Psyche logo

When Breakfast is over, what next?

After the Breakfast Club, where do we go?

By Bruce Curle `Published 12 months ago Updated 3 months ago 5 min read
1
When Breakfast is over, what next?
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

The Breakfast Club was released in 1985 and was only about ninety-five minutes long. Now, on network television, it is at least two hours in length or much longer, depending upon how many commercials they add today.

It is considered an iconic film in various classes or parenting groups. Some believe it is an important judgment film on how high school and, in a broader sense, society functions.

It is a film worth viewing even if you are a teenager in 2023. If you saw the movie originally as a teen or young adult, it is a chance to ask yourself, "When you became an adult, did your heart die?"

I want to think I was a little like Allison, not in the sense of being a hoarder. But caring about what happened to your heart as you grew up.

Looking back, I was a cross between a Bender and Allison. I was never a "Jock" or a "Brain," and especially not one of the "Chosen Crowd."

As an adult now, if you watch this film, you might be struck by how a character like Claire is obsessed with shopping and her appearance. Take a moment and realize things have not changed much, except you would add that they are obsessed with social media.

Some teens are still pushed by their parents to be the best in their sport or their academic achievements. In the film, one of the teens spoke about suicide because he was not successful with a project at school; this, too, has not really changed. Except you can add social media to how students are bullied today.

As for me, I worked hard to ensure my heart never died. I made many mistakes as an adult, but I can look back and know my heart never died or fell into a deep slumber. I also never forgot about the trauma or abuse I went through as a child and teenager. My children went through their own perils in the school system, but I did my best to let them know I loved them and had their back as much as possible.

I must also honestly say along my path in life, I have been blessed with friends that were "Brains," "Debutants," "Thugs," "Jocks," and "Loners" I have even held a few of them as they left this life for whatever they believed was out there.

I would also like to add that I have been blessed to meet a few saints with hearts of gold that helped me keep my faith and heart alive when it could have stopped beating. Some of their wisdom, love, caring and willingness to go the extra mile in life seem to have rubbed off and influenced my life.

After the Breakfast is done, where do we go from here?

For those who are far from being parents, "Keep the heart alive," But how you might ask? Let's start with random acts of kindness to others, especially if they are not part of your social media group or usual classroom friends.

New Parents, especially those from what experts would call " a dysfunctional family," Choose to follow a different path in parenting; it will not be easy, but you can do it. Just take things one day at a time. Some good people can help.

Parents of teenagers, you are exceptional, for this is when your growing children may need your love, wisdom and beating hearts the most. Keep the faith and seek out help before your heart withers and dies.

Adults and grandparents, your beating hearts, your kind nature and compassion are needed for parents and children everywhere. Keeping your heart beating with compassion, understanding, and love helps the earth to keep rotating.

A final thought for everyone from the Breakfast Club movie: back in 1985, one of the teens left a brief report for the principal.

"“Dear Mr. Vernon, We accept the fact that we had to sacrifice a whole Saturday in detention for whatever it was we did wrong, but we think you're crazy to make us write an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us — in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions." (Univeral Picture 1985 - The Breakfast Club)

"You see us as you want to see us ---"

This is true to this very day; maybe, just maybe, our hearts will beat stronger when we stop seeing a teen late at night as a "Threat" or a homeless man as a "Bum" or a "Drug Addict." Maybe some compassion shown will teach our children, a neighbour or a friend how to keep their hearts beating strong.

After the Breakfast Club, where do we go? That is up to you and me.

Be good to one another; if you have never seen "The Breakfast Club," it is worth seeing. If you have seen it, watch it again and ensure you do not let your heart die. I truly believe that heart the dying is not inevitable.

Thank you, John Hughes, for creating "The Breakfast Club."

Author Notes

Thank you for reading my article. I look forward to your thoughts, comments and suggestions. YouTube portions of the movie "The Breakfast Club" are used for educational purposes to demonstrate the points of my article. I encourage everyone to see or revisit The Breakfast Club.

Over the years, I raised two of my own children and fostered many teens over twenty-plus years. Though far from perfect, I believed each child knew my heart never died. My thoughts and prayers go out to all of them.

Should you enjoy my writing, please follow my articles and stories. Tips are always appreciated, and pleasant surprises.

Bruce Curle 2023

traumapop culturehumanityfamilyadvice
1

About the Creator

Bruce Curle `

A Fifty something male that enjoys writing short stories, scripts and poetry. I have had many different types of work over my lifetime and consider myself fairly open minded and able to speak on many topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.