Confessions logo

There's Always Another Way

A Seven Days In Excavation On Anger

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 26 days ago 3 min read
7
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is a Seven Days In post from 2015, nine years back, about what I thought were anger issues. While many things annoy me I still don't get angry. In my workplaces the most anger I have seen has always been from men and was usually excused by "You know what they're like" or "But they're good at their job", for me neither is an excuse when the anger happens on a regular basis.

And you know very well that some things do annoy me, but I always find a way to work my way round the particular situation.

Whatever, here are my nine year old observations on these situations.

There's Always Another Way

I thought I was having anger problems, it's happened a few times recently and with just a bit of thought it's dissipated. I thought maybe it is old age or diabetes, and maybe it is, but, as I've said before, anger is such a negative destructive emotion I always try to deal with it. I was even thinking of starting a Mr Angry blog to vent my spleen, and let's face it it's always the complaints and negative stuff that people seem to go for, how else can you explain X-Factor and Britain's Got Talent?

Anyway the two incidents today were waiting behind someone taking an age at a cash machine, and then a huge queue in Boots where they had one girl serving. It is the management that exasperates me, absolutely not bothered about the customer experience.

To quote John Lydon "Anger Is An Energy" but it does have to be properly directed, and I have always managed to do that and never let it control me, though I never ever queue unless I have absolutely no choice. So the obvious song to choose is Public Image's Rise from which that line is taken, and John Lydon also used it to title his latest book.

Anyway, It's the beginning of March and I have a most interesting week coming up , and really need to get to bed due to an early morning physiotherapy session tomorrow. So have a good week and always look for a way to positively channel and anger you have.

Oh by the way I took thirty seconds to walk to another cash machine across the road and walked out of Boots because I can always call in another time and these actions left me totally stress and anger free.

Conclusion

Sometimes we do things and they don't work as we want them to, that is not a reason to get angry. we should never be angry with ourselves. If something doesn't work out and we are not able to deal with it on our own, we should reach out for help.

Sometimes just talking with a friend or an expert can help us deal with whatever is troubling us. I always try and deal with things myself, but if I can't then I will ask.

The thing that gets me closest to anger is bullying, and attempts to hurt others just because the protagonist can. I have been bullied at school and work. Often school was dealt with with fists and threats, the odd time going to a teacher, but I can't think of a time when I was worse off than the bully.

In work similar, although the solution was often me leaving the job for something better and leaving others to deal with the bullies. I must say I have ended up in an amazing workplace, where the most annoying thing is systems not working, but where I can talk to anyone from peers to top management.

So my life is anger free and, I believe, it always will be.

WorkplaceTeenage yearsSecretsSchoolHumanityFriendshipEmbarrassmentCONTENT WARNINGChildhoodBad habits
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran25 days ago

    Well, try telling that to me. Me is always angry 😅😅😅

  • Cathy holmes26 days ago

    Well said. Also, what is Boots?

  • Andy Potts26 days ago

    Do you feel that a lot of anger fades away when you stop worrying about what other people think? When I'm less comfortable with myself my temper flares more quickly.

  • Anna 26 days ago

    Wish I could handle things as calm as you do...

  • ROCK 26 days ago

    I like your 'tude on anger; mine generally rises the day before I am getting sick with a cold. Earlier in life it was a fury thrown at Republicans. I had zero tolerance for idiots. It's nice to hear you are more on top of it 😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.