Vocal Creator Chat: 6/6/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
45

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • We launched 4 brand new Communities: Art, History, Humor, and Men, and 4 corresponding Challenges: Father's Footprint, Painted Prose, Past Life, and Pitch Your Pilot.
  • The #plagiarism-reports channel has been added to the Vocal Discord.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
45

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Shauna Mullen11 months ago

    There has been talks on some groups on Facebook spreading that vocal is scam, I personally know this to not be true but the experiences some people have relayed are concerning, is there anything being done to resolve this?

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    May I just say that I think these threads are amazing. I haven't really contributed (no excuse really... just busy!) That said I always find time to read and reflect on the content. It is wonderful how engaged many creators are and how open the Vocal team is with listening and responding. Sincerely, for what my humble opinion is worth, well done all and thank you. ❤

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff11 months ago

    I also think it would be good if we had an option to archive stories instead of just deleting them.

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff11 months ago

    I think it’d be great if we could organise the stories on our profile into groups or series. Also, I wish the ‘your feed’ section under ‘your subscriptions’ was more easily accessible, like had its own section besides top stories. Thanks for all the recent updates though. Super excited for vocal merch!!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Did anyone else know that you just grab the link off of the word Notifications on notifications itself to get the list of notifications you been missing. Whew! ICYMI like I did. Yep, that is how you get your entire notifications list. Thank you Justin.

  • Sanjok Karki11 months ago

    Hi Plz tell me a some ideas of this platform .

  • Hi all... Late to the game today. Mom had a very tough day her anxiety level was very high. Things have settled down a bit so I want to take the time to put in my two cents. First I would like to see a new category added to the Fiction community. Psychological in fiction would be nice. I know there's a Psychological section in the Horror community but not all psychological stories are horror stories. I have two that I consider to be Psychological Dramas and I feel would be a better fit in the fiction community.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    I was frustrated with equity issues. Thanks 4 actually hearing me! It TRULY made my day! Happy Almost Summer Vocal Management! Thxl! The Humor Community is a riot! I love it! 😁😍👍🏾✊🏾

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    I just wanted to emphasise one of Simon George’s suggestions below. Being able to like comments would be really helpful - sometimes you want to acknowledge other people’s comments but don’t have the time to reply to them, so a like-comment feature would be great. I think it could also help to manage some of the spam as well - I imagine it’d be a bit harder to implement, but a feature that allows “upvoting” and “downvoting” for comments would help to filter out the genuine comments from the spammy ones. I have occasionally reported spam comments when I’ve seen them, but it often takes quite a while before they’re removed, and sometimes they’re not removed at all, so I really thinking an upvote/downvote system would help Vocal users somewhat self-manage this side of the platform (to an extent), and may even make it easier for the actual moderators to do their jobs

  • Hi guys, no complaints or anything exciting to add, except, I am here. Happy to be a part of it all

  • Simon George11 months ago

    I'd like to be able to submit a story into two communities (because they often overlap I.e. love poetry). Also include more tag options like romance, mental health, etc. I'd like to be able to like other people's comments. Perhaps there could be a challenge voted for by Vocal readers and not the judges. Maybe limit the number of entries to increase visibility of work instead if being drowned in submissions. Deleting stories, or removing visibility of old works. Just a few thoughts.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Hi Vocal! I am constantly missing these chats, but I wanted to leave this here in case there is any chance it can still get answered. I'd like to start out by saying I'm super excited about a lot of the improvements that have been happening -- in addition to the new communities! Personally, I'm really excited about the art community ☺️ Thank you so much for all your hard work! With that said, I would love it if there was a way for vetted members to have the option to make their challenge submissions private (viewable only to judges). I might be alone in my feelings here, but I would personally love the chance to play around with my style without making it public. If it wins or places (which, granted, is a long shot for me😅) it automatically becomes public. However, if it does not place, I'll have the opportunity to delete it discretely -- as if it never existed. :) I feel like arguments against this would be that plagiarists could post stolen work -- but then again, why would they do that if it doesn't have the chance of being read? Also, this is an option that would be available only to vetted members. Just something I've been thinking about and would really appreciate. Thank you so much for considering ❤️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I have no questions… not yet lol. If I think of one, I’ll be back!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I just need notifications to scroll so I don't miss anything or anyone when i snooze or do other activities. Otherwise i am so falling in love with all the new happenings and particularly, being able to interact with Justin and moderators??. I hope they didn't quit and it is just Justin.😍 I (we) appreciate all the hard work that went into these changes. I am envisioning late nights and maybe sleepless nights to appease our insatiable appetites for perfection. Thank you guys, for the platform and for saving our mental health. At least mine and a few others that I know.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Would you be able to add my latest top story to Discord? It was never posted there: https://vocal.media/confessions/about-me-3v710bgk

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I love the new updates, as others have noted! I am wondering about the micro fiction/flash fiction word count rules. It seems that sometimes, the 600 word count minimum in the fiction community is not always adhered to, but other times, is vehemently adhered to, and I don’t understand why. Also, if I tag a story that’s over 100 or 200 words but under 600 as “micro fiction”, (which is not how it is defined), does that make it more likely to be approved? I feel there needs to be some adjustment to the minimum word count at the very least, and maybe an additional tag for flash fiction, which would be under 600 words and over 200 or so.

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    It's nice to see vocal just keeps growing, and taking in critisms and dealing with them, which makes all involved Happy. I like the new communities and the stories/articles they contain so far. I had planned to write an article and post it on the humans community, which would've been apt, with the message of the article being what it is... but thankfully the art community came out just in time and I ended up posting it there because it was more suitable.

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Will there ever be an implementation of software that allows authors to be able to delete stories, edit titles, and edit subtitles?

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Um- almost embarrassed to ask, but if the Top Story of mine from this weekend could be manually added to Discord I would appreciate it. https://vocal.media/lifehack/how-to-make-big-money-on-vocal-with-ai

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    Just popped in to say I have no complaints...except the fact that Vocal has somehow managed to reel me back in with the new communities, better challenges, etc....I though I'd gotten all I could from the platform and these changes have changed my mind Haha, you're stuck with me now. 😁

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Hi and Happy Tuesday! I had a top story this past weekend, Lost Keys (Thank you Vocal) that appears to be the only one not transferred over to the Discord section for top stories. Any chance of fixing it. Thanks so much 😊

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Just popping in to say I’ve noticed how diverse the Top Stories have become… a wide range of writers, many new to me… and I’m loving it so much. 🩷

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I've been part of teams that roll out updates, new features, and the like. This comment is for the entire Vocal team: you have done an unbelievable job of innovation and changes. Between the Discord channel (and pulling Mod duties there), to FOUR new Communities and SEVEN new challenges within two weeks, a new bonus structure, new recognitions, and STILL keeping these threads going twice a week (and going back and answering old threads from previous weeks, which I have noticed- that is amazing)> these things don't happen by accident. Thank you all for the increased engagement, amplified opportunities, and the calm respect that you show to some of our (OK- maybe MY) more outlandish requests. You are doing an admirable job and deserve recognition and gratitude.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    I'll add my compliments to the Vocal team on the updates and the new communities. It's another great indication that the creators have a voice!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.