Confessions logo

Love Unravelled

For The Vocal Love Unraveled (sic) Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
15
Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay
Some words

Love is a thing of untold beauty, it has been made clear to me day after day.

It is a four-letter word which I try to apply and show to everyone and love when it is truly reciprocated. Sometimes it is difficult but even broken love can be put together and made more beautiful.

I look at the broken word and letters smashed on the floor. Over there is a shattered letter "O", then in the corner, split in half is a letter "V". At my feet, in four pieces is the letter "E" and in my hand in two pieces is the letter "L".

I do wonder if this can ever be put together again and fixed and mended, to make it as good as new, maybe even better, and I know that it can.

The one that matters is the one who shows me love, and encouragement every day of my life. Without them I would be in in a void, a vacuum, and lost.

I look at the letters and a plan comes into my mind,

Image by Mike Singleton from Pixabay

Kintsugi , or Kintsukuroi , literally golden (“kin”) and repair (“tsugi”). Kintsugi is the process of repairing ceramics traditionally with lacquer and gold, leaving a gold seam where the cracks were.

That is the way forward, with the one who loves me, that way I can repair these letters and put them together in the right order. There is only one person who shows me love and I will return that totally.

Reciprocated Love is an incredible thing because it makes you believe in yourself and the one who has shown you love and care. I can repair these four letters and then bring them together in the right order and, although this love will be different to what it once was, it will be stronger and even more beautiful, and it will last forever.

I have been hurt in the past and there are still things that hurt me every day, but I have learned many lessons and can see a beautiful path going forward.

Love is complex but it can lift your spirits, warm your heart and soothe your soul, and those are all things that I take from love on a daily basis.

I am applying the gold to those letters as we speak, and they are more beautiful than they ever were and I will share them with my lover and we we keep them and hold them as we hold each other, forever and a day.

As I write this piece the Blur song "Tender" came to mind which resonates with a lot of the things that I have said in the confessional, so I have placed it at the start of this story. Play it as you read (I know this is halfway through, but that is the great thing about writing, you can cut and paste in any way you see fit).

Though love has unravelled many times for me, it is now back and fully woven together, strong as ever. I feel good, I feel life is beautiful, I feel good things are going to happen. I know I have to work at this every day, Love is not cheap, but it is so worth it.

Love makes you miss the one you love, but you always know that you are together in each other's hearts, and this is always comforting and beautiful.

Duke Orsino in William Shakespeare's "Twelfth Night" said:

If music be the food of love, play on; Give me excess of it,

And, as you know well, I am fine with that.

DatingSecretsHumanityFriendship
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer2 months ago

    What a beautiful entry

  • May the warp & weft of your love be ever expertly woven, beautiful & warm.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    We all can embrace the feelings in your words, pain and broken lives resound everywhere you look. We have to be our own architects and mend the pieces like you mentioned, Heart warming sentiments here Mike.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is a beautiful piece Mike. Thank you so much for sharing it. I’m happy that you have found the love that renews and restores!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    👏👏👏

  • Test2 months ago

    This is very lovely Mike x Very sweet and love the allusion to Kintsugi. Feel like I've gone through life reparing my heart. Also I think a lot more people love and care about you than you realise or know 🤍

  • I'm so glad it is now fully woven together! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.