Wander logo

A Wander Round York

Within The Walls

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 30 days ago Updated 29 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
24
Outside York Minster

Introduction

I'm not so sure how to do this as this was just a weekend wandering round York, taking pictures, talking to people making new friends and luckily having great weather for it.

There will be spin-off stories from this as well but this is just a quick diaristic piece to share with you.

Eggs At No 21 York

No. 21 York

To view the website right click on the chapter title and open it in a new tab. Fiona and I turned up and Simon gave us great instructions to get here from the station, which was a short walk and he welcomed us and showed us our room, passing the cornucopia of Easter Eggs in the basket that you can see above which I availed myself of during our stay.

Simon and Andrea are wonderful hosts and told us about the many places we could go in York and served up brilliant breakfasts for the two mornings that we were there.

One of the problems was that the bed and room eres so comfortable that you didn't want to get up, but the breakfast was worth getting into the dining room for.

One of the many revelations was the amazing jam selection to go with their homemade bread, when you can salivate over below.

Those Jams

I tried both marmalades, the strawberry and champagne jam, as well as Rhubarb and Liquorice.

I had a Yorkshire breakfast that you can see below

Breakfast

So then out into York

Architecture

York is surrounded by walls where you can walk around and get wonderful views of parts of the city, but the main attraction is York Minster. The sheer size of this place is unbelievable, even more impressive than Durham Cathedral where I was last week, which you can read about here.

York Minster

This si the view from the front, and just above is the York Minster website, but I don't think that this photograph can convey the sheer size of the place. I spoke of the building of these amazing constructions in my piece on Durham Cathedral, but this is just the biggest of many in York.

Oratory

Virtually next door is the Oratory, and that in itself is another massive religious building.

A Model

Outside the Minster is a model of it showing the streets and building that surround it.

While I was looking at these places the road train from the Railway Museum came past, and it runs to the Minster before returning for those that don't want to walk.

Although I have been to York Many times I had not walked through the Museum Park, and Simon pointed us to that, and there are some impressive ruins, buildings as well as a bird of prey area and squirrels, though I am not sure if the squirrels were safe.

As you can see there is a lot of fine architecture to admire.

Clifford's Tower is an English Heritage site that has recently had a lot of major renovation work done, and you can get good views of the city from the top, but unfortunately, there was a long queue to get into the place, and I didn't have the time to wait, but I got some good photographs of the outside.

Those who know me know that I don't do queuing unless I have absolutely no choice.

This is one of the ways up onto the walls but is also one of the roads to the Minster, but it does look rather impressive with the statures of knights on top.

Conclusion

Luckily the weather was good so had lots of blue skies to frame many of the photographs.

The music is "High Hopes" by Pink Floyd which I think they must have had to create these amazing pieces of architecture.

I hope you have enjoyed coming on the walk around York with me.

travel tipstravel photographyphotographyfeatureeuropecultureartactivities
24

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 28 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes28 days ago

    Lovely pictures. Congrats on the TS.

  • Abdul Qayyum28 days ago

    Beautiful city and written well. https://vocal.media/fiction/time-time-time-251y08cb

  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    Beautiful city. Wish I'd been there with Andy Potts and Caroline Craven. Would have been a blast. I remember the Shambles, Jorvik centre and walking walls as well as the railway museum. I don't remember any pubs whuch is not to say that I didn't go in one or more!

  • Andy Potts28 days ago

    I spent three years at Uni in York. Not sure I saw as much of the cultural side of the city, so I'll look forward to a follow-up on some of the pubs. And probably reply with complaints about all the ones that have closed or been refurbished beyond recognition since I stumbled blearily out of them (looking at you, Spread Eagle).

  • Asad Message28 days ago

    attitude is more important than anything else

  • Ameer Bibi29 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story Your resilience is an inspiration to all who know you. Keep inspiring others with your strength.

  • Heyyyy look at that! Another Top Story for youuuu. Vocal didn't forget you and never will. Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Sounds like a marvelous outing in a beautiful place.

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Thank you for the walk around York!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Great place to visit and one of the best cities to see anywhere in England. Thanks for sharing your journey and photographs.

  • I love traveling with you brother 😌🥰❤️

  • Caroline Craven30 days ago

    This was great! I went to uni in York and you brought back many happy memories. As a student I think I was more excited to know there were 365 pubs within the city walls - one for every day of the year!

  • “M”30 days ago

    🫰🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.