Confessions logo

Crossing The Line

Some Things I Just Can't Do

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
12

Introduction

This is not a criticism of anyone but just an explanation of my psyche and how I am what I am on Vocal and in the Vocal communities.

The music I have included is "Crossing The Line" by Stomu Yamash'ta with Stevie Windwood on vocals, Michael Shrieve and AL Di Meola from one of my favourite albums, "Go".

At Christmas, I saw a special episode of "The Cleaner" and I realised that in certain circumstances I have issues with crossing, what I see as, defining lines in certain instances. I wrote a piece on it below.

And Now This Is Me

In my life I love sharing things with people, and the closer we are the more I like to share. The Vocal Facebook Groups allow me to share my writing with others and I have actually used this to produce a few anthologies that are available on Amazon here.

That is all well and good, although I do write a lot (as I write this I am closing in on twelve hundred Vocal stories) but I hope that people see my work as something like a magazine or newspaper where you look for the things that interest you and ignore the ones that don't interest you. I am probably the only person who has read everything that I have produced, and I would be shocked if anyone else came close to that.

One of my favourite groups is Great Incantations which is meant to be exclusively for Vocal Challenge entries, so I only post my Challenge Entries there.

My psyche tells me that I should only post one or two stories for a Challenge and that should be it, and I generally keep to that though the recent short-form poetry challenges have resulted in floods of entries, and that causes me to think should I do the same but my psyche tells me "NO", as I write enough anyway, but obviously cannot post in Great Incantations, although I can post in Vocal Social Society and other Groups, but I feel I have to stick to the rules and not go over the top with Challenge Entries.

I do like to interact but not go over the top so in Great Incantations I try to comment and support although I start to feel inadequate when I see someone publishing their fifth short-form poem of the day, but then I think, I know I could do that but I am controlling myself and creating in other ways. It is probable that the more entries you put in to these Challenges the more chance you have of winning, but I think for me, one or two should do the job and if they are good enough they will get some kind of reward. Three of my short-form poems have received Top Story awards although they never placed in the Challenges, so I get a sort of high and low feeling from them.

Staying On The Straight And Narrow

The real irony about this is that I hate regimentation and being told what to do. I joined a gym and I lasted three days as it was so boring, and within Vocal I don't like being told what to do but I do love advice and constructive criticism, working with friends to create things but love the feeling of being a literary free spirit.

I still can't cross certain lines but other lines I seem to have just left behind in my hope of becoming an adequate creator and writer.

Concluding Me

I know this is just me talking about me, but I do hope you have found it a little enlightening. Thank you for reading and thank you for being a friend.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipBad habits
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Nice one! I just write whatever comes to my mind, sometimes it’s nothing at all 😬🤣

  • First off, you should never be too hard on yourself or feel that your inadequate. Second, always remember to be kind and gentle to yourself. Screw what others think or say about you. Third, only do what you want, what you're comfortable with and what makes you happy 🥰

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I appreciate your honesty. I think the short form poems can leave us all a little dizzy up to deadline, yet I still like them. 1200 stories is amazing! ♥️

  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences with us. It's interesting to hear about your approach to sharing your writing and your thoughts on crossing certain lines. It's great that you have found a community on Vocal where you can share your work and connect with others who appreciate your writing. It's important to stay true to your own values and limitations, even when it comes to participating in challenges or posting in certain groups. Keep creating and writing, and best of luck on your literary journey.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well said. I get where you're coming from. For me, I'll write as many as I get inspired by. I may have ten, or I may have two, depends on how inspired I get. Don't put a hard number on the pieces you want to enter. That last one you decide to throw in at the end may be the one that wins. It happened to me with Heaven's Curtain.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is interesting. I like how introspective you are and how willing you are to give us a glimpse into what makes you tick. I appreciate your honesty. I feel some of the same things sometimes.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Frank, honest, and appreciated, Mike. I've certainly submitted enirely too many for the short-form poetry challenges, but it's not because I believe it increases my chances of winning. The difference, for me, is that they're a fun break from: a) writing for clients or b) writing actual stories. I submit them to the challenges, because, well, why not? I've netted a couple of Top Stories with them, too, which is always nice, but just putting something out there for fun and interaction with other writers is relaxing.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I appreciate this insight into your thought and your creative process! I appreciate the thought process of not wanting to put too many entries into a challenge. I also used to limit myself, saying only one. But lately I’ve been letting myself do two or three (with the exception this Tautogram challenge) because I find new inspiration after I’ve published something. I can also relate to the love for advice and constructive criticism. Thanks for sharing a piece of you in this piece, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.