Confessions logo

Worlds Worst Parent

Am I a good parent? Am I a horrible parent? Am I normal? I do love my children, but they drive me nuts.

By Kylie TaylorPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like
Worlds Worst Parent
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

I am a Parent

God yes, I am a parent. I have two amazing and beautiful children they are exactly 13 months and 11 days apart. While I had ups and downs becoming a parent, I do have two beautiful miracle babies. They are my whole world and in many ways ,they saved my life as much as they changed my life.

BUT! Yes, there is a but to the fact that I love my children more than anything in the world. They drive me effin nuts. They bicker, they fight and god bless America they can be the pettiest of people in the world. I just want to pull my hair out. I want to scream and many days, I go to the bathroom and just cry all alone.

My Oldest

My oldest child is my boy, he is probably the easiest of my two children. He is super smart, sometimes too smart for his own good. He has a heart of gold and would give the shirt off his back to you if you needed it in a snowstorm. He is friendly and loving and simply would do about anything for someone.

As good as he is though, he does have his challenges. He has a very light-hearted personality and loves to joke. That in itself, can get him in trouble and drives me nuts. He can be so disrespectful without even meaning to, just because he is joking or goofing off. Somedays, I just want to choke the life out of him, when he gets all wound up and behaves like a heathen. He is also a very emotional and sensitive child. Things make him cry at the drop of a dime.

My Youngest

OH BOY! My youngest is my girl. As much as I love her, most days I cannot stand her and just want to choke the sass out of her. She's a loving child but, she is a jerk. She is full of sass, mouth, and attitude. She thinks nothing of talking back or dropping the f-bomb just because.

She gets mad, and the world better watch out. She will spout off some of the most hurtful things and not even care. You can whoop her behind and she doesn't care. Nothing punishes her. The best part is she isn't even a teenager yet, and I swear to God that I am not going to make it through her teenage years.

Together

By Ben White on Unsplash

Together my two children could make a priest swear. They love each other, they won't allow anyone to mess with the other. BUT, they hate each other at the same time. They can be flat awful to each other just for the sake pissing the other one off.

You ask them to help each other, and either they flat refuse or they purposely piss each other and start a fight. Then it becomes constant tattling, yelling, and screaming at each other, and if you don't intervene with them, they eventually start beating on each other.

The Horrible Parent I am

So, yes most days I feel like a horrible parent because I want to drop them off at the pound or take them to the orphanage. I simply cannot take their crap, they make my head spin 15 different directions all at once. If I am not feeling like a horrible parent because I can't stand them, they are telling me I am a horrible parent because I send them to their rooms.

Would I ever hurt my children? God no I wouldn't, I would actually kill for them, but damn it why can't they just get along. Why can't there just be peace in my house one day where those little grotch goblins get along? Why on earth do they have to be so damn petty and fight and bicker so damn much?

I AM A GOOD PARENT

By Mike Scheid on Unsplash

I am good parent because I love my children, and they know it. I tell them every morning, every night and at least a dozen times in between. I provide for them, in ways that I do not have to. I make sure that they never "want" for anything. I always try to find a way to make sure they have everything even if they don't need it.

I am a good parent because they have moments where they hate me. I do correct them, I do punish them, all because I want them to grow up to be respectable and productive human beings. I want them to know the difference between right and wrong.

So, to all the mommas out there that feel like horrible parents, because in the back of their minds they can't stand their children either know that you aren't alone. Just know that any parent that ever says they are not annoyed, or irritated by their child they are lying. No child is perfect and no parent is perfect. Not standing your own child doesn't make you a horrible person or a bad parent. You are just one person in large group of millions that is driven insane by your little spawn.

EmbarrassmentHumanityFamilyCONTENT WARNINGChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Kylie Taylor

I am freelance creative. I don't want to be just a writer, just a photographer, or just a designer. I want to educate and entertain people on a wide variety thing I have knowledge on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.