Psyche logo

Your Name Is Spiritual

Who do you think you are?

By Alexis PatmonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

A name is not only an expression or term of endearment, but our name sometimes can be prophetic.

My name is Alexis. I have quite the origin story.

Most of my life I felt isolated and alone. My father wasn't really in my life and my mom was a workaholic. That left no space for me to learn and have those important talks that parents give their child. I learned from school, google, and social media.

My family is a Christian family so I grew up in church. In church I also felt alone once I started to really take my walk seriously. I remember not being enough for the deep religious and being talked about for trying to live right by those who weren't. I was totally confused and didn't know where I fit in really until 2016.

The meaning of "Alexis" is Protector of Mankind.

At the beginning of 2016 I joined the Army National Guard. I don't know to explain it. I felt drawn to do it. After I joined and started going through Basic Training, I realized I wasn't there for me but I was there for others.

When week 3 arrived, I remember coming back to the barracks from a training and being in formation outside. All of a sudden it felt like I was about to pass out and one of the drill sergeants asked me if I was alright. There was a couple of more instances that challenged my health so my drill sergeant said for me to figure out what was going on with me. So I did. I wound up staying in the Medical Quarters for most of my time at Basic Training.

At the Medical Quarters, it was kind of laid back but we still had to maintain the regular routine to some degree.

While being at the Medical Quarters I turned into a superhero. I always knew I could see into the spiritual world and that my prayers were powerful. I wasn't trying to be seen or famous but the other soldiers there seen the light of Christ within me.

One girl couldn't really sleep during the nights and said she seen this Narnia looking figure at her door, so she asked me to pray. That morning I asked her was she able to rest. She said yes and no longer seen the demon. In another instance, this girl came in my room where I was and sat down on my bed and asked what made me come to Christ. I replied "I realized I couldn't fix my problems on my own". The same girl asked me to pray for her because she was going through anxiety and depression. So I prayed and she felt better. The last thing that stood out was I was in the bathroom washing my hands and this girl came out of the stall and start washing her hands. Before I walked out the door, I was led to ask her could I pray for her. She just gotten work done in her mouth and one side of her mouth was swollen. She said I could pray. So I prayed. I remember saying "By this time tomorrow the swelling will go down". The next day I seen her standing in an opposite line from me and we walked past each other, and she gestured the swelling went down.

I eventually was medically discharged. After I came home I was emotionally, mentally, and spiritually drained. A short time after that, I had a revelation. Although I may have not lived out the meaning of my name physically, spiritually I do by interceding and healing people by the power of God.

HERE"S ANOTHER SHORT STORY

My great grandmother's name was Melvin. Although Melvin is an masculine name given to a male, I didn't realize what my second great grandmother was foretelling.

When I was younger, I used to go over my great grandmothers house after school. My school was literally right around the corner from her house. When I went to high school, I caught the bus there. That's where I bonded with her. She told me about her childhood and her other family members.

My great grandmother was the only surviving child of her mother's two children. Both of them died shortly after they were born. Lillie, my second great grandmother died a couple of years after, so my great grandmother went to live with her father Joseph. All of this happened in Minden, Louisiana in the early 1900's.

Melvin was raised by her father and step-mother and they had over four children. When she got old enough to get married she got married to Arthur Parker, my great grandpa. They had five children but one didn't survive. In 1961 they moved to Detroit, MI. The house they moved into still stands and my grandmother and sister are currently the occupants. There are countless of stories and memories of my grandmother, mother, and my generation in that house. We have first Sunday dinner every month and my family are close knit.

My great grandmothers name "Melvin" mean leader of a tribe or Chieftain. The name fit her so well because she gave birth to five children and has many many offspring and will continue to. Her legacy remains solid. Back in 2019 a member of my family was born and her name is "Parker". Although my great grandmother isn't alive anymore she will forever be alive in our family's name "Parker".

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Patmon

I'm young ,creative,ambitious and striving to be all that I'm called to be. I've changed the perspectives of unbelievers who've came to Christ. I've been mentally and emotionally broken but now that I'm free I'm setting other captives free!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.