Confessions logo

About Me

From France to the Canadian Prairies…

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
71
Lil' me in 2022

Hello everyone!

I realize that I have never actually introduced myself to the Vocal community.

Better late than never, right? So, here we go.

You already know my name. But for those who wonder how to pronounce it, here is the answer: “san-drEEn mar-wah”. (No “t” at the end, please. ;-) )

Born in Toulouse, southern France, I spent the first decade of my life in Surgères, a small town on the Atlantic Coast, before moving back to my birth city with my mother.

A view of Surgères, France. Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

A bridge in Toulouse, France. Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

You can see many photos of Toulouse below.

I fell in love with English in high school. I was so passionate about the language that I decided to become an English major. I hold a BA in English-to-French Translation (which is actually considered a Master’s Degree in France). The subject of my thesis? A translation of the first two chapters of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Austen remains one of my favorite authors to this day.

My initial goal was to be an English teacher in France. But I found the national teaching exams too difficult and exacting. Like a majority of my peers, I failed—more than once. In 2003, I had had enough of the competitive atmosphere, of studying 12–14 hours a day, and hearing professors telling us that “teachers are the elite of the country.” I wanted to see more of the world, meet new people and cultures, and stop feeling like a professional student. I set my sights on Winnipeg, Canada, and moved there a few months later. I have never looked back since!

A view of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada - Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

I am the proud mama of four fur babies: Ginger and Teddy (tabby cats), Gus (Jack Chi), and Pepper (Terrier mix).

Ginger - Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Teddy - Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Gus and Pepper - Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Yes, they are as mischievous as they look!

Where I Have Travelled

France, of course! But I have also visited quite a few interesting places, including Syria, Hawaii, Alaska, Italy, Greece, Spain, the UK and several Canadian provinces. Prince Edward Island is one of my favorites!

As a nature photographer, Canada is pure heaven. I could spend days in forests and parks near my house…

What I Do

For years, I worked as a translator, French instructor to adults, social media coach, content creator and curator, digital journalist, and art reviewer. I am also a poet, author, digital and film photographer, budding watercolor painter, podcaster, the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy, and the (co-)creator of literary forms and a type of digital image.

I have released 40+ books since 2006, including:

  1. The Train: A Short Story — You never know what a train ride may have in store. Maggie is about to find out as she journeys to Coueuses to visit her family.
  2. In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories and Flashku — Eight contemporary and emotionally gripping stories told from the point of view of women at different stages in their lives.
  3. Tree Reflections — A collection of 50+ digital and film photographs taken by Cendrine Marrouat in several parks and urban forests in Winnipeg, Canada during early spring 2022.

You can see all my books by clicking the link below. They are available to purchase in hundreds of bookstores around the world!

How to Connect with Me

I am very active in the Vocal Groups on Facebook. You can also find me on the following social networks:

FacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagramCounterSocialMastodonPinterestPixelfedTumblrMediumGoodreads

And for those who would like to explore more of my work, you can click on any of the links below:

That's all, folks! Thank you for reading!

Cendrine

Humanity
71

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 19 days ago

    It was a wonderful tour de vous! I am randomly discovering writers on this Sunday afternoon in Sweden! Winnipeg is a huge leap; I am very interested in learning more about entering some of my stories in literary journals. I hope you have time to check out a few of my pieces on The Vocal. Pleased to meet you!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Now we know you better 😇

  • Maureen Y. Palmer8 months ago

    Awww, your pets are so cute! ^_^

  • Andrew McKenzie8 months ago

    this is soo great thanjks for sharing this with us its really nice to know about you. well please if it is in your ability will you be able to check my ebook on amazon kdp i would really appreciate that gesture. goes by the name The Dragon's Prophecy A Hero's Journey To Save The Kingdom. and another tittle A Kingdom Reborn.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Uh this is great, thanks for sharing this with us Cendrine - and I had been wondering the exact pronunciation of your name! Canada looks beautiful although I love France too; I was in Paris many years ago on a trip but it was a very short stay. I’m from Australia, a city called Adelaide. ☺️

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Nice to meet you, Cendrine!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was so interesting to learn about you! I had no idea. I want to learn French; it's such a pretty language!

  • This was great! Lovely to have a small portal into your world ❤️✨

  • It was really nice learning more about you. Especially how to pronounce your name I wasn’t close lol. Forty plus books is quite impressive

  • I really enjoyed reading about you Cendrine. You have many wonderful projects going on. Thank you for sharing 'you' with us.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Sorry, just catching up on my reads. Amazing photography 💓

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Glad to get to know you and your travels better! Congratulations 🍾 on your top story

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Great job here Cendrine and fantastic for you to achieve a top story!

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    ITS SO NICE TO MEET YOU. CONGRATULATIONS ON THE TOP STORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!

  • Ranjan Baral11 months ago

    Insightful journey...step-by-step...sans lift...detailed life story

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    It's been nice 2 learn more about you!

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing! So lovely to learn about your own story thus far and your unique voice. Cute fur babies, too!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Yes!! Congratulations on Top Story!! 🤗❤️❤️

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Oh wow! 40+ books! I'm struggling to write just one let alone publish. Thank you for introducing yourself friend :)

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Thank you...and good luck with all of this!

  • Mahnoor Siddiqui11 months ago

    It's nice to get to know you.<3

  • Gal Mux11 months ago

    It's nice to get to know you... And very wonderful photographs you have! You are a woman of many talents indeed!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Congrats on your Top Story about your story. Can’t wait to look at more of your photography!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.