Families logo

MOTHERHOOD BIRTHS A PURPOSEFUL LIFE

HOW BEING A MOM CHANGED MY LIFE.

By Ezinne Lilian Okoro-ArikibePublished 6 months ago 3 min read
2
MOTHERHOOD BIRTHS A PURPOSEFUL LIFE
Photo by Alex Pasarelu on Unsplash

Growing up as a girl child, I never for once imagined how it would be to be a Mother I watched how my parents tried to give us the best they could and how they were willing to sacrifice their comfort for our sake. I saw my mom struggle to take of us even when she was sick and could barely do much and I still couldn't understand anything all I knew was that they were responsible for us and doing what they could to live up to their responsibilities but then again I asked my If She is really happy playing that role.

Over a year ago I welcomed my first child, while I was pregnant I saw myself thinking only about my child, and I made sure that I took every instruction given by the doctor seriously, It was not easy trying to make some of those adjustments but I was everly ready to do whatever I needed to do. I saw myself placing my child's needs far above mine. The third trimester was the most difficult for me as I could barely sleep each night and struggled with back pain, but my husband would always help in any way he could

By freestocks on Unsplash

Fast forward to when I had my child, and on seeing him, I understood why his Life is worth more than Mine, At that moment I knew anything I would be doing from then onwards would no longer be more for me and so I was ready to take on the task. It was the most challenging experience for me because I was far from my family, It was Just me and my husband, who was very busy at the time, I did know how things would play out, I had no one visiting while at the hospital, I would just be alone with my baby until my husband comes, and I would occasionally talk to my mom and sibling who would always encourage me to do my best.

By 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

I am a stay-at-home mom, 3 months postpartum, I would look at my child and have this motivation to do something that will allow me to stay with him more knowing that I would not always be staying at home all the time so I thought of building Online Businesses that can help me make money while and I stay with my child and also be able to provide for him.

So, I started researching on Google and YouTube for possible ways to make money online, I created a YouTube channel, taught myself how to edit videos and create thumbnails, wrote an Ebook, created an online Print on Demand store on Redbubble and always looking for other ways to make money. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to get monetized yet and have barely made money on these platforms, but I am grateful for the things I have learned so far, and for pushing myself to explore, and still exploring new things. I understand that making money online takes some time for one to start seeing the results and I have every motivation I need to stay consistent and hopefully, someday I will see the returns of my investments.

I am a dental technologist, but doing these things I do online while staying at home with my child and taking care of the house, and everyone has given my life more purpose than I have ever had before having my child. I wake up every morning knowing exactly what to do and how to do it, I limit my associations and activities, I try to lead the type of life that I would be proud to see my child follow and I need not be reminded of what to do.

Watching him grow up month by month has so far been the most amazing thing I have had to experience and seeing myself making some bold decisions has so far been a life-changing thing for me I cant imagine myself having any better motivation and I am deeply grateful for that and now I know my mom was happy making those sacrifices for us.

siblingspregnancyparentsmarriedimmediate familyhumanitygrandparentsextended familychildrenadoption
2

About the Creator

Ezinne Lilian Okoro-Arikibe

Writing is therapeutic for me as I get relieved by letting my thoughts out through writing and I will be sharing my life experiences and my thoughts on some threading issues. Stick with me and let get to enjoy our experiences together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    A beautifully written and relatable. I can feel the love and dedication you have for your child, and it's inspiring.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.