Wander logo

Religion Has Given Us Some Amazing Architecture

Some Pictures Of Religious Architecture (Durham Cathedral) And Some Observations On Religion

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago 3 min read
7
Durham Cathedral In Lego

Introduction

Last weekend I visited Durham Cathedral with Fiona, Matt and Lesley and it got me thinking about how stunning many religious buildings are, and the work that has gone into them. My dad was a builder (he is still around, having also been a farmer and installing over two thousand Post Boxes throughout the north and west of England) and I worked as a labourer with him so I am constantly impressed by these structures.

This weekend I am going to York so I will be seeing more of this sort of thing.

The music is "Converted" by the Alabama 3 for the chorus "Let's Go Back To Church" which resulted in this quite funny story:

A Big Window In Durham Cathedral

Religion And Churches

As you know I am an atheist, if God turned up at my front door I would believe in them, I am with Richard Dawkins on this but find him a little too evangelical at times.

I do find it odd that while the public is disgusted at the greed and wastefulness of people like Jeff Bezos, Richard Branson, and Elon Musk that the Roman Catholic Church, one of the richest entities ever gets off relatively unscathed, dripping in gold while preaching through awful people like Mother Teresa that poverty and hardship is desirable.

But this is about a little religious architecture, not how it was financed or what goes on within those walls.

In Ken Follet's "Pillars Of The Earth", a cathedral collapses because the roof is too heavy. The Tom The Builder video shows more building and destruction. I hope you can see the videos.

"A cathedral is god's anteroom. It's halfway to heaven. And the light, the light is everything."

A cathedral like Durham can make you feel that. The pure size of these places often leaves you awestruck. I am not sure what the heating bills are for these places but energy efficiency was not a consideration when these edifices were planned and constructed.

Durham Cathedral

It was freezing when I went up to the Cathedral and I was pleased to get inside with some shelter from the elements. It is impressive close-up and from a distance and I am in awe of the planning, construction, and stained glass windows.

St James and St Basils

This is the interior of St James and St Basils which is a church near to me and I often walk around their garden. You can see this is a small church but still a very impressive construction. They often have concerts on here and you can see they have the space for it.

Kelvingrove Organ

While this is not a church, it is in the Kelvingrove Gallery in Glasgow, but you can see why I initially mistook it for a church.

St Michael's Church In Alnwick

St Michael's in Alnwick is another impressive interior. Those columns and arches impress me greatly, and the congregants must feel special when they come here to celebrate their masses.

The Nave of Durham Cathedral

This is a picture of the nave of Durham Cathedral and the sheer size of it takes your breath away. The construction of the roof and the stone arches and stained glass windows leave you in dazed amazement. Although this is a religious construction, it was created by men, though I know women could do the same, and any historical female involvement was likely erased by the church and/or historians.

Millenium Window

This stained glass window celebrates the millennium but was very difficult to photograph because I was in a very narrow corridor, but you get the idea.

Miner's Remembrance

This is a plaque for the remembrance of the miners who lost their lives in the Durham Coalfields and in a few months Public Service Broadcasting will be performing their album "Every Valley" here with a brass band in tribute to the miners.

Conclusion

Although this is mainly Durham Cathedral, this is just to share some amazing religious architecture. I have not even touched on the amazing architecture of other religions but that is something for another article.

I hope you have enjoyed this.

Thank you for reading.

Time To Go - A Durham Cathedral Timepiece

product reviewphotographyfeatureeuropecultureCONTENT WARNINGartactivities
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock30 days ago

    Such expression of humility & devotion swathed in such brokenness, sinfulness, wickedness. The divine-human tragi-comedy represented in architecture.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Love this, especially all the photos! I feel like I should post in Wander, I have so many pictures from Munich, Venice, Verona, and Prague that need airing.

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    I, too, love photographing religious buildings exclusively for their architectural contributions. Interesting idea for a story. It was especially fun to watch as I scrolled how the buildings came into focus from the tops of their highest arches to the depths of their floors.

  • “M”about a month ago

    👏

  • Matthew Frommabout a month ago

    as a nonreligious person, but a history lover, it's impossible to travel to Europe and not tour through the great cathedrals. Walking through Canterbury Cathedral and knowing that people had been undertaking more or less the same journey since the Roman Empire was quite powerful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.