Psyche logo

The Steps to Reconnecting with Self-Love After Trauma

Discover How to Overcome the Trauma of Emotional Abuse

By Som DuttPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Steps to Reconnecting with Self-Love After Trauma
Photo by DANNY G on Unsplash

I used to think it was all in my mind

The anger, the fear, the sadness so deep

Like a storm, it was raging inside

My heart, my soul, my hopes all in one heap

I would search and I would try

To make sense of the pain and the lies

But nothing made it alright

And I was feeling lost in the night

Confused, I'd try to understand

What was happening in my land

My heart was heavy and sore

And I felt like walking out the door

But I stayed and tried to heal

From the pain of emotional abuse

It was hard, but I was brave

And I worked to find the truth

I started to see the pattern

That repeated in the past

The signs and the triggers

That hurt me and made me gasp

It took a lot to face those memories

That stirred the fear and pain in me

But I dug deep and held on fast

And I started to see how I could last

My body was shaking, my mind was in confusion

But I kept looking for the answers I sought

My thoughts were spinning, my heart was in a whirl

But I kept going with all my heart and soul

It was a long and winding road

Filled with tears and uncertainty

But I pressed on, determined to heal

And stand strong in my newfound clarity

My journey was hard, the pain was real

But I had to carry on and never yield

The path to healing was not easy

But it was the only way I could be free

Today I'm able to see

The truth that I've found in me

I'm no longer in the dark

And I'm healing from the pain of emotional abuse

Free yourself, lonely one, from emotional pain,

Your heart is heavy, your spirit is drained.

In deepest sorrow, your eyes fill with tears,

You've lived through so much, for so many years.

The chains of pain bind you to your fears,

Stifling your joy and masking your tears.

But you can free yourself, if you only will,

To break these bonds and be able to feel.

Let go of your sadness, it’s time to move on,

Let go of your worries, your pain and your song.

Look around and see all the beauty that’s there,

Look within and find the power to care.

It’s time to take control of your life and your heart,

Time to move forward and make a fresh start.

Open up to the things that you used to ignore,

And let go of the pain that you’ve been holding for so long.

Let go of the past, and the hurt that you’ve held,

And open your heart to the future that’s yet to be felt.

Tear down the walls that have been built around,

Cast off the darkness and let the light be found.

Let go of the burden that keeps you in chains,

Let go of the fear that forever remains.

Take a deep breath, and call on the strength of your soul,

Release the past and let your future unfold.

Be brave and step into the unknown,

Look past the darkness and find the light shown.

If you take the risk, the reward may be high,

And the healing will come, if you try.

Reflect on the moments that have brought you pain,

But don’t let them haunt you and take away your gains.

Let go of the guilt and the hurt that you’ve stored,

And free yourself from the prison of emotion you’ve endured.

Look to the future and know that you can,

Take back your life, your happiness and your plan.

Look within, and find the courage to heal,

You can be free from emotional pain and feel.

depressioncopinganxietyaddiction
1

About the Creator

Som Dutt

I write about Psychology and Philosophy. I am the top writer in Psychology and Philosophy on Medium.com

https://somdutt777.medium.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Liviu Romanabout a year ago

    Your story touched me deeply, and I appreciate you taking the time to share it with all of us. I'll definitely be following your writing from now on, and can't wait to see what you have in store for us in the future.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.