Beat logo

A Sixth Selection Of Ten Essential UK & Irish Folk Music Songs From 1960s-1980s

Ten More Essential Folk Songs From The British And Irish Isles

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
8
Creator: Hulton Archive | Credit: Getty Images

Introduction

I need to be a little more careful in my song selections as I repeated one in Episode Five (Link at the end of this article) but I have to be thankful for the suggestions from the members of UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s for their suggestions of artists who have slipped my mind and artists I have never heard of. I had been particularly remiss in my lack of coverage of Welsh Folk.

This is the sixth installment in this series taking it up to sixty songs for you to enjoy. I am trying not to repeat artists but the more I share the more difficult that is to do.

If you are not a Vocal member, if you sign up you will be able to leave comments on the article here, but I am fine with you just reading and maybe commenting in UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s where you can discover even more musical treasures.

Kathryn Tickell - "Brafferton Village/Walsh's Hornpipe"

Brafferton Village was originally from 1987's "Borderlands" and "Walsh's Hornpipe" from 1988's "Common Ground" so both fall within the remit. I'd always assumed Kathryn was from the North East because she plays Northumbrian pipes but she hails from Walsall.

I have seen her live a few times and she has an impressive roster of collaborations. Check out her website and Wikipedia entry.

Mabsant - Fe Drawodd Yn My Meddwl

A recommendation from Andrew Davidson. This is my first exposure to the band and may be yours too, but it means I am redressing my lack of Welsh folk in these articles.

Although this is from 1990 I think we can allow this in, and it is very listenable, almost folk swing but in a good way. I really like this. Very impressed.

Plethyn - "Bonheddwr Mawr O'R Bala"

A second recommendation from Andrew Davidson. Another first exposure to the band. This is from the 1984 album "Caneuon Gwerin I Blant / Welsh Folk Songs For Children" but I prefer the albums that they released in the nineties. Having said that this is still a pleasant and listenable album.

Silly Wizard - "The Queen Of Argyll"

I only have odd songs on compilations by them in my collection, and I noticed this song posted in UK & Irish Folk Music 60s-80s. I know them from my past and this is a brilliant song. Listen and enjoy.

Bridget St John - Ask Me No Questions

A lovely song suggested by Emil Max Thompson. Just Bridget and her guitar, I think on John Peel's Dandelion label.

Shirley Collins and The Albion Country Band - "Just As the Tide Was a 'Flowing"

A beautiful self-composed song back by The Albion Country Band. There are a lot of collaborations in these installments but all are worth taking the time to listen to because words cannot describe their beauty.

The Bunch - "When Will I Be Loved"

In 1972 a bunch of Fairport alumni got together to do some rock and roll covers under the the name of The Bunch. The album was called "Rock On". Given who this is and when it was released this Phil Everley cover should qualify. It is a lovely song with Sandy Denny on vocals.

The Watersons - "Country Life"

A wonderful acapella song from the 1975 album "For Pence and Spicy Ale", this is a perfect example of English country singing.

Chilli Willi And the Red Hot Peppers - Fiddle Diddle (Peel Session)

Another band championed by John Peel although their sound was zydeco they were from London (hence the "Bongos over Balham" album title) but this song has always stuck with me. I think you will like it, just a bit different from the songs normally in these articles.

Lindisfarne - "Fog On The Tyne"

I'll close this with the archetypal song about my adopted hometown (I am a Prestonian by birth and support Preston North End). I love this song and I can actually play it. I may try it and add it to the songs on my YouTube channel.

Thank you so much for reading and enjoying. Your support is much appreciated.

Previous Episodes:

My YouTube Channel:

song reviewsplaylisthistorycelebritiesbands80s music70s music60s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Another wonderful selection, Mike. And all of them played for me.

  • I'm so happy you're doing this series because they're getting a lot of reads. This was another enjoyable playlist!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.