Confessions logo

Friendship And Love On Social Media

Well Vocal, Facebook and Instagram

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
14
Image by Bing Naranjo from Pixabay

Introduction

This was going to be my first story today, but then various things popped up and it is now the fifth piece I have created today, my apologies if your notifications have been flooded by my posts.

I have written about this before, addressing similar issues, but it is something that is often on my mind, especially when I don't hear from people especially if I feel they are friends rather than acquaintances.

These are a few of the stories where I have touched on this:

To Be Here For Each Other On Social Media

The internet and social media in some ways have shrunk the world for us. I remember when contact across the world was by postcard and letter because phone calls were very expensive. I remember when my uncle went to Australia in the sixties the Christmas phone call cost my parents thirty pounds a minute, that's probably about five hundred pounds a minute now, so was never an option.

I knew of people who played chess by letter, but that was never an option for me, I am far too impatient.

After the millennium the internet was established but slow, and it was about 2004 when I got my first mobile phone foisted on me by my daughter Juliet because she had got a new one. Just reading "The Pie At Night" and he tells us that in 2007 the Prime Minister of the UK, Tony Blair, got his first mobile phone and his first text was to Alistair Campbell and read:

"Wow you can send words on a phone"

I'm not sure to be worried about that, as he is still a prominent political figure despite the Blair/Bliar memes.

Anyway, today we can video call anyone, anywhere in the world provided they have a device and a signal. The main problem is usually time differences and having time free.

The only unresolved issue is that we can't yet teleport, but we can do so many things that we could not do before.

People all around the world buy from my Discogs store, which you can visit here.

I communicate regularly with admins and friends in the Vocal Social Society, in many ways. Sometimes we are daily sometimes weekly and sometimes longer.

I do feel a little sad when people seem to disappear from Vocal of Facebook, but as long as I know that they are good then I can live with it.

Sometimes all social media can get too much for some people and i understand that. When I am away for short holidays I am off Vocal and Facebook and find coming back really difficult. Imagine if you felt that every morning when you woke, you would want to remove yourself from whatever was causing you the issues. If you feel like that and want to talk you know where I am, just check my Vocal profile, and you can find a way to message me.

I have friends around the world whom I have met through Facebook, Instagram and Vocal and have grown to be close friends with many, and gained a lot of love, encouragement and knowledge from all of them and I hope that I have given as much back as they give to me.

Conclusion

This has meandered on and off the original subject, but hope I have got across to you how I feel about my friends on Vocal and Facebook. I will always be here for you for absolutely anything, and I know that you will be here for me too.

Thank you so much for reading this, I really appreciate all the support, love, encouragement, and inspiration that I get from you all.

WorkplaceStream of ConsciousnessSecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyCONTENT WARNING
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Well done, Mike.

  • The Dani Writer2 months ago

    A great topic and you covered it well ☺️

  • Whoaaaa, people used to play chess through letters? That's crazyyyyyy!! I too got my first phone in 2004 but I was just 14 back then. Juliet must have been in her 20s, right?

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Wonderful absolutely wonderful!!! Loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Thank you, Mike.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Your questions resonate. I choose to keep writing and social media separate but sometimes feel like that’s not the ideal choice. For me, writing is an outlet too personal to risk bringing in distractions. But there are wonderful people on Vocal and the socials, so it’s a difficult choice. Any, thanks for sharing.

  • Lana V Lynx2 months ago

    Social media can be so frustrating, but I always want to think that it mostly because people are too busy or do not see my posts for some reason.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.