so many ways you can take this! If you are looking for nut-free options, you can use Wow-Butter instead of the cashews too - common for schools and kids camps. What other combinations can you get creative with?!

Other Options You Can Play With!

You can replace cashews with almonds, brazil nuts, or walnuts.

You can add a pinch of sea salt.

You can add a ¼ cup of raspberries, blueberries or other berries in step 3.

You can use lime instead of lemon!

What Did You Create?

I’d love to hear the variations you come up with and see pictures of you making them with your little ones! You can comment and share your creation on my post with the image of these treats on my Instagram or Facebook page @theglowithinyou. Always fun to share and inspire others!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Katie . ERYT RCYT Craniosacral

In case you're wondering... my image is me doing Lion's Breath - a great breath for stress release! I am an Expert Registered Yoga + Children's Yoga Teacher, have my own Yoga School, and am a Craniosacral Healer.

@theglowithinyou

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.