Confessions logo

The Voice in My Head When I Write

It's Always a Little Different

By Everyday JunglistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Cute little red panda. Not sure what this has to do with the topic at hand but definitely cute. Courtesy of Pixabay.

Recently I have started paying much closer attention to the voice in my head when I write. If you are a writer you probably know what I am talking about, or maybe it’s different for you. For me, the voice is the one that reads the words (‘out loud’) in my head as they move from my fingers, through the keys, to my screen. Depending on the topic of whatever particular writing project I am tackling at the time that voice varies considerably. It moves in tone from haranguing lecturer to sarcastic asshole to gentle comforter, and everything in between. Of course finding the words to match the voice is the real trick, or is it the other way around really? The hard part is finding the voice, the right voice for the right application, and then channeling that voice to the page in a way that conveys what the spoken word can, but in (at least) one less dimension. Without the spoken voice and body language that goes with it communicating what you really want to convey, what you really think, can be what feels like an impossible task. The joy of writing for me comes on those few occasions when that task is managed effortlessly and the words on the page and the voice in my head align just so. When that happens the missing dimension(s) disappears, and it is like I am there in the screen with the words talking directly to the reader. Like I have left a part of myself on the page, an imprint of my actual presence, but without all the messiness that comes with physical interactions between strangers. I get to say my peace, the stranger (reader) can take it or leave it, love it or hate it. In either case I did what I set out to do, and they got stuck with a little taste of my voice in their head if only for a brief moment in time. Imagine living with that voice for your entire life. That would suck now wouldn’t it? lol!

THE END.

And that little voice in my head is currently cursing up a blue streak in a very exasperated tone as it is once again confronted with the Vocal.media 600 word count minimum, forcing me to yet again waste both your time, and my time, adding filler material to what is a perfectly good, albeit short, written work. So, thank you Vocal for continuing to piss me off, almost every time I write something. Here I sit at 435 words with still many, many more to go. I could be moving on to my next writing project, or heading upstairs to spend some quality time with my wife, or going outside to play with the dogs, but instead I sit here, banging away fruitlessly at my keyboard to meet some ridiculous and absurd word count minimum rule. Currently I still have yet another one hundred words to go, and I grow more and more irate with each passing moment. Each word that I waste my time thinking about and then translating onto the page via my keyboard is yet another million neurons firing worth of waste. My brain has much better things to do than to sit here regurgitating bullshit just so I can comply with this most assinine of policies. Damn you Vocal. You fuckin suck. Complete and utter bullshit. My wife, my dogs, and my brain all join me in relaying their sincere thanks to whomever it is at Vocal that decided upon this shitbag policy. They are sick of spending quality time with me anyway. Douchebag. And please do not fucking send this story back to me for "graphic" content or some other bullshit reason. Grow the fuck up.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.