Writers logo

Always Make A Start

Some Advice On Writers Block Or Not Being Sure What To Write

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred πŸŒ›Published 5 days ago β€’ 2 min read
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I am creatively lucky. I can usually find something to write about, even when it is writing about not being able to write or not being inspired.

Here are some of the methods that I use to add to my prodigious number of publications on Vocal and my few anthologies on Amazon which you can find by looking for me there. I won't post a link because links only properly work for the site of the location of the the reader, which is ridiculous.

The words to the Rolling Stones' song are pertinent for me:

"If You Start Me Up

I'll Never Stop"

Always Find A Way To Kick It Off

One of my main methods is to put a word into the title of a Vocal story, then leave it in drafts and I have something to continue the following day. I may also add a few lines so the next day I am finishing something that I started.

Often I create a story in one session, although there are times when I have to take breaks and pick up later on after doing something else.

I have a Google Doc that I use to record single lines for ideas and pick them up for stories when I am stimulated enough to string the required words together.

This is an example where I heard the term, recorded it, then researched it and turned it into a villanelle:

At the moment there is just a single prompt in there plus a stylised version of my name that I am trying to take as my Vocal display name, but I still haven't figured that out yet.

Conclusion

If you have writer's block, write one word, on a page or in an online document and it means you have a starting point to continue from. You might delete the word and pick another one when you resume, but that has opened the door for you.

I leave you with a Senryū (川柳)

Kick Off

πŸ§ΎπŸ“–βœοΈπŸ“–πŸ§Ύ

Now Write That First Word

To Do Naught Would Be Absurd

Write Now, Don't Be Scared

πŸ§ΎπŸ“–βœοΈπŸ“–πŸ§Ύ

I always feel lazy when I do short-form stuff, which is why I have included this motivational piece for you.

Thank you so much for reading

Writer's BlockVocalShoutoutPromptsInspirationCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred πŸŒ›

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯ Anna β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Carol β™₯

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • ROCK 4 days ago

    I am always writing, spawning great ideas in my head however time to steal away alone is difficult right now. I am in the depths of a Swedish family reunion and sneaking Vocal reads under my duvet, πŸ˜‚. You're inspirational year round MikeyD.

  • This is a very good idea, to put down a word first.

  • Ameer Bibi5 days ago

    Really impressive way in which you are wtotinh,man You are indeed so blessed to have this kinda talent

  • Jaye Pool5 days ago

    This is great. One thing I do is carry around a writing journal pretty much wherever I go. I use it for everything creative, and when I think of an idea, or a line that I would like to use (but not sure where), I write it down in there so I don't forget. That way, when I'm struggling, I can always come back to those ideas and lines.

  • Rasma Raisters5 days ago

    I have found that to avoid writers' block as I start writing I jot down two or three new ideas that come along and if one does not work out right away I can start working on another,

  • This showed up at the right time. Currently hitting an inspirational block. Thanks for the advice!

  • Cyrus5 days ago

    Great ideas!

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred πŸŒ›Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred πŸŒ›

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.