Confessions logo

Beach Canaries

Another Seven Days In Excavation

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
6
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

This is another story on Seven Days In that is getting a lot of attention, and I noticed most of my recent fiction has been quite dark, and I wanted something that wasn't dark so this is a placeholder that will not disturb anyone.

It is a diary piece but but with some observation about how much time we lose travelling to work.

Beach Canaries

This was originally going to be called "Time" but after about half an hour the phrase "Beach Canaries" came into my head, it's probably the name of a band and if it isn't it should be.

Anyway, what this was basically about was that recently I seem to keep not having enough time to do the things I want to do. I do get them done but often time seems to run away. Maybe it's a sign of getting older. When you are six and you get six weeks of summer holiday that's a week for every year of your life, it's like nearly forever, now six weeks come and go just like that. Actual time still lasts the same length ... I think.

A Long, Long Time

There's a science fiction story called "The Eighty Minute Hour" by Brian Aldiss in which the concept is that the controllers slow down the clocks when you are at work and speed them up when you are not. Would you know? And how often have you looked at the clock at work and almost believed that it's stopped or going backwards?

Some mornings when I go to work I am sure I leave at 7:30 but still get through the door at 8:00 for what should be a fifteen-minute door-to-door excursion. Late buses, traffic jams, and forgetfulness also contribute.

The biggest benefit from leaving my previous job was the 60 hours a month traveling time I got back, and because of that I now commit myself to do a lot more, seeing people, watching films, and going to gigs, I've actually joined a band (that didn't work out, so still solo). So really I am filling up my time. I never sit and think, where is the time going and don't have an answer. I know where it's going, and I am enjoying it.

I love any excuse to talk and meet friends, and share fun time, and that makes life very enjoyable.

I will get a handle on this, and was going to write this this morning but ......

Last week my alarm clock woke me with piercing electronic screeching. I shut the thing down and it had reset itself to factory settings. I reset it all and the following day it did the same so, it was binned. I've spent a week with no alarm, until this morning. I got a new alarm, set and it went off at quarter to six this morning. I showered and went to get dressed and noticed the clocks and watches were reading 7:15 . Had I really spent 90 minutes getting washed and showered? NO, I had set the clock an hour slow, so getting out to work was a bit of a rush.

Anyway, that;'s just some thoughts about time and maybe a good song to have would be Buena Vista Social Club and Coldplay's Clocks from Rhythms Del Mundo.

Have a brilliant Tuesday, my friends.

Outroduction

If the start paragraph is the story Introduction shouldn't the concluding paragraph be the Outroduction?

That was just a finishing thought.

Thank you so much for reading.

Teenage yearsWorkplaceStream of ConsciousnessSecretsHumanityBad habits
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox2 months ago

    I especially like your conversational pieces, Mike. Evidence, I think of the joy you take interacting with others. (Something that I enjoy as well).

  • If the opposite of conclusion is not introduction, what is it? Pro-clusion. (Or free-clusion if we take it as short for convict.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.