Beat logo

The Songs That Changed My Life

A Melodic Milestone Playlist

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
13
Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat - creativeramblings.com

I cannot remember a day without music. Even my first memory is full of it!

Today, I would like to share a list of songs that have made my life better. I hope you will enjoy my selection.

"Enjoy the Silence" by Depeche Mode

Picture this. Southern France in the early 1990s. A 10-year-old kid (hint: me!) is listening to the radio, when the station suddenly blasts Enjoy the Silence.

That is how my obsession with Depeche Mode started.

While my knowledge of English was very limited at the time, the lyrics were simple enough for me to understand. I have loved listening to silence ever since!

"Ripples" by Genesis

Two years later, another track came into my life—Ripples. This song is not just about growing old, but it is also about the importance of embracing the here and now.

For years, Ripples was part of my daily playlist on my way to and back from school. I highly doubt I could have navigated middle and high schools without it!

Genesis remains my favorite band of all time. One of the highlights of my life was seeing them in concert in Toronto in 2007!

"Someone Saved My Life Tonight" by Elton John

Next in my list of essential tracks is Someone Saved My Life Tonight. I consider it to be Elton John's masterpiece and one of the most emotionally charged songs of the 1970s.

"Two of Us" by Supertramp

In May 1993, my mother, her then boyfriend and I were returning from a road trip to Southern Spain. We stopped at a gas station close to the French border. While waiting for my mom to get out of the washroom, I caught sight of Crisis? What Crisis? in the window. Already a fan of Supertramp's, I begged her to buy me the cassette tape.

Half an hour or so later, as we were driving through the most beautiful landscape I had ever seen in my life, Two of Us started playing in the background. I was transfixed.

I still am to this day. The clarinette solo in the middle always brings tears to my eyes.

"Close to the Edge" by Yes

Shortly after my 20th birthday, a nasty breakup triggered my desire to look for a song that would uplift me. Yes's music seemed to be the only thing able to help, so I went to the store and bought the album that many people recommended at the time: Close to the Edge.

I have never been the same since!

"Endless Dreams" by Yes

Early in my artistic career, I came across the exhilarating Endless Dreams. This song has put me in a creative mood hundreds of time! It is so multi-layered! And I discover something new with every listen.

"Nevermind" by Texas

If love could speak, I think that it would do so in Sharleen Spiteri's voice. A timeless song that has put a smile on my face for more than a decade!

"Tubular Bells" by Mike Oldfield

Those familiar with The Exorcist will instantly recognize this title. Mike Oldfield 's 48-minute track is an absolute masterpiece. And yet, very few people know about it.

"The Warsaw Concerto" by Richard Addinsell

I grew up in a music-loving family. My mother played the piano and tuned me into classical music early on.

One my favorite classical pieces is The Warsaw Concerto. This short work for piano and orchestra was written by Richard Addinsell for the 1941 British film Dangerous Moonlight. I have never watched the movie, but the concerto is a masterful creation.

"Our Lady" by Deep Purple

Deep Purple's underrated (and mysterious) song, Our Lady, was one of the hymns of my teenage years. Sometimes, I still cannot believe that it was released 50 years ago! It has aged more than well.

"Nervous in the Light of Dawn" by Leigh Nash

Leigh Nash's song came into my life when I was in my early 40s. At the time, I was in the process of making peace with several people who had deeply hurt me. The lyrics, which I consider among the most beautiful ever written, hit me like thunderbolt. They also cemented my belief that forgiveness is a necessary, albeit very liberating, experience.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading.

I wrote this story in response to the Melodic Milestone Playlist Challenge organized by Vocal in May 2023.

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

playlist
13

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Omg. I remember listening to Yes, Deep Purple back in the 70s. Tubular Bells was also on the daily playlist. Well done, Cendrine.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oh I think you hit the brief for the challenge perfectly here, I loved your explanations for each inclusion!

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    I believe this is the best list I have seen for the challenge. I agree with you that "Tubular Bells" is an an absolute masterpiece.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fabulous story & playlist!!! Music speaks to the soul, conforms and heals loving this!!!💖💖💕

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A really interesting collection, Cedrine! I'm glad to find someone else who listens to MIke Oldfield. His "Songs of Distant Earth" album is, for lack of a less cliche term, "out of this world."

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    I loved this, and will, when I next have time, listen to the songs I don't know. Love Depeche Mode and great call with Texas! Good stuff, Cendrine!

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    I know most of these, Supertramp stands out as my favourite here, but all excellent choices. I loved doing my play list and have enjoyed hearing others' journeys. Certain songs are like mile-markers for important times of our lives.

  • I have a lot of those in my collection and there are a few for me to investigate, I think I entered eight into this challenge but one was actually six linked pieces. Good luck with your excellent playlist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.