Feast logo

An American Sandwich

A short personal experience on ordering my first sandwich in America

By Raghavendra S RaoPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 12 min read
2
Sandwiches

A Quick Lunch

Year 1993. As a newly enrolled graduate student at a university in Philadelphia, I had the task of selecting an advisor for my Ph.D. thesis. During the interview process, I was thrilled to secure an appointment with the head of the department at a major hospital in Philadelphia, scheduled for around 11:00 AM.

Eager to make a good impression, I arrived early. After waiting for over an hour, the doctor rushed out of his chamber, shook my hand, and apologized for keeping me waiting. He then suggested, ‘Let’s go down and grab a quick lunch. ‘Quick lunch!’, I repeated that phrase to myself in my mind.

As a student new to the United States, I had never heard of the phrase, ‘quick lunch’ before. In my culture, having a meal is a ritual. Whether it’s lunch or dinner, we take our time and savor our food. I was eager to know what this quick lunch is all about.

This is a copyrighted material by the author. Do not re-publish, copy, and sell this material without exclusive permission from the author of this article. The images used in this article are sourced from the free domain. The links are provided at the end of this article.

My First Visit to a Restaurant

Since I had been waiting for few hours, I was really hungry. The idea of having quick lunch did not sound good. However, I followed him as we made our way through the elevators and descended to the restaurant inside the hospital.

I was already filled with excitement at the opportunity to meet and work with a doctor at this major hospital in downtown Philadelphia. This was my first month in the United States, and I hadn’t visited any restaurants before. I was trying to save money with my limited resources. Everything was new to me.

Restaurant

Experiencing Restaurant

Once the doctor entered the restaurant, I blindly followed him, watching as he picked up a plate and approached the salad bar. I had never seen a salad bar before, so I was unfamiliar with some of the array of greens and vegetables on display. He grabbed some spinach and other raw vegetables.

After stuffing his plate, he poured a syrupy liquid over them. Now I know it is called a “salad dressing”, but back then, I had never heard of such a term. To me, the English word ‘dressing’ meant, to attire oneself appropriately.

Salad bar

I didn’t want to eat raw vegetables. I needed some real food. I joined him at the table without any food, sitting across from him. He noticed my lack of salad or soup and curiously asked me, ‘Why didn’t you get something?’ I quietly expressed my preference for something else. He pointed me to the menu in front of us and asked me to order something.

Ordering Food, A Challenge

I picked up the menu and opened it. What do I see? All foreign words. BLT Bologna, Cheese steak, Artichoke Spinach Dip, Meatloaf, “Combo”, and then, again that ubiquitous salad. I gave a scan across the menu, but one word caught my attention. Sandwich.

I was familiar with "sandwich". Although the menu had chicken sandwich and other varieties, my mind was thinking of a vegetarian sandwich, a double-decker sandwich to be precise, as pictured below.

A double-decker Indian sandwich

Double-decker Sandwich

A little history of my version of sandwich. From where I come from, when you order a sandwich, you get “a sandwich”. Period. Back in those days, there were no other varieties of sandwiches. A sandwich always meant a vegetarian sandwich. It usually includes:

  • First, a slice of bread with some butter
  • Spread of chutney on top of buttered bread. A chutney is a condiment or a mixture of chopped coriander or a mint paste, with coconuts, ginger, green or red chillies, tamarind, and other exciting spices.
  • Add few slices of cooked potatoes
  • Add few slices of onions and tomatoes
  • Add few slices of cooked beets
  • Another slice of Bread with butter and chutney
  • Add few pieces of bell peppers
  • Add few slices of cucumbers
  • Finally, top it off with another slice of bread with butter and chutney.
  • Add a dash of some spices
  • Optionally, add few dollops of tomato ketchup, or provide ketchup in a small cup on the side.
  • No cheese

It is a big stack, and it is called double-decker vegetable sandwich. It is cut diagonally into two triangular pieces. It is very delicious and yummy!

Placing An Order

With that vision of double-decker sandwich in mind, I was all excited to order “a” sandwich, and get down to my business of interviewing with my prospective adviser.

The server came and after exchanging pleasantries asked me politely, “What would you like to have sir?” I closed the menu, and said confidently, “A vegetarian sandwich please.” I kept the menu in its holder on the table.

Quickly she asked me, "What kind of sandwich?" I gave her a quizzical look, and then repeated, "Vegetarian". Since vegetarian sandwich was not listed as a separate item on the menu, she offered me few options. The only vegetarian style sandwich I could order was a "Cheese Sandwich".

I settled for a cheese sandwich.

Question

I thought I was done ordering and ready to get down to business. But the server had her next question ready. ‘What kind of bread would you like?’ Where I come from, when you ordered a bread, you simply receive one type, made from bleached flour, water, salt, and yeast. There were no varieties of bread.

Seeing my puzzled face, she listed options like ‘White, Wheat, Rye, Whole grains, etc.’ I closed my eyes and said, ‘White’, and turned my attention towards my host.

I thought I was done ordering. But … no. The server was standing there, ready to shoot another set of questions.

Next Question

Her next question puzzled me. “What would you like to have in your sandwich?” I was about to ask her nicely, “Do I have to provide you with a list of ingredients in order to make a sandwich? But you work here.”

I was honestly confused, and asked her for clarifications. Once again she started rattling of the list of items they put in a sandwich, “Lettuce, Tomato, Peppers, Olives, etc.” I promptly agreed with the list, and turned around eager to start having the conversation with my adviser, who was already busy chomping on his salad.

More Questions ...

I thought the questions from my server were over. But to my dismay, she had more questions. The server then asked, ‘Would you like to have mayonnaise?’ I honestly had never heard of that ingredient before. She explained what it was, and I quickly agreed to have that item.

Picture this scenario. I was here to discuss about my thesis topics with a would-be adviser, and build my career. So I had a bunch of questions prepared for my adviser. Instead, I was spending time with a server inside a restaurant, answering questions on how to make a sandwich.

Rolling on ... More Questions

Was she now finally done with her questions? Nope. She kept rolling. She had one more question up her sleeve. Can you guess what that question would be? She asked me one of the most widely asked question in the restaurant. That question is: “What kind of cheese would you like to have?”

Back where I come from, we only had one variety of cheese, and that was a cottage cheese. I honestly did not know there were other varieties of cheese. We had never used cheese in any of our meals or sandwiches prior to coming to the Unites States.

Once again, my server graciously listed the available types of cheese. Although I didn’t know the difference, I was impressed by the variety. I selected “American”.

Finally.... One More Question

We were not done yet. My server asked one additional question, ‘Would you like to have it toasted?’ With a silly grin on my face, I agreed. Then, with a sweet smile on her face, she confirmed the order and finally left us alone.

Whew! I finally placed an order for a sandwich

At last, I felt a great sense of relief once she left. No more questions. I turned to my host again, smiling and feeling a sense of accomplishment. I believe my host also sensed my relief.

I always remembered this interaction. It was my first time ordering anything during my first visit to a restaurant in the United States.

After placing my order, I realized that I was also sweating inside the jacket. It was winter time, and I was wearing a jacket that I had forgotten to remove. Mentally exhausted from the barrage of questions from the restaurant server, I felt like I had been interviewed by the server more than I had interviewed the prospective doctor adviser.

When I looked at the doctor, he was calmly busy chomping on his salad away to glory. As I waited for my order, I finally began discussing about the project.

Sandwich Arrived

After a brief moment, when my sandwich arrived, the doctor was almost done with his “quick lunch”. The sandwich was neatly placed on a plate. They were stacked high and neatly cut into two triangles. They were held in place by a long toothpick with some red decoration thing at the end. I assumed the red decoration was meant to alert you to avoid biting into a sharp object.

Honestly, at that time, I had never seen anything protruding from my food before, so I was unsure if it was meant to be part of the sandwich that can be eaten. I had never seen a toothpick in a food before. However, I hesitated to ask the doctor any questions as I was here to make a good impression.

Sandwich with a toothpick

My Big Question was ... How do I Eat this Sandwich?

Now that the sandwich had arrived, the next step was eating. While we were engaged in conversation, my eyes wandered towards the sandwich, prompting with one simple question: How am I going to put that big sandwich in my mouth and take a bite?

More precisely, how do I eat the sandwich with some red object sticking out? Back home, we would hold the sandwich with both hands, and eat leisurely. But here I am in the United States trying to impress a doctor, who is also the head of the department of the world famous hospital.

Trying to eat a sandwich

Based on my impression from watching numerous Hollywood movies, I believed people always used knife and fork to eat their food. Up until that day, I have never eaten anything with a knife and fork in my life, except for using spoons to drink soup.

Back in our college campus in Philadelphia, I had always ordered hoagies, chicken cheesesteaks, and pizza from the food trucks and ate it with my hands. Now, sitting here in a restaurant, in front of my prospective advisor, gazing at that towering sandwich, I found myself strategizing on how to approach it and take a bite, thus turning this into an unexpected challenge.

Attempt to Eat

I took the napkin and gently placed it on my lap. On the table, there was one knife and two forks. I held the knife in one hand and one of the two forks in the other, though I couldn’t recall which was in which hand.

While I returned my focus to the conversation, my thoughts centered on the challenge before me — how to cut this sandwich with a knife and fork? How should I approach it? What strategy should I employ?

I took a pause and brought both of my hands towards the sandwich. I think the doctor saw the predicament on my face, because, just as I was about to cut the sandwich with a knife and fork, he leaned over and said, ‘If I were you, I would eat the sandwich with my hands.’

Wow.

Eating Sandwich with Your Hands

I felt an immense sense of relief when he said that. He saved me from a potential moment of embarrassment. Honestly, I couldn’t have cut and eaten that sandwich with a knife and fork.

I immediately dropped the knife and the fork on the table. With enthusiasm, I picked up one half of the sandwich with my hands, tilted my head to the side, closed my eyes, and took my first bite. What a satisfaction it was. It just tasted yummy. I was hungry too. I cannot explain the power of satisfaction I felt at that time.

Doctor wanted my Sandwich

While our discussion continued briefly, the doctor had already finished his salad. As I was halfway through the sandwich, the doctor exchanged some pleasantries, and decided to leave. While leaving he said, ‘If you don’t plan on eating the rest, I’d like to take it to my nurse.’

I was still munching on my first half of the sandwich, and it was unexpected for someone to ask for the remaining half out of the blue. I was surprised and unsure of how to respond. I thought he was being polite, and I also assumed I would be paying for the sandwich.

Politely Declined to Share

After a brief pause, I gently replied, ‘No, it’s alright. I will eat the remaining half.’ Now, looking back, I realize I should have allowed him to have the remaining sandwich. He left me alone with my big sandwich, assuring me that he would get in touch with me later.

I finished the remaining sandwich, but I don’t recall whether the doctor paid, or if I ended up paying. Needless to say, I never received a call from that doctor. Was it my demeanor of ordering food? or was it my qualifications? I will never know.

Back to my Apartment

After finishing my lunch all by myself, I returned back to my apartment. I was quite content of having eaten my first meal in a restaurant, an American sandwich.

After realizing that I will not get call back from this doctor, I began my search for the next adviser. This time I made sure to meet them in their office outside of their lunch hours, obviating the need to go out for a quick bite.

I was happy to note that most people do eat their sandwiches, pizza, buffalo wings, bread, tacos, and many other stuff with their hands. As a proud American, I can proudly state that I can eat any food quite efficiently with a knife and fork. My next venture is to try eating with chopsticks.

In life, one should eat what they like, and on their own terms.

Happy eats!

Vegan toast

Thanks for reading this story.

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below.

References for pictures:

  1. Toast Fruits https://pixabay.com/photos/toast-food-flat-lay-breakfast-6011147/
  2. Restaurant table https://pixabay.com/photos/restaurant-table-setting-table-449952/
  3. Salad bar https://pixabay.com/photos/fresh-vegetables-buffet-assorted-5771424/
  4. Indian sandwich double-decker https://ministryofcurry.com/bombay-sandwich/
  5. Vegan Sandwich https://pixabay.com/photos/vegan-sandwich-food-3953438/
  6. Kid Eating Sandwich https://www.pexels.com/photo/little-girl-eating-huge-delicious-sandwich-5693056/
  7. Vegan Toast https://pixabay.com/photos/toast-vegan-sandwich-vegan-breakfast-7009956/

vegetarianveganrecipeinterviewhealthycuisine
2

About the Creator

Raghavendra S Rao

Passionate about life, people, animals, nature, and surroundings. Love flying airplanes. Educate everyone in various phases of life. Love technology. Learn new things. Help and contribute time and money to the less fortunate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this experience on Vocal! It was a wonderful read. I felt like I was there with you ordering lunch.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.