Criminal logo

My Traumatizing Experience on Eid in Karachi

A Story of Vulnerability, Fear, and the Struggle for Safety in a Dangerous Society

By Faisal KarimPublished about a year ago 3 min read
5
My Traumatizing Experience on Eid in Karachi
Photo by M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

It was the second day of Eid, a time of joy and celebration for many in Karachi. I had spent the morning with my family, feasting on delicious food and exchanging gifts. As the day wore on, I decided to run some errands and headed out to the nearby Total Parco Pump on Super Highway. It was a warm evening, and the sun was just beginning to set as I made my way to the petrol station. I was walking along the sidewalk, lost in thought, when suddenly I felt a sharp tug on my shoulder. Before I could react, a man had stepped in front of me, pointing a gun at my face.

"Give me your phone," he said, his voice cold and menacing.

I was frozen with fear. I could see that the man was high on drugs, his eyes bloodshot and his hands shaking. I knew that if I resisted, he would shoot me without a second thought. Without a word, I handed over my phone, tears streaming down my face. I felt violated, helpless, and disheartened. It was not just the monetary loss of the phone, but the violation of my personal space that left me shattered. As the man and his accomplice ran away, I was left standing there, alone and vulnerable. I felt like a part of my identity had been stolen along with my phone. It was a feeling of utter helplessness, and it left me feeling exposed and unsafe in my own city.

From that day on, I have been filled with a sense of fear and anxiety whenever I walk outside. Every time I see a stranger walking towards me, I feel a knot form in my stomach, wondering if they too have a gun hidden somewhere. Living in Karachi has never been easy, but this incident made me realize just how dangerous and unpredictable the city can be. As a student, it is hard to afford a new phone, especially when the cost of living is already so high. I had lost not just a device, but a valuable tool for communication and connection. What made the experience even more traumatizing was the fact that the thieves were high on weed. It made me wonder about the larger issue of drug addiction and how it contributes to violent crimes. The thought of such individuals roaming free on the streets is a scary one, and it made me question the safety of our society as a whole. As I sat at home, trying to come to terms with what had happened, I realized that I needed to take action. I started researching ways to stay safe in Karachi and began carrying a small can of pepper spray with me whenever I left the house. I also made sure to stay aware of my surroundings and avoid walking alone at night.

But the sense of vulnerability still lingers, and it has made me question the safety of our society as a whole. It is a tragedy that so many individuals feel the need to resort to violence and theft to survive, and it makes me wonder what we as a society can do to address these underlying issues. In the end, the incident taught me a valuable lesson about the fragility of life and the importance of staying vigilant. While I may never be able to completely rid myself of the fear and anxiety that comes with living in Karachi, I have learned to be more cautious and aware of my surroundings. It is a small step, but one that I hope will help keep me and others safe in the future.

travelmafiajuryinvestigationinnocencehow tofact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Faisal Karim

THOUGHTS OF LOVE THAT WILL NOURISH THE SOUl THROUGH WISDOM AND OPEN HEART WITH INTELLECT

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • faisal najeeb3 months ago

    Very sad 😢

  • jaan aliabout a year ago

    MAY GOD HELP YOU

  • Education Of Mindsabout a year ago

    be safe and healty

  • faisal karimabout a year ago

    may god protect you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.