Beat logo

A Playlist Of Sweet Things

Some Songs That I Like

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
7
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I sometimes put together themed playlists and I was listening to the excellent Blancmange and Cream came into my head, so I thought there are two songs to kick off a playlist.

This just gives you a peak into the music that I love, and who knows you might like it too.

Many of my Vocal friends were not even thought of when many of these songs were released but many are my contemporaries.

This list has no order and is just a few sweet things with songs that relate to them in some way, by either band name or song title.

Blancmange - "Living On The Ceiling"

I love the sound of Blancmange (the band not the sweet) there are lots of mystical Eastern influences that sound almost threatening like some malevolent djinn. It was particularly hard to choose just one song, but I have a feeling one of their albums will be on the player while I work today.

Cream - "Tales Of Brave Ulysses"

I was surprised when I discovered the lyrics for this were written by Eric Clapton with help from Martin Sharp. Cream were an archetypal heavy band encompassing blues to metal as well as folk. This was created in the nineteen sixties but, in my opinion, sounds just as fresh today.

Cake - "The Distance"

This is muscular white rap, and I love the guitar line that drives this. I don't know much Cake, and I think I saw them once many years back in Newcastle. This is a great slice of Cake.

Green Jelly - "Three Little Pigs"

This is just some aggressive noisy fun take on the children's story. The claymation video is quite entertaining too. In the UK it's Jelly in the USA it's Jello and the band are named Green Jello in the USA.

"Cream" by Prince

I am not sure what Mr Rogers Nelson is referring to in the title of this excellent song, but who knows he may have just fancied a sweetly smooth dessert.

Sutherland Brothers - "The Pie"

This was my introduction to the Sutherland Brothers, a beautiful love song. I have just finished the series "Supernatural" and one of the things about that was Dean's obsession with pie and in the final episode, they got to visit a Pie Festival.

"Chocolate" by Kylie Minogue

Although I am diabetic I love chocolate. My uncle said he had to have his diabetic chocolate and jam, but they taste absolutely awful, I told him to get the real stuff but eat it in extreme moderation, but it does taste gorgeous. It does slightly depress me that sweet things like chocolate can only be sampled in moderation by people like me, and Hotel Chocolat is home to some luxurious temptations.

Sugar - "If I Can't Change Your Mind"

Sugar are led by Bob Mould (ex-Hüsker Dü), and this is just a beautifully perfect pop song. Refined sugar is a definite no-go area for me, but everything we eat is turned into sugar so that our bodies can then use it to keep us running. In a major fault design, if sugar is in the bloodstream too long it rots our veins and arteries, which is not a good thing.

"Caramel" - Suzanne Vega

A jazz-tinged song from the album "Nine Objects of Desire". Suzanne Vega is an incredible talent at home in so many musical genres. This video shows you how to make caramel.

'Ice Cream' - BLACKPINK (with Selena Gomez)

This is a good way to finish this playlist, with a serving of ice cream. I love ice cream and I think it is a favourite of most of us.

Thank you so much for reading and listening, and hope I have given you something new to listen to and stimulated your taste buds.

playlistsong reviewscelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ouuu this is such a wonderful and clever playlist! I quite enjoyed, "Caramel" by Suzanne Vega and will have to add it to my Spotify. Also, I was pleasantly surprised to see BLACKPINK on here, lol! Awesome work on this one, Mikey. 💗

  • Julia Schulz3 months ago

    Always loved Creams "Tales of Brave Ulysses" and aware of Suzanne Vega and Prince but not familiar with the others.

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    Very eclectic list, but very entertaining. I think i only knew one Suzanne Vega song from way back. Little Pig was a favourite of my kids driving in the car. I'm sure if i read more of your stuff, i would know you're diabetic. My eldest daughter was diagnosed about 20 years ago. It's a shitty disease, but we carry on.

  • Ken_kudu3 months ago

    Love this❤️

  • Simply delicious all the way around. (You anticipated this comment, didn't you?)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.