Beat logo

Juli Patchouli's February Miserablist Mish-Mash Playlist:

My Friend Julie Creates Brilliant Playlists. This Is Another

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
6

Introduction

My friend Juli is a music lover, DJ, Poet, Writer, Performer, Snake Owner, and Cat Lover and publishes playlists on Facebook. I suggested she put one on Vocal, which piqued her interest. Then I said I would put it together and credit her.

These songs are all her choices, but I like them and there are some new takes that I haven't heard.

Take a listen, leave comments and we may have a new Creator in our ranks.

Thanks for this Juli.

This was the last one:

February Miserablist Mish-Mash Playlist:

GOO MUNDAY - "All of Monday's Parties"

Most of these songs are new to me, even at my age with my eclectic range of listening. The thing is, the older you get the more good music there is to discover and listen to. I still maintain that 95% is rubbish and it is up to us to find the good stuff. I was thinking "All Tomorrows Parties" when I saw the title but this motors like an underground train with all the lights off.

SOAP & SKIN - "Janitor of Lunacy"

This does keep with the mood of Nico, though the introduction made me think of Captain Beefheart's "Hard Working Man" transferred to some obscure clockwork device, though the performance does grab you bt the throat and doesn't let go.

FISCHERSPOONER - "We Need a War"

The seems a little light, but the further you stay with it the darkness seeps into your mind. I love this, and while I knew the name, this is a new discovery for me.

Einstürzende Neubauten - "Yü-gung (Fütter mein ego)"

These were faves of John Peel and I am sure I heard a lot of their stuff but they didn't stick with me. Basically, an electronic industrial aural assault, with an almost metallic/motorik drum beat. Not quite my cup of petrol, but more than worth a listen. It wouldn't cause me to switch the radio off.

MYKKI BLANCO, ANOHNI & KELSEY LU - "French Lessons"

While it starts like some guerilla fight, it drifts into a languidly lovely song, in parts recalling Lou Reed's "Walk On The Wild Side".

JOY DIVISION - "She's Lost Control" (Peel Session)

I don't know if Martin Hannet produced this but the drum sound implies that he was around. This is Joy Division on John Peel, need I say anything else?

SYDNEY VALETTE - "Lies"

This is another that's new to me, again a relentless motorik beat and minimalist riff and doom-laden Goth vocals

ZOHRA - "Murder in the Temple" (ft. LYDIA LUNCH)

Again Lydia Lunch was a John Peel regular but Zohra is new to me but this driven by an electronic throb decorated with vocals from the empty place exudes pure red darkness.

SONIC YOUTH - "I'm Not There"

This is a bit closer to the mainstream, but the sound is so dark. Sonic Youth covering Bob Dylan, and you can tell where the song came from.

Gertrud Stein - "The Void"

The Void is a perfect encapsulation of this playlist. I love the video. This demonstrates what can be done with a minimalist construction. I wasn't sure what to expect, like most of this playlist. Loved this video and more relentless listening fun (well it is for me).

SUZANNE VEGA - "Left of Centre"

Possibly the only song on this list that I know very well. This, while being dark, is a more complex construction than most of the songs on this list.

GRAVE PLEASURES - "Disintegration Girl"

Massively Gothic and Scarily Good, while veering into reigned back psychobilly.

PETER CHRISTOPHERSON In My Head a Crystal Sphere of Heavy Fluid

This just feels like you have fallen into the space vacuum between dimensions until two minutes in a guitar and voice take you closer to the shore of some strange reality.

ADELE - "Hometown Glory"

The unexpected closer to this playlist, I love these words

You get the people and the government

Everybody taking different sides

Shows that we ain't gonna stand shit

Shows that we are united

Shows that we ain't gonna take it

Shows that we ain't gonna stand shit

Shows that we are united

Thank you for reading and listening to Juli's excellent choices.

synthsong reviewsplaylistelectronicaCONTENT WARNINGcelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Interesting selection. Pretty much where I live.

  • These are another great selection of songs! I enjoyed them!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This a more aurally challenging playlist than her last one. In Janitor of Lunacy, it does feel like the piano serves mostly to keep time while the vocal blend feels intense and otherworldly. I liked how menace builds first in the vocals/lyrics of We Need War and then in the accompaniment. In Lies, I really liked Sydney's haunting baritone. It kind of reminded me of Bowie and Iggy Pop. I liked the Sonic Youth cover of I'm Not There, the emotional complexity of the vocals is a good fit for Dylan's music. I liked Left of Center, it has a Pretender's feel, and Suzanne has a haunting and wonderful voice. Disintegration Girl - did you coin Psychobilly? Never heard the term before. Definitely fits the music. The Album cover reminded me of Zeppelin's House of the Holy. The Adele song is wonderful - First time I have heard it. Thanks for sharing!

  • A really solid playlist! I'll have to check this out when I have the headspace to accept new music into my rotation of the same four showtunes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.