Psyche logo

Websites like Vocal are Essential for Disabled Writers

The most inclusive job around

By Jade HadfieldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Websites like Vocal are Essential for Disabled Writers
Photo by Yomex Owo on Unsplash

I'm a disabled writer. These two traits are not connected to one another - I classified myself as a writer long before my diagnosis. At nine years old I decided I wanted to write books for a living, and set myself on a continuous path that, at the time, seemed relatively simple. The world often does to a child's eyes.

But it wasn't until I got my diagnosis that I found the time to properly hone my craft. Wheelchair and bed-bound, there wasn't a lot in the way of entertainment, aside from my overused nintendo and my phone. I wrote on my notes app nearly everyday, without care for how it sounded or where the story was going, and over the years I began to improve. Slowly, of course, but the quality of my writing went from sloppy sentences to somewhat structured. I'm still in the process of learning, even now.

In a way, becoming disabled has made me more adamant about 'achieving my dreams'. I have a lot of time where there isn't much else for me to do, far too tired for anything physically productive. I become despondent when I spend a day without doing something – probably a toxic mindset brought about by our society's obsession with being 'on the grind.' Being able to tap away at my phone and create something helps to alleviate that, it reminds me that I am real, that I am capable.

That's why Vocal is important

I've resigned myself to accept the fact that I cannot work for a living. I get government assistance money (though it's rarely enough to feed myself), yet I still feel guilty, as though I'm accepting handouts. I don't like being given something unless I've earned it – though, you could argue that suffering through years of chronic pain means I've more than earned my disability bucks.

Vocal lets me take back my independence. I can work at my own pace, from my bed if I need to (I'm writing this in bed right now!), and there are no expectations. The only deadlines are the ones I set myself, and when a flare up strikes, I like to think I'm quite the fair employer. 

Of course, it's not all cash in hand. I try my hardest to build an audience, but not everyone is going to like the content I put out. Some articles flop, but that doesn't matter. I've still worked hard, a reward in itself, and I'm reminded that despite my affliction I've got a working brain, and I am capable. 

The added independence of being able to earn my own money is a godsend. I wish there were more work opportunities for disabilities like mine, but that is something I doubt will become a reality. I need far too much sleep to ever be a reliable employee.

So I will continue to write, and continue to hope that one day my novel will be finished, published, and a bestseller that earns me oodles of money. My first purchase would be one of those really expensive, bougie mattresses - I've got to keep my workspace as comfortable as possible. And then I'd probably buy a house of my own, nothing too fancy, but as cosy as can be. It's fun to dream, isn't it?

If you have a friend who is disabled who is working towards their own dreams, give them some support. Read a story, retweet their artwork, make them a cup of coffee. The small things add up, and really do make a huge difference. You'll never be unappreciated, and if they do ever make it big, you'll be one of those people they remember as their first supporter.

support
7

About the Creator

Jade Hadfield

A writer by both profession and passion. Sharing my stories about mental health, and my journey to becoming a better writer.

Facebook: @jfhadfieldwriter

Instagram: @jfhadfield

Twitter: @jfhadfield

Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/jadehadfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.