Writers logo

Reading And Writing

What I Like To See

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published 7 months ago • 2 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

When I read a book I like to see white space and a good space between lines and letters. When a chapter ends I like seeing white space to the end of the page rather than the next chapter starting.

The white space makes me feel that I have achieved a milestone and if I want, this is a good place to take a break.

I know that it is not everyone's preference but it does fit with my laconic writing style.

Some Observations On Writing In General

When I write technical documents I keep them to the point, and with a lot of white space in. The result is that people find it easy to read and it is easy to maintain.

I was often criticised by certain managers that there "weren't enough words on the page" My reply was always "Everything you need to know is there, and it is easy to read and maintain". That didn't go down well with them, though nobody ever asked me what I meant by my documentation, although maybe they just didn't read it, but if they didn't then they couldn't have done what they needed to.

And Then Vocal

In my early days on Vocal I got some great constructive criticism, especially on poetry and to use Grammarly to help with spelling and grammar.

One of the best pieces of advice was to use emoticons to mark the split between verses in poetry, and I put a lot of work into getting relevant emoticons for what I am writing about.

Some Vocal Creators have told me that I can't write and I am just trying to distract the reader with pictures and the music that I include. To be honest that doesn't bother me at all, I have a style and look and most people love it including me.

I love space in writing and poetry when I read others' work.

I recently read an excellent poem, but there was no space between verses so I have to keep counting to make sure it said what I thought it said.

Although the words were excellent, to me it did not look good.

Again some might say the the only thing that matters is the words, but if the presentation puts people off then they won't ever read those words.

Conclusion

I hope this makes a little sense and gives you a few ideas, and I will share one of my poems for you to see a finished article of mine. This one was part of the dark poetry project using simple emoticons.

VocalProcessAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Omgggg this makes so much sense! Some writers have long paragraphs and I struggle to read them. That's why my paragraphs are always short for easier reading. Your emojis or pictures don't distract me but music does because I can't multitask so I don't play it while I'm reading.

  • Daphsam7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing.

  • Nice

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.