Beat logo

MY Day With Music

People use music for different reasons. Here are some ways that I use it.

By Nicholas McKennaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
MY Day With Music
Photo by Mubariz Mehdizadeh on Unsplash

Music is like a drug. I'm sure you've heard this saying before but it's true. There's even looking at how certain frequencies or wavelengths affect the human mind. Personally, I enjoy listening to music for most of the day, but I have different preferences depending on what I'm doing.

A typical day for me involves different genres, except opera. I don't know why but, for some reason this is the one style that I cannot get into. I have my headphones on throughout the day because I do not live alone or whatever I am doing is around other people, and they don't want to hear my music.

Let's go through my day music wise….

My Gym Playlist

From the moment I get to the gym in the morning until I go to eat dinner I have my headphones on. When I'm at the gym, I need something to get my blood pumping. For me that could be anything from different types of rock music, hard core rap, EDM, and I have also been to listen to podcasts and audio books while lifting.

, I've been hooked on the band BabyMetal and their album Mega Galaxy. I was a little worried when one of the members left the group in 2019 but the music has still been great and, if you ever watch one of their shows it looks like a good time. Going to the Tokyo Dome and seeing them play live is on my bucket list.

I would say my favorite song from this album is YA! it not gets me pumped enough while I'm in the gym, it's also one that I can have fun with when I'm running around doing errands.

Video is Pa Pa Ya! by BabyMetal from YouTube

Time to cool down

While I'm lifting I need songs that will keep me moving but, at the end of my workouts I do a stretching routine. During this time, I calm myself down and begin to relax.

To do that, I change my playlist to not something less upbeat but, something more fun as well. A new favorite of mine has been Barrels of Whiskey by The O’ and the .

It's an Irish song about how a young boy is an apprentice for an old whiskey maker and I find it rather . They have others that I like as well such as Irish Way, Black Sails, and Green Blood.

I find it helps to have something a little upbeat to stretch and cool down to because there have been times when I have listened to something more classical and got too relaxed and didn't want to move. At least this way I can continue my day after I'm done stretching.

Video is Barrels of Whiskey by The O'Reillys and the Paddyhats from YouTube

Cooking

Now I know I'm not the one that does this and it's so much fun. Whenever I start cooking, I always start dancing. There's that thing about music where you can feel the rhythm of the song and something it takes over.

When I'm cooking I like to go on YouTube and in whoever I feel like listening to at the time. The last time I cooked I was listening to be Ye Ye by Ed Sheeran and was dancing all over my kitchen. This song is so much fun to dance to and is so upbeat that you will be in a great mood for the rest of the day after listening to it.

Video is Bibia Be Ye Ye by Ed Sheeran from YouTube

Singing is so Therapeutic

There's people who like to sing a lot, and I am one of those people. I will say that I'm not the biggest fan of my voice so when I am singing it's when no one is around or I'm in my car.

One of the songs that I've enjoyed singing is bad liar by Imagine Dragons. I've heard of Imagine Dragons before and I like their sound but I have heard of this song for some reason.

They also have other great songs like radioactive and Thunder but I like bad liar because it feels softer and it's one of those songs that you could get lost in. I love songs that have this feeling because after you sing them you feel so much better.

Video is Bad Liar by Imagine Dragons From YouTube

Who Reads in Silence?

Here is where I like to change up slightly. Reading is something that I find entertaining, but I do get distracted rather and I don't like reading in silence.

, whatever music I put on, I make sure that there're no lyrics in the songs. This is where I either go on YouTube and put on one of the music stations or I start listening to a bunch of movie scores. The Pirates of the Caribbean theme has to be one of the best ones I've ever started listening to while reading.

Movie scores are designed to get you into whatever you are watching, so if you listen to it while you're reading you are now getting even more into whatever you are reading.

Video is the Pirates of the Caribbean extended theme from YouTube

I use music to create whatever atmosphere I'm looking for. This is one of the best uses for music today, with everything we have gone through in the past year.

You need to have fun throughout your day and music is a great way to mix in that entertainment. These songs are what's helping me get through my days and hopefully they can help you either get through yours or help you get through something as well.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Nicholas McKenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.