Confessions logo

Ten Strange Things About Me

Things I Vowed Never To Tell, But Have Now Told.

By Carol TownendPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Ten Strange Things About Me
Photo by Jonathan Taylor on Unsplash

We all have habits that others find weird or strange, it is a part of who we are. We are all individuals, and if we didn't have these strange habits then we would be very boring and not so different to everyone else.

Imagine a world full of millions of people who are exactly the same and behave exactly the same as each other!

I would find that a very boring world indeed!

I think we have all lived in a shell, afraid to share those parts of us that we find embarrassing.

You know, the parts of you that you only show to one person;

You!

So today I'm sharing ten strange things about me.

Here we go

1) I like wearing odd socks, usually coloured or patterned: You will often find a plain red sock on one and a rainbow sock on the other.

2) I eat a whole can of tuna in a bowl: I love the stuff, and I don't always follow the role of a sandwich!

3) I put hot chocolate in tea: I love Mocha, but I like chocolate in a good old cup of Tetley's tea.

4) Black nail polish and lipstick dated? No, I still wear it!

5) I'm in my 40's and I still sport the teen's aisle: Well, they don't make adult trousers short enough for my size, and a t-shirt with a band I love on or a Buffy The Vampire Slayer character is still in date, even at my age!

6) I still do pigtails: Yes, I still wear them even at 46!

7) Fruit goes in pasta bake: Honest! I like to put a can of fruit cocktail in mine, then I lavish it with cheese before I bake it!

8) Go ahead and call me a big kid: There is space wallpaper on my bedroom wall, and yes I still put up posters and pictures of my favourite singers and characters. Life isn't made for growing up!

9) I still love children's shows: Well! it's good for my mental health.

10) I still have a giant collection of teddy bears: Don't tell me that you still don't love getting them for Birthdays and Valentine's Day!

11) I still sing and dance as I did in my teens: It keeps me fit and well!

Whoever said we grow up permanently was lying!

We grow physically and mentally, and we do mature into adults. However, in a world where there are many difficulties and problems, sometimes it can be good to be different and be a child again.

These were things I vowed never to tell, but I am done hiding!

We live in a traditional world where adults are expected to be mature all the time. Being serious is becoming far too normal, and it isn't good for our mental health.

Our strange, weird and wonderful side doesn't leave us just because we have grown up.

Many of us have simply learned to hide it because the tradition in our world is to believe that once we are grown up, we always have to behave like one.

The grown-ups in my life often think that there is something wrong with me because I have a weird side that doesn't always match our version of 'mature.'

In my opinion, too much maturity causes more stress, illnesses, mental health problems and a range of other problems as we constantly battle daily life while forgetting how to have fun or be fun-loving people at the same time.

I dare you to be open.

Write an article and tell me about your 'weird' side!

Did you enjoy reading this article? Please leave a heart and let me know. Tips are welcome but are optional.

You might also enjoy my ongoing children's fiction below:

Or maybe you might like my adult horror series:

Or you could get lost in my daydream:

Above all else, thank you for reading!

HumanitySecretsBad habits

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Gal Mux2 years ago

    The socks one was hilarious. Yes children's shoes are very refreshing...

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.