Confessions logo

Does love really exist?... Is it fake?

Love in the Modern Age: Separating Reality from Fairy Tales

By hafsa Published about a year ago 3 min read
some times our thoughts are backed by so many insecurities that they create lies we believe

“some times our thoughts are backed by so many insecurities that they create lies we believe”

As a child, I often heard fairy tales about a prince falling in love with a princess and overcoming obstacles together. These stories made me believe that finding true love would solve all my problems. But as I grew older, I started questioning what love really meant. It seems that movies, dramas, and comics often romanticize love as finding the perfect partner, which can create unrealistic expectations.

Personally, I’m skeptical about the concept of love for several reasons. Firstly, men and women are attracted to each other based on physical and emotional needs, but this does not necessarily mean they are in love. Many people confuse attraction with love and later realize they have nothing in common with their partner.

Secondly, many couples break up or divorce even though they claimed to be in love at first. This suggests that their initial attraction was temporary or based on unrealistic expectations.

In my opinion, humans are inherently selfish, and true love is hard to find. People may claim to love someone, but they are often driven by their own needs and desires. For example, some may seek a partner to fulfill their emotional or sexual needs or to improve their social status.

When it comes to what men look for in women, physical appearance is often the first factor. Unfortunately, society places a high value on beauty and tends to overlook other qualities such as intelligence, kindness, and compatibility. This creates pressure on women to conform to a certain standard of beauty, which is unfair and can lead to low self-esteem.

I believe that love based solely on physical attraction or social status is shallow and superficial. True love should be based on mutual respect, trust, and understanding. However, finding such love is not easy, and it should not be the only goal in life.

Instead, I think it’s important to focus on personal growth and career development. Building a successful career can provide a sense of purpose and fulfillment, which can attract like-minded people and lead to meaningful relationships. Love may come naturally when we least expect it, but it should not be the only measure of our worth or happiness.

It is true that there are many people who struggle to find love, and while it can be a source of great joy and fulfillment, it is important to remember that it is not the only aim in life. This is especially important to convey to young people, particularly those going through puberty, who may feel a strong pressure to find love and may become overly fixated on it.

The reality is that not everyone will find love, and that is okay. It can be difficult to accept, and it may lead to feelings of sadness and disappointment, but it does not define a person’s worth or determine the course of their life. It is important to have a healthy perspective on love and relationships, and to understand that there are many other sources of happiness and meaning in life.

I have come to a painful realization that love may not be for everyone, and it may not be for me. This lonely feeling weighs heavily on my heart, and I can’t help but wonder why I can’t seem to find the love and happiness that others around me have found.

I have tried so many times, but every time I open my heart to someone, it ends in disappointment and heartache. The pain of rejection and the feeling of not being enough is unbearable. I can’t help but feel like there’s something wrong with me, like I’m not deserving of love.

But as hard as it is, I know I must accept that love may not be in the cards for me. I can’t keep chasing after something that may never come. It’s time for me to focus on other aspects of my life, to find fulfillment in other ways. But the thought of never experiencing the love and connection that I see others have is bittersweet.

It’s a painful and lonely road to walk, but I know that it’s time for me to let go of the expectation that love must be a part of my life. As I begin to come to terms with this, I feel a sense of freedom and relief. I can finally start living for myself, rather than constantly searching for someone else to complete me. But the sadness still lingers a constant ache in my heart, a reminder of what could have been

"I say I don’t believe in love, but that’s not really true — love is just the name of an emotion. It’s like on steroids. It’s lust with ethics."

WorkplaceTeenage yearsTabooSecretsSchoolHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentDatingChildhoodBad habits

About the Creator

hafsa

Energetic 18 y/o with love for sports, socializing & literature. Creative writer who's ambitious & driven to succeed. Strives for excellence & a force to be reckoned with

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HWritten by hafsa

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.