Critique logo

I Need to Confess...

And something of a Challenge too!

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
I Need to Confess...
Photo by Bundo Kim on Unsplash

It's confession time, folks. I do realise I am posting this into the Critique community, and there is a reason for that. More on that soon.

Anyway, where was I?

Oh yes.

I want to be honest.

So, my confession is this:

I love praise.

I love positive feedback.

I love knowing that I've been a success at something. Especially something that means a lot to me, like writing.

I love that people enjoy reading my poetry, stories and mumbles.

I love that people enjoy what I have to say about their writing.

I love and appreciate the support I have recieved on this platform.

I know I would never have pushed onwards with writing for me, if it wasn't for all of the above.

So, thank you. Thank you everyone who has given me support during my time publishing on Vocal. It is very much appreciated!

In my head, I feel I can be a great writer. I am not there yet. That's fine.

I am enjoying the journey.

I am always looking for ways to improve things. Especially my fiction.

So...

Challenge Time - Sort Of!

Taking a leaf out of L.C. Schäfer's book, I want to issue a a challenge of sorts. Following on from her piece - Schäfer's Gloves-Off Iron Maiden Challenge, which you can, and should, read here:

I am going to list fiction pieces I feel extremely proud of and I want to ask for some constructive feedback.

Don't come at me with your samurai unsheathed and rip my work and me to shreds. In fact, don't rip me to shreds at all, haha!

Offer ways you feel I could improve things. Tell me what you liked. All that funky stuff.

Everyone on this platform is really great at giving positive feedback and that's what helps us all have the guts to keep publishing, but I am going to put on my big man, fireproof pants and suit and be brave and ask for critique.

Feel free to pick just one of them. I am not expecting anyone who takes me up on the challenge to go through all of them and then offer detailed critique. I know we are all busy, so any constructive feedback would be helpful and appreciated.

Obviously, these is no obligation attached and I will not be offended if you don't feel comfortable doing it. If you do, try and use the #ironmaidenchallenge somewhere so people know it relates to LC's thang!

*

Thank you for reading!

FictionFeedback Requested

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Sir Paul, I'm so sorry because I suck at giving constructive criticism. Like there wasn't any of your pieces that I've read and thought that you should have done anything differently. They're all perfect for me! 🍩🥐

  • I've made it through the list. Thanks for inviting us to participate in this, Paul. I'd say that it takes a lot of courage, but it might not take quite so much given the wonderful quality of your writing in each one of them.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I will get right on this very soon!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    I do have one creator that gives me honest feed back. They are in Australia. We all live to receive comments. Usually, I DM a creator who has a typo, missing words, etc.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Paul, I am always humbled by your humility. Bravo for this! I'm getting together a list of my own, actually. It's exciting seeing the constructive side of Vocal finding its footing. I've always been a fan of workshopping. It's nerve-wracking, though, isn't it? Takes guts, and I applaud you. I hope I can offer helpful feedback on one of these. Do you have one that you'd like more input on than the others, or are they all equal in your mind? I noticed that LC had a list of questions for people to answer, which was helpful to me.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    I think a lot of us are just uncomfortable critiquing because we know we are the best either. Plus, we never know how someone will take a critique, and we don't want to hurt anyone's feelings.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I think you are already a great writer. We can be our own worst critic.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.