Feast logo

Chips & Dip

I really do love me some dip

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • 3 min read
Like
Surprise dip

"Food tastes better when you eat it with your family."

I'm not really one to be posting recipes on Vocal. But, I really do love me some chips and dip. It has always been one of my favourite snacks. I know this is meant to be a post about summer, but every fond memory of summer that I have, includes dip being a part of it. Mmm, dip!

I think most people view their perfect summertime snack as something they can barbecue or something that can be cooked over a fire pit (like burnt hot dogs, smores, or bush pies which also happen to be some of my favourites.)

But truly, my favourite summertime snack has been and always will be dip. I know, weird right? I have a fond memory of trying mango salsa for the first time out on the deck of my family's cabin when I was about twelve years old. It seriously is better than regular salsa. That memory and so many others like it are why I think that dip is THE best snack.

Ultimately, my favourite dip happens to be my family's homemade Surprise Dip. We tend to make it for most celebratory events such as Christmas or Easter. Most of our family get-togethers, we try to make this dip. One of my favourite lake days with my friends I brought a batch of it out to the cabin. They all loved it. Those people inspired me to create this post.

Since I happened to just make a batch of it for myself to eat.... (Don't judge me please, it is addicting and I had a massive craving for it just recently.) I guess I thought about writing down the recipe for others to enjoy as well.

Here's how my family makes Suprise Dip:

Surprise Dip

  • 1 package of cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1 cup of finely chopped green onions
  • 1 cup of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese
  • 1 can of shrimp (optional)
  • 1 jar of seafood sauce

Let the cream cheese get to be about room temperature. Mix with the mayo. Once that is mixed and no chunks of cream cheese are present, spread a good heaping of seafood sauce over the mayo and cream cheese mixture. Top that with the canned shrimp. Then, add the tomatoes and green onions as the next layer. Top that with the shredded cheese. Let the dip sit for about two hours in refrigeration before enjoying it with your favourite crackers or chips. A family favourite and perfect for just about any event. You can double the recipe if you want. This makes a small batch of dip but if you plan on hosting a larger event I recommend doubling it just in case you need more.

The reason why I say the canned shrimp is optional is because of allergies. It still tastes just as good without the shrimp but I do think it adds to the overall flavour of the dip when you add them in.

____________________________________________________

To me, chips and dip are THE ultimate snacks. This family recipe dip happens to be one of my favourites and it is really easy to make with items most people have on hand. I have made a few variations of this dip and I decided that it tastes better with spicy seafood sauce. A little bit of spice in your life never hurt anyone.

Let me know what you think of this delicious Surprise Dip!

It really is a family favourite of mine. I make it with love for my family as it is meant to be shared with others. (Hopefully one day my kiddos like raw tomatoes so they can enjoy it as I do.)

I hope that my Vocal followers enjoy this dip as much as I do!

Chloe Rose Violet

diy
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.