Writers logo

My Seasonal Writing

What I Was Up To Over Christmas

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published 6 months ago • 2 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

i wasn't so sure if I would be writing or what I would be writing but it was nice to effectively have a four day weekend and that gave me a chance to write a few things, some of which are related to the season.

You know I listen to music as I write and the soundtrack for the last couple of days has been "Strangely, Strange but Oddly Normal" which I suppose is fairly descriptive of me, so I have included the eponymous song from the almost eponymous band Doctor Strangely Strange.

So What Have I Been Up To?

I am extremely lucky that I can take inspiration from almost anything, even from not having inspiration, if that makes any sense, although I know that often I seem to make no sense at all.

This morning I woke up and I had a question about the Doctor Who Christmas Special that resulted in this villanelle.

Also, I am writing this piece, about what I am writing, which sounds to me almost paradoxical.

Then there was a seasonal greeting that I wanted to create and this was it, nothing too controversial, although I find it almost amusing how gammons and the like always say the is a "War on Christmas" when someone dares to say "Happy Holidays" so I will say "Happy Holidays" with this piece.

Vocal has a villanelle challenge going on at the moment (it finishes in a day or two) and a lot of people seem to be having difficulty with the villanelle format. I have been giving one to one support to a few friends via messenger on this, but I recording a video of me writing this one in real time to show how I create a villanelle.

I am surprised by how much I have written over the holiday period, but, as I say, I am very lucky to be able to find inspiration almost anywhere.

I loved this poem by Brenton F on being unable to write. You may not believe it, but that happens to me quite a lot, but that situation actually provides me with inspiration to create something.

Conclusion.

This is just a short missive about my writing, so far over this holiday period.

I hope you have had a good one, and thank you so much for reading, it really is appreciated. I also felt that after three consecutive poems (something I try to avoid doing) it was time for something that wasn't a poem.

Thank you again.

VocalShoutoutPromptsProcessLifeInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdviceAchievements

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Happy Holidays, Mike! (Including Hannukah, Yule, Kwanza, Christmas, Winter Solstice, Festivus, etc.) I have to admit to finding it incredibly ironic that those who insist wishing someone "Happy Holidays" is a war on Christmas are the very same folks who not too long ago would have been claiming that Christmas itself is nothing but a pagan holiday & shouldn't be celebrated by Christians at all (having been adopted by the church only because they couldn't get people not to celebrate the return of the sun as the days began to get longer).

  • Writing is great over the holidays!!

  • It's seriously so kind of you to guide those who are having trouble with writing a Villanelle. Long live the King of Villanelles!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Merry Christmas! Sounds like you kept yourself busy with writing!

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.