Beat logo

World Turned Upside Down - Incredible Words From Leon Rosselson

My Thoughts On This Song And A Playlist Of Versions

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
12
Leon Rosselson With Guitar

Introduction

Sometime in the past I first heard this song, either by Billy Bragg or Dick Gaughan. These versions conveyed the anger at the Hateful spite of the privileged classes toward the less fortunate.

I actually tried recording a version of my own, close to Billy Bragg's take so you get to hear my "singing" and "playing". My apologies if it frightens you or seems disrespectful.

It was while researching to do this that I found Leon's version.

I suppose I had not considered it as a folk song, but now I do. I also found a few versions of a traditional song with the same title which I have included in the addendum.

Although the song is set in the past, the situation is just the same today. Just to read the words takes apart society as it still is today. It shows how no matter how people try to care for everyone, they are continually cut down by the moneyed classes.

I have opened with Leon's beautiful version which makes it easy to take in the words.

The website is here Wikipedia is here

I will share the words with you here:

I shared this with Leon and got this lovely reply.

Now I will share the versions of the song that I am aware of. It has incredible power and hope that you can take time to listen to all of these, even mine.

Chumbawamba

Knowing their hit singles I was expecting this to be vicious and hard hitting, but it is very close to the sound and spirit of Leon's version of it although when it finished I was half expecting an explosion after the ticking stops.

Billy Bragg

This was the version that I took as a template for mine. I didn't like Billy Bragg's sound at first, but he certainly grew on me, and this really hits home with the power of the song and the electric guitar just helps hit the message home.

Dick Gaughan

It was either this or Billy Bragg's version that introduced this song to me. I regard Dick Gaughan as having one of the most distinctive voices I have ever heard, and that forty year old take is incredibly powerful despite being a man and his voice and acoustic guitar.

Roy Bailey

Roy Bailey's take on this contains a wonderful tale of how this song has been translated and used worldwide before taking us into is version, which is a wonderful take on this amazing song.

The introduction is really worth listening to, I think you will love it.

Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith

I don't know these lads but this is a wonderful take on the song, a wonderful listen.

Alan Rosevear

An unaccompanied version I found. This is what he says about his channel

This channel is dedicated to traditional English Folk Songs. Most of the videos are of me singing unaccompanied at home, those songs that I sing around the folk clubs of Devon.

James Hollingsworth

I like this version, and James has a great voice and love the sound of his guitar.

Karan Casey

This is a wonderful, just Karan and someone else over a vicious military snare drum.

Me

You may wish to avoid this the guitar is heavy metal, and that makes me think, can a folk song use any instrumentation? Remember when Dylan went electric and was called a traitor and Judas? But I still think this is worth its inclusion.

Addendum

Another song, a take on this was used in the musical "Hamilton" it is far removed from Folk music but I will include it for you

Maddy Prior and The Carnival Band

This is the other song with the same title, and there are a few versions of this around. Maddy's voice is wonderful though.

"The World Turned Upside Down" is a famous song from the interregnum era, specifically associated with the English Civil War and the subsequent period known as the Interregnum. This era began in 1649 with the execution of King Charles I and lasted until the restoration of the monarchy in 1660.

"The World Turned Upside Down" is a folk ballad that expresses the sentiments of the radical religious and political groups that emerged during this time, particularly the puritans. The song's lyrics vividly portray the upheaval caused by Cromwell and the ideals of parliament.

The song's popularity endured beyond the Interregnum era and has been passed down through generations. It has been recorded and performed by numerous artists over the years, often as a symbol of resistance and rebellion against oppressive authority.

In modern times, "The World Turned Upside Down" continues to resonate as a protest song and a reminder of the transformative power of social and political movements. It serves as a reminder of a turbulent period in English history and the aspirations for a more just and egalitarian society that were embodied by the radical factions of the time.

social mediasong reviewsplaylisthistorycelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Love yoir guitar version! Much more my speed! Though i didnt like the first by Leon Rosselson also. Super cool to learn bout more about things I know zip ll about! Thanks fir sharing!

  • How could the BBC maintain with a straight face that a song referencing events in 1649 Europe was a traditional Nicaraguan song, lol?

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    I like your guitar work and great cover!! Great work as always with your niche topics brother

  • I loveeeeeeeeee your version!!!! You nailed it!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I learn a new song and get to hear you sing . I love the messager, working men are never really free

  • I enjoyed Billy Bragg version per say sorta the Punk rock era sound . The words ring true today as back then.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    You rocked it! I really enjoyed your version.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.