Feast logo

Eggs Benedict, simplified

My version of the classic dish, ready in five minutes

By Susan FourtanéPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
25
Eggs Benedict, simplified
Photo by John Baker on Unsplash

First, here is a little background.

There is a general misconception (mostly) that eating healthy implies following an array of complicated recipes which use lots of ingredients, many more spices, and take lots of time to prepare or/and cook. Many times in the past, I found myself searching for something new to prepare for my meals. There are lots of recipes with beautifully staged, photoshopped photos out there.

When I finally get to read the list of ingredients, preparation, and cooking time I can’t help but get frustrated. “There is absolutely no way I will waste that amount of time cooking something that I will eat in 10 minutes or less,” I tell to myself most of the time. Whatever I eat is simple, delicious, and requires minimal or no cooking.

One day, Claudia, a friend who spends lots of time cooking three times a day just for herself, told me she was surprised that despite I don't cook, or cook very little I still manage to eat healthy. I told her that I really can’t waste so much time of my day just cooking. I don’t have the time or the patience for it. I explained that I like simple food, with a few ingredients, as natural as possible.

Many times, I make my own experiments and inventions out of whatever there is in the fridge. It’s nice to be creative and experiment with different flavours, combining things that are not commonly combined and see what it comes out of it. After all, if you don’t try something you will never know if you like it, or not, right?

We started joking about “cooking with Susan.” So I said: “Not cooking with Susan is more appropriate!” I wondered if anyone else would find my non-cooking or minimal cooking method useful. That’s how the idea of Not cooking with Susan was born.

***

My version of Eggs Benedict

I initially bought Hollandaise sauce for a quick dish with asparagus. Unfortunately, I forgot to buy the asparagus. So, what else could I make with the sauce? Eggs Benedict! 

My challenge is how to make a version of anything faster and easier, with little dirty dishes left behind. And I came up with this, my own version of the classic dish, now reinvented for Not Cooking with Susan. 

First, the classic and original Eggs Benedict, which is ready in between 20 to 30 minutes. An eternity! 

***

Eggs Benedict: the classic + four more ways 

Eggs Benedict is an American breakfast or brunch dish, usually consisting of two halves of an English muffin, each topped with Canadian bacon, a poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. It was served for the first time in 1894 in the Waldorf Hotel in New York. 

For beautiful results of Eggs Benedict by the great Jamie Oliver, I like watching this video. But it's just too complicated to make one just for myself, and more time consuming than my humble version.

***

My simplified version of Eggs Benedict in five minutes

It was a really easy, quick, and delicious breakfast for a Saturday morning in just five minutes. This was my first time cooking this variation of Eggs Benedict.

Ingredients:

- 3 eggs

- hollandaise sauce (I didn’t make the sauce)

I boiled the eggs for 5 minutes. When ready, I peeled them and cut them in halves. I placed them on a dish and added the hollandaise sauce that I had warmed up in the microwave for a few seconds while the eggs were boiling. That’s it! Ready to enjoy. Easy, quick, and delicious.

You can put the egg halves on top of a toast or an English muffin, if you wish, and add toppings as you like.

For me, cooking is about making simple things and experimenting.

Enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee.

***

recipehealthycuisine
25

About the Creator

Susan Fourtané

Susan Fourtané is a Science and Technology Journalist, a professional writer with 18 years experience writing for global media and industry publications. She's a member of the ABSW, WFSJ, Society of Authors, and London Press Club.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I ordered Eggs Benedict in an Annapolis, Maryland "Denny's" once. It was a middle of the night tipsy choice with friends after dancing. It looked delicious; then just like a mud-slide the whole display slid of the english muffin and guess what? It was covered in green mold! The same Denny's was later sued by the United States Federal Government after two black CIA agents stopped for a quick lunch on their way back to Washington, D.C.; they were repeatedly denied a table while white folks passed them over and again. When finally seated a server refused to wait on them. A bit off course, yes. This was in the early 80's! Boo hiss Denny's! But YAY to positive news and recipes for this delectable brunch!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I will try anything with eggs, heard of it, never tried it. Will give it a go. Congrats on TS.

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    Great explanation of a quick-cook method. Congrats on the TS hope to see you not cooking some more

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    This looks soooo good! I will have to try. Congrats on your top story.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I love the idea of "Not cooking with Susan" The best of luck if you decide to go forward with a You Tube channel or something. There are tons of quick items you can feature. Loved your article.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    I love a classic "Bennie," but never make my own hollandaise sauce. My wife isn't a fan of poached eggs, so I might try this idea for her. I also watched the video and will probably try his poaching method. Thanks for posting this version and I'll be cheking out more of your recipes!

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    Definitely going to be trying this! Well-deserved top story! :)

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Yep. Definitely easier. Congrats on the TS.

  • I love it. Thank you for sharing your simplified version of Eggs Benedict. You are so creative. Great job. I will be checking in for more of your Not cooking with Susan features. I'm always looking for new and different recipes to try out. Thank you again!

  • Omggg, you should write a series here called Not Cooking With Susan! I feel it's a scam to cook for so long but it takes so little time to eat. I even wrote a poem about it, lol, but I digress. I love things to be as simple as quick as possible. Also, yes, not the best photo but it's the taste that's important!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.