Feast logo

Canned Tuna

Canned Trauma

By KJ AartilaPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
9
Canned Tuna
Photo by Ignat Kushanrev on Unsplash

Canned Tuna - Canned Trauma

What is this nightmare? Who decided this was good? It has left a bad taste in my mouth, and a black mark on my soul.

I’m talking about the soul-crushing, disgusting food-like product called canned tuna fish. Ewwww! I can’t even … but I will try to get through this rant/story without throwing up.

I was around six years old, staying with my favorite aunt and uncle and cousins, while my parents took off for a few days. Playing with my cousin and staying over was always a blast, but on one of those days, for an afternoon lunch, my aunt made Campbell’s tomato soup and tuna fish sandwiches. And she made me eat it! Because she didn’t know this meal was the terror of my soul. Her kids liked it, and most kids do, I suppose. I think I did gag some of it down at her severe chastisement, but I will never forget the disgusting resentment I felt in that moment, interrupting my childhood bliss. Damn tuna fish!

I can’t stand canned tuna fish, nor canned tomato soup! But I was a weird kid when it came to food. I couldn’t stand anything consisting of tomato, including ketch-up or spaghetti, I hated baked beans, but loved broccoli, as well as dark bread. My mom learned to swap out tuna for canned chicken in everything that called for tuna, as just the overpowering smell of it would make me gag. Still does. I eat fresh tomatoes now, grown from our garden, and I eat our own tomato sauce, but I still cannot force down baked beans or tuna fish. Canned tuna is supposedly cheap and easy and universally loved. Why?

My mom even tried to trick me one time as a teenager. I don’t know why. She had made a pasta salad for my younger brothers and I to eat after school. It sat, freshly made and looking glorious, on the counter. Then she pulled the plastic wrap off the top and the smell hit me like a ton of bricks. I looked at her with wide, unbelieving eyes before storming from the room. She will forever pay for that betrayal. That’s how deeply I despise canned tuna.

People enjoy tuna casserole frequently. It’s a dish often served at family gatherings, or eaten as a comfort food. I can’t understand that one. It would just make me puke, and if you offered it to me, I would know you as my enemy.

The only use I might contemplate for a can of tuna is it’s possibility as a weapon. I can take an unopened can and whip it at an intruder’s head. Although, I would never have one in my house to reach for if needed. The incident would have to take place in a grocery store, and for some crazy reason, I would have to be perusing the canned tuna section. The entire scenario seems unfeasible.

I am now in my fifth decade of life. My bitterness toward prepared tuna has only grown. Never once have I opened a can for my daughter or my husband or for anyone. Cat food smells better.

Of course, I would probably eat canned tuna over Mariann’s Balut, but if those were my choices, I just might die.

This is my contribution to the Yucky Food Challenge organized by Donna Renee and Paul Stewart. There is no prize awarded, it just offers the author a chance to relate the disgust of certain foods commonly (or uncommonly) consumed. Feel free to add your own disturbing food encounters in the comments!

satireproduct reviewcuisine
9

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh God, that smell! I can totally imagine it 🤢🤢🤢 I'm with you on this one!

  • Isn't canned tuna just cat food that someone mislabeled?

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Sometimes the smell of it can turn you off. The last part was funny, lol . 😂Let’s hope you won’t need to have that choice. Enjoyed the story, The day you have to stay over relatives, they were serving tuna, that’s awful 😞

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    I love any kind of tinned fish. 😅 I have even been an advocate for it on my insta account. 🙈 I do get it though... not everything is for everyone.

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    I'm so sorry you don't eat this. I'll never serve it to you, I promise. I won't eat it when you visit. But secretly, when you aren't around, I'll mix it with mayo and chopped cucumber and tomato. Then I'll add it to pasta and devour it by the plateful. My apologies. (😁) 👍💙😊

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Hahaha! Totally agree! My mom made tuna noodle casserole a lot and every time it just made me horribly ill to even smell it 🤢🤢. Adding this to the pillar post 😁

  • Margaret Brennan10 months ago

    you have my sympathy, here. I too, hate canned tuna, canned sardines, canned - anything!! Loved your story and it reminded me ot when my mom used to make her canned salmon salad. gross beyond gross.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Lol. I used to like tuna, but haven't had it in years. Your piece may have convinced me to never try it again.

  • ugh...AGREED! I gagged just looking at the picture, it was enough to bring the smell alive Bleh

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    😅 after all theses years this helped me to realize that most kids are telling the truth about not liking certain stuff instead of just being too stubborn to eat. I used to like tuna fish sandwiches but It’s kind of gross unless I make it the way I want it. Good to see you join in.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.