Confessions logo

Oh My Gosh! Can You Believe It?

No? Neither Can I...

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
12
Oh My Gosh! Can You Believe It?
Photo by Seth Doyle on Unsplash

You wouldn't believe this if I told you...

But I might just choose to tell you anyways. Maybe it's because we're best buddies. Maybe it's because I'm just DYING to tell someone about it. But first...

Have you gone outside and seen the sun lately? What about the changes of the leaves bursting with colours? All the reds, oranges, and yellow hues. And the sweet sacred smell of pumpkin spi- I mean fall...

Have you noticed all the prices of food that we're still waiting on to fall too?

But you didn't click on this story to come talk about weather and economy. You came here because you got caught up in all the empty excitement! Yay! Congratulations, you fell for it once again.

Don't worry though, I don't blame you. I have fallen for it to. For the gushy titles of ecstasy that promise you hope, and deliver you... well... nothing. If anything, you pay the price. You pay with your time. And you think to yourself, "well that's okay I guess, at least I'm kind of supporting another creator with my $0.01 worth of view". (But you'll only really make that if you're a paying Vocal member of course)

Aren't you kind of tired of it though? Of the false euphoria and disappointment? Of the writers who play the game, actually winning it? And maybe that's just how the world works. Maybe I should just play the game too. Aren't I playing it right now though? But gosh, playing the game is so fuckin' exhausting.

I honestly don't know how some of you do it.

I see some of y'all out there. Producing five, six, even ten pieces of writing a day. I see my notifications light up with hope of someone reading my work, to see that you have yet again published another random piece. It creates doubt. It creates shame. It creates a lack of motivation to even try sometimes. What chance do I even have?

And then the top stories. I guess if you publish that many times a day, your name will pop up more in the algorithm. So you MUST get some recognition for all your hard work and dedication, right? What does that say about AI users though? I wonder if the stories even get vetted by human eyes anymore... I miss human eyes.

Please know though, that I am happy you're getting your lil five dollar bonus and dopamine shot every few days. I know it's a great feeling. I get it too once a month (like a bloody period but shorter and less angsty). I know it feels great to be recognized, because really, that's what we're all striving for here.

We just want to feel seen.

We want to feel heard. We want to feel like our words matter. We want to build connections with other writers and readers so that we don't feel alone so much anymore. Our world has become so coded and pixelated that we just yearn for some sort of connection.

But guys, I can't keep up.

I can't play your game so fast. I can't just pull thousands of words out of my big ass daily like some of you. I work the 8-4 grind. And I love my job. I get to pull words out of my big mouth instead and share stories and knowledge with incredible kids every day. My words are spent elsewhere.

My words are spent on helping the next generation feel seen.

Now I'm not saying your words aren't important. They are. Your stories matter just as mine do. I just wish to understand more. As many of us do. Because we're all essentially trying to do well here on Vocal. We all want a few moments of glory. And hey, if you're able to legitimately write and create multiple authentic and original stories a day- then damn. Good going. Gold star.

But if you're just writing clickbait and boasting about every little accomplishment so you have something to post, or just writing for Vocal to notice you, or using AI without saying so- boo you.

And if you're copying and stealing other people's work and publishing it as yours- you suck. Or as my wife would say: you can go suck your own dick if you can even find it.

By Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Humanity
12

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Oneg, you voiced my thoughts!!! I am happy for those who can turn out multiple stories a day or week. I am as slow as molasses in January. Have been told this. I have no problems being the slow tortoise. Loved your story and enjoyed the read.💕❤️❤️

  • Kenneth Lawson7 months ago

    I write one good story a month. Sometimes it goes easy and fast, and it's done in a week or so, Sometimes it takes 3-4 tries before I have something I can actually finish and get a good story. I've written a book in six months, But that was the expectation. Usually, it takes much longer. As for Vocal, I can't and won't produce the kinds of material they have here. As a pantser, I have days when the words me easily, like breathing, and days they don't. Thats not even counting Real Life, which more often than not, gets in the way of the writing I'd like to do. There is a time/value cost for putting out massive amounts of material. Of course, definitions of "Massive" can carry widely. and subject to interpretation. But generally, it figured the faster you put it out, the lower quality it's more likely to be. (Not to say, it always is.) Some people can write quickly and generally get good-quality material. Some people take more time and do equally as well. But can the ones who are fast and good sustain it over the long haul? No. Sooner or later they burn out. It is better to be slower do better work, and not hit the wall physically or mentally as soon or at all. Take your time and write at YOUR Speed.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    Oneg, you have to let me know how many reads vs likes have you received from this article I loved it this is my second read Be nice to know if some people saw themselves in it and didn’t hit the like 😍

  • But — but, you can pull an Oneg! That's a hugeeeee thing! Writing under pressure ain't easy! So please, don't be too hard on yourself. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    yes, yes, YES Oneg! I cannot keep up with my own subscription feed anymore! There is so much happening here on Vocal! It makes me dizzy! I love this! Best thing I have read all day - I feel so seen!

  • It does get frustrating. Not just sometimes -- often! But I still enjoy getting to read about the things going on in the lives of my friends -- almost as much as I appreciate the wonderful work you do which rarely gets much public recognition & where the greatest reward you receive is in the faces, hearts & lives of your students. Thank you, Oneg, for all that you do. Blessings from the very bottom of my heart.

  • Test7 months ago

    Yes, so much truth in this. You captured our frustration and the trap we fall in. We just want to be writers and expand our readership to a point where maybe we can make something of this writing that drives us. Yet, so far, this is not the place that really grows writers. Nicely done. 💙Anneliese

  • JBaz7 months ago

    You have no idea how happy you lured me in to this (although I would have read your work regardless of the title) I actually unsubscribed to someone because the 6 plus a day submissions. There is no way could have read them all. Like you, I write when I can and am Not a speed writer. Love this piece

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    I get this. I just can’t produce that quickly. I put so much into a poem, story, or the odd article that I can’t replicate it like chocolate dick shapes on a conveyor belt 🤷‍♀️

  • I know exactly how you feel, notifications are rubbish because they flood with publications that are in your subscription feed anyway and the only way to stop them is to unsubscribe to everyone, so much for supporting each other. They have ignored my comments on this and there are creators who seem to think it is a good thing. There are times when I see hearts and comments but that is what I want to see all the time. Big hugs with some excellent observations

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    I admit the title hook me in as you are good at that. It's hard to make stories like some do, I just don't compare my stories' quantity with others because everyone has a different life and lifestyle. I hear you about getting noticed.I sure can relate to your story message. Its very rewarding being a teacher. You might be teaching a future leader.

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Love this honest and compelling narrative, as is your norm. 🥰

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    I don’t know what I thought this was gonna be but I loved it by the end. I know I am somehow in the Top Story frequent flier group (lol at the like a period part haha) and can’t complain there but I definitely relate to much of this! I also just can’t keep up with the social media side of this game, if you can’t be posting links and sharing content all day then 🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️ reading and writing is all I can manage at this point in my life and I’m ok with that. Your work is extremely important and so is your writing ❤️

  • I am guilty. I write a lot. Usually because I can’t sleep and the words won’t stop. I never really thought it might work against me. I also feel invisible and am afraid if I don’t write, I will be washed away by the waves of progressives who are definitely more talented than me. I am silly sometimes and just want to evoke a smile. A connection as you mentioned. So if my name stirs negativity then, I apologize and if you smile, well then….I’ll leave that dick in my purse 👛 😉🥴

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.