Vocal Creator Chat: 9/5/2023

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
29

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every other Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • There are 25 days left to enter the Vocal Writing Awards.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every other Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
29

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Samuel Oluwaferanmi7 months ago

    Hi please how do I post my url

  • Joanna Christopher8 months ago

    Need help with my text/words,i find it difficult to know how many words on my story

  • Suliade Anifat 8 months ago

    Hi vocal, I'm new to this platform. I would like to know which community I should post things related to baking and cooking tips

  • Chloe Gilholy8 months ago

    AI Content shouldn’t be allowed to enter challenges or qualify for top stories. It’s a kick in the face for those who write organic content.

  • Anish Nayak8 months ago

    Hii , so anyone wants to buy my book

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    Hi Vocal, I've been a bit out of the loop lately with the start of school, but I'm slowly trying to nudge back into the wonderful Vocal world. :) As a writer/creator (I love the word "creator", to be honest, and I take a lot of pride in this word) there are certain features I would love to see available on my vocal dashboard to help create the most appealing and seamless experience for my audience. They are the following: 1) I would love the ability to group my work into different columns on my page. For example, I have several different poetry lines (each appealing to a different market of people) and I would love a way to group them so they list in an organized way. This would go a step above the current keyword feature, as it would allow me to create my own way of labeling my work. It would also allow me to have control of how my work appears on the page. 2) I've brought this up a few times, but I really feel, as creators, writers, and authors, that we should be able to make our stories private if we want. There are several reasons for this. Sometimes, it comes down to marketing/personal brand. We may want to experiment with a style for challenges that does not fit with what our audience expects from us. Other times, we may not be finished with a piece and wish that it is not shared until it is completed. 3) Next, I would love the ability to post images in the Bio section of my page. As a creator, I had a "creative" idea. You see - two of my poems were chosen in the Moment of Freedom Challenge, but badges were never given for this. 🥹 I've come to accept it. However, I would love to create an image that says something along the lines of "author of two poems that were recognized by Vocal as impactful and included in the Moment of Freedom Vocal Publication". I would then like to link my two pieces there. ❤️

  • If something looks AI generated, but it's not disclosed, how do we report that?

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Good luck with this!

  • Well done on both sides of this chat!! Brilliant issues being raised and listened to / worked upon. Thanks Vocal for all the work you do to keep this community thriving ❤️✨🕊️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Notifications is a mess. I want to be able to see new subscribers, and comments, but they are swamped by publications, which I can see on my Subscription feed. Vocal said there was going to be a filter option but no sign of that. Having said that Vocal is still my preferred platform so I will put up with the stuff I complain about.

  • Hope Martin8 months ago

    Hi. I know I’m late. But I have an issue. So I wrote longer pieces. I know a lot of the main action on vocal is the poetry section. And I’m not knocking poetry. I love poetry. I wrote some of that too. But most of my pieces are over 1000 words. In fact some of my works are line 8k long. They are stories or articles I put a lot of love into. And I see them trending at 5 reads but 8 likes…. I have people comment - and I know they’ve read them. But my count never goes up. The way that the poems and articles are compensated just isn’t working. People are not getting credit for reads. If I have someone who can read 70 words per minute and they finish my article which vocal thinks it should take 15 to 20 minutes to read I don’t get credit for that. So people are reading my work. But I’m not getting the credit for those reads. Not just money wise- but stat wise. It can be disheartening. Those of us that spend two or three hours on one article that tells a story that takes 29 minutes to read should be compensated the same as those who can pump out 6 to 8 poems that can be read in a minute in that time. It takes longer to read but we have less reads/ no body likes to read long articles it seems and the vocal community doesn’t support other niches as much as it does the poetry community- which isn’t great for the “all inclusive” vibe that vocal is going for… I’m just saying… my articles shouldn’t be discounted because they are longer works of fiction and some people can read 8k words in 12 minutes….

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Deasun T. Smyth8 months ago

    I still can't get my favourite stories to open, don't know if that's a problem on your side or on mine. But I've filled out the report several times.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    What is your policy on bullying and hit pieces being published and made top story?

  • Here's a simple one... I wish we had a like or thumbs up buttons for comments in the comments section. That's my super-duper wishlist of the day!!! 😎💕💕💞

  • I Love Writing on This Platform ❤️📝👍😉💯✨✌️❤️

  • Thanks all of you...

  • Thavien Yliaster8 months ago

    There was a top story that was right after Dana Stewart's "Cheeseburger in Paradise." It was there and now it's not. Where did it go? For the filthy community would it be possible to receive the tags "poetry" and "fanfiction?" If not could we receive a "filthy" tag for the Poets community? Since there's a "horror" tag for the Fiction community, could there be a "filthy" tag for that as well? The Filthy community does have a "fiction" tag. If CREATD Inc. has 21133750 shares of common stock that are currently priced at $0.0335 which should have the company at a price estimation of around $707980.625 then how are numbers mentioned such as this in Mr. Frommer's article, 'Creatd CEO Jeremy Frommer Publishes Open Letter to Shareholders Addressing Declining Stock Values?' "Given that Vocal operates at a cash flow breakeven, comparable metrics suggest a discounted valuation lies between $60M-$100M." Does the valuation come from assets such as the employee workforce, the computers, the building, the art collection that lies within "The O.G. Collection (thinking back to the nft of Donald Trump leaving his signature on somebody)," etc.? What assets does Vocal, and by extensions, its parent company CREATD Inc. that brings in a price valuation of $60M-$100M, and are these assets fungible, liquid, staked?

  • J. S. Wade8 months ago

    I wrestle with a conflict. A 17 syllable haiku, poems, comp at the same rate as a 3000 -5000 word article or short story. Yet, the short works easily draw more reads. I understand frequency of engagement aides the Vocal model. What motivation does this give the long writers? This model also promotes the spam content. I don’t know the answer. Is there any consideration to comp by scale of the work?

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    Writing via app/submitting story on app on those long boring bus rides

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    Another question, when will the bonus be paid out for posting in all four new communities?

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Just wanted to say thanks to the Vocal curator team for the various top stories you have awarded me over the past few months. It really is very much appreciated

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Village Mates - On the LighterSide ~ We all have memorable judgement atta-boy comments with our 'Schtick' - Here's my favorite: "Well, I didn't see anything wrong with it" - What's your Favorite? Jay

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I'd love to be able to share a piece with a *few* people before making it public.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.