Psyche logo

What It's Really Like to Have ADHD

#ADHD

By Nancy DPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was diagnosed with ADHD several years ago... but it turns out that almost everything I have been struggling with is ADHD related.

Everyone is always mad at me for being late.

In school, at work, when meeting at a restaurant... everywhere!

My life is just a continuation of this cycle...

Motivated and Excited—Huge Embarrassing Failure—Moping and Depressed—Then Back to Being Motivated and Excited Again

My apartment is a mess...

It's bad. I'm a hoarder and it scares me.

My sleep schedule is a wreck!

There isn't even a pattern anymore... when I would ask my doctor for help she kept telling me to 'practice sleep hygiene'. It turns out that insomnia is a part of ADHD.

My parents think I'm just lazy.

My mother was sitting next to me when I got diagnosed... but I guess she never bothered to learn what ADHD is because she has accused me several times now for using ADHD as an excuse.

When I was a kid, my French teacher accused me of being 'retarded'.

This isn't the only reason I still hate that teacher. I know hate is a strong word... but she was a really bad teacher.

People keep telling me that ADHD isn't a real thing...

I don't know how many times I can keep having this conversation over and over again! People seem to think that ADHD is something that only three years old boys have and that it's only symptom is not being able to sit still. Even if that ere true, these kids grow up to be adults... and guess what... they still have ADHD!

Tasks as simple as going to the dentist become a challenge

I had an argument with my dentist about whether or not ADHD had anything to do with being able to pay attention. I'm not kidding. She was shocked to find out that ADHD stood for "Attention Deficient Hyperactive Disorder". She never apologized ...

Albert Einstein is my hero!

Don't ever think that you can't accomplish your dreams because of your ADHD. There are several famous and successful people with ADHD. No matter what your goal is, your ADHD is only a detour... you can do it!

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” - Albert Einstein

Famous People With ADHD

  • Albert Einstein
  • Leonardo Da Vinci
  • Michael Jordan
  • John F. Kennedy
  • James Eugene “Jim” Carrey
  • Ryan Gosling
  • Zooey Deschanel
  • Michael Phelps
  • Justin Timberlake
  • So Many More!

Hello. Nice to meet you! How are you? Hmm... this feels like a really one-sided conversation... why don't you follow me on social media so I can get to know you too!

Like the story? Share it on social media!

Thank you for reading my article. Would it be okay if I ask another favour though? Would it be okay if you share this on your Facebook page or Twitter? If you can't share, there is a tiny little donate box at the bottom too. No pressure though, just thought I would mention.

Work Cited

“A Quote by Albert Einstein.” Goodreads, Goodreads, https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/8136665-everybody-is-a-genius-but-if-you-judge-a-fish.

Board, ADHD Editorial. “Your Day Is Getting Better - Starting Now.” ADDitude, ADDitude, 17 Apr. 2019, https://www.additudemag.com/slideshows/adhd-famous-quotes-for-a-bad-day/.

Bowler, Jacinta. “These Scientists Think Leonardo Da Vinci May Have Had ADHD.” ScienceAlert, https://www.sciencealert.com/these-scientists-think-that-da-vinci-might-have-had-adhd.

“Leonardo Da Vinci May Have Had ADHD, Study Says.” CNN, Cable News Network, 24 May 2019, https://www.cnn.com/style/article/leonardo-da-vinci-adhd-scli-intl/index.html.

Malibu. “9 Famous People With ADHD (Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder).” Inspire Malibu, Publisher Name Inspire MalibuPublisher Logo, 27 Mar. 2019, https://www.inspiremalibu.com/blog/mental-health/9-famous-people-with-adhd-attention-deficit-hyperactivity-disorder/.

StackPath, https://addadult.com/add-education-center/famous-people-with-adhd/.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.