Confessions logo

Sometimes

It's Good To Talk

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
5
A Disney Pic Borrowed From My Friend Krista

Introduction

I was just thinking about the benefits of actually talking to people about nothing in particular and how it can make you feel so much better. This may be just me, because, as you know on Vocal, I do love attention, and in a one-to-one conversation I have your complete attention. These are just some of the ways it benefits me, and maybe you too.

Sometimes It's Always Good To Talk

I love the chance to meet friends for a coffee or a drink and I will be attending my great friend Krista's Alice in Wonderland themed birthday party at the Prohibition Bar on Saturday (16th March) which you can see on Facebook here.

This means that I can spend time catching up with Krista and many friends and I may even use it for a Vocal story, costumes are optional though I could go as the Mad Hatter.

Usually, when I catch up with friends I have nothing planned to say, yet I can talk non-stop for a very long time, and sometimes I feel I don't give my friends enough time to tell me things, which I do really want to hear.

One of the things is that talking either via text, phone call or video call often gives me ideas to write, and you know that this piece is inspired by the conversations I have with friends.

Some I converse with on an almost daily basis others can be six months apart or even longer, but always welcome. True friends are always there for each other, to talk, care, and show love for each other.

I am not sure whether this is a confessional (it sort of is) or about how I get inspired to write or something else. I love sing people so when I see them smile I know that things are good for them, and that makes me happy.

We swap stories about what we have been doing, music we listen to, TV and films we have been watching (I have just finished "Bad Education" on the BBC which I really enjoyed, and I am currently rewatching "Elementary" on Amazon Prime and "Sex Education" on Netflix)

I have just noticed that excellent tagline "New Holmes, New Watson, New York"

While I love these series to bits I know from my own experience that we don't have time to watch everything, I have never seen "Dexter" or "24" but I still might get around to them at some point.

I know talking with friends benefits me enormously because we can bounce ideas off each other, talk through issues, and make each other laugh, and in the end, both feel much better about ourselves.

If I am alone on a train or bus I do like to strike up a conversation, although some people want to keep to themselves and that is understandable, but if you do get a conversation going, the journey becomes far shorter, or it seems that way.

Concluding Thoughts

Talking with friends is always good. If you are ever alone, especially if you are not in a good place, pick up your phone and call a friend, or send them a text or email. Remember YOU are the most important person in your life and you need to take care of yourself, and friendly conversation is a wonderful way to make that happen.

When I am working I always take the opportunity to call people, and I do regard my work colleagues as my friends, and though I work from home, a Teams video call makes me feel a little more connected, and that is very good for me.

Thank you so much for reading this.

WorkplaceSecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I can tell you that both of us loved "Dexter" & I was a fan of "24" for a long time, although after a while it began to feel like an apologist's approach to "enhanced interrogation techniques" & "extreme renditions". And yes, spending time with friends is good.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Well said. Sometimes, u can go a long while not speaking with some friends, but we always seem to pick up where we left off. Well done.

  • Conversations be it face to face, on the phone, video call, or even text, mentally exhausts me so much 😅 But it's good that you benefit so much from it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.