Psyche logo

The Power That Lies Within Your Dreams

We dream frequently but most often go overlooked. Here’s why you need to pay attention to them.

By Timi RobinsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2022
67
Image by Ann Danilina from Unsplash

On average, we have about 4 to 6 dreams per night. Most of these dreams go unnoticed or become a distant memory as soon as we wake up.

It’s no wonder why many of our wildest dreams are often overlooked or forgotten. We dream so frequently it can be hard to recognize significant ones amongst the endless amount of filler.

It’s why we pay little attention to the content in them. On a superficial level, our dreams are merely a sequence of meandering thoughts and emotions gathered during the day, showcased to us in a series of short stories while we sleep.

But despite the unmemorable nature of most dreams, every now and then, we experience a profound dream that dwells in our psyche for years to come.

A remarkable and impactful dream that accentuates the thoughts and desires buried deep in our subconscious minds.

Yet, many of us still choose to disregard its significance. Keeping it tucked away in the corners of our minds, referring to it as a fond and distant memory.

Image by Johannes Plenio from Unsplash

Do you have a particular dream that comes to mind? One so fascinating and glorious, you would give anything just to experience it again for one night?

Or perhaps one you would prefer not to experience again? A nightmare that was so disturbing and depressing, that it leaves you confused as to how your mind could conjure such an unpleasant experience.

(If you have one, try and keep it in mind as you read through the rest of this article)

You see, regardless of the nature of our dreams, I believe they all serve the same purpose.

To act as a bridge that connects the thoughts of the unconscious mind to that of the conscious.

They allow us to gain a better understanding of who we are as people. They show us fears and trauma that would be unbeknownst to us while we go about our daily lives.

They are windows into our inner being, giving us a peek at the emotions lingering around the confines of our unconscious minds.

Image by Jr Korpa from Unsplash

“And it is only after seeing man as his unconscious, revealed by his dreams, presents him to us that we shall understand him fully. We are what we are because we have been what we have been”

-Sigmund Freud, The Interpretation of Dreams

Sigmund Freud is a renowned neurologist from Austria who is widely regarded as the “Father of Psychoanalysis”.

(Psychoanalysis is a method of studying psychic phenomena and using it to treat varying psychological problems. This type of analysis usually takes place in therapy.)

Freud regards dreams as an important tool in understanding the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind.

Throughout his research, he reached a conclusion that the content in our dreams can be divided into two categories: manifest content and latent content.

The manifest is the storyline and literal subject matter of the dream. What you see, touch, and hear falls into manifest content.

The latent content is the symbolic nature hidden within the storyline. It’s the range of emotions you feel during and after the dream. This is where the thoughts of the unconscious mind can be uncovered.

For example, when I was younger, I had a recurring dream I would look in the mirror, and all my teeth would fall out. This would be classed as manifest content.

I remember feeling mortified. I was disgusted by my appearance and feared the embarrassment I would face from my peers. It made me feel so insecure that I wanted to hide away for the rest of my life. This would be latent content.

Image by Greg Rosenke from Unsplash

By analyzing the latent content (how the dream made you feel), you can gain an invaluable insight into your hidden desires, strengths, and fears. A great and effective way to do so is by keeping a dream journal.

Writing or studying your dreams is a great way to understand their significance.

Not only that, it helps you to remember dreams more, allows you to identify patterns and themes, increases the quantity and quality of future dreams, and allows you to communicate with your unconscious mind.

Thus greatly improving the understanding of your unique and enigmatic personality. Which leads to a better understanding of yourself as a whole.

“The dream is the liberation of the spirit from the pressure of external nature, a detachment of the soul from the fetters of matter”

-Sigmund Freud

advicecopingsupportselfcare
67

About the Creator

Timi Robinson

Just a university student going through the motions and trying to help others going through it as well.

Check out more of my work on Medium! https://medium.com/@timirobinson34

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    For example, when I was younger, I had a recurring dream I would look in the mirror, and all my teeth would fall out. I too had a recurring dream of an ex-boyfriend chasing me. My dreams solved the problem for me.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    They are windows into our inner being, giving us a peek at the emotions lingering around the confines of our unconscious minds. Yes, dreams are like a window that allows us to see the future.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    You see, regardless of the nature of our dreams, I believe they all serve the same purpose. All dreams have a purpose.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    Or perhaps one you would prefer not to experience again? A nightmare that was so disturbing and depressing that it left you confused as to how your mind could conjure such an unpleasant experience. Even dreams demands balance.

  • Annelise Lords about a year ago

    A remarkable and impactful dream that accentuates the thoughts and desires buried deep in our subconscious minds. Dreams warn, guide, and protect many of us in ways we can't often understand.

  • Thank you for creating this. I’m currently on my “dream journey”. I love seeing the patterns in my dreams. I completely agree that this is an important area of psychology to explore and take seriously.

  • Powanda Sowden2 years ago

    Good article

  • Edgar Romero2 years ago

    Nice 👍

  • Tumminia Hanis2 years ago

    Enjoyed your article very much

  • Sam Jamal2 years ago

    very informative!

  • What is your take on the concept of there being times where a dream is more than just "a dream"? What I mean specifically is how do you feel about the concept of astral projection or some kind of out of body traveling to another parallel dimension, reality or time? I ask because I firmly feel that there have been times in my life where what was seemingly a dream on the surface, truly felt to be more. I had in particular one specific "dream" when I was 23 that forever changed not only my connection with this so called interpreted reality, but also my understanding of how our mind, body and soul are connected to a broader picture of reality that exists out there in this wide spanc of this universe. The only way I can describe it was an out of body travel in where what was only a short time here upon this plain of existence, was on that other side an undiagnosed length of time. where in I lived an entirely different life, in a different reality in a whole other species body. I died, and they say that dying in our "dreams" is impossible, and I will agree with that, but what of the possibility of there being times that what we are experiencing is not a dream? Now yes here in this body I didn't die, but as for that "other" reality that I was very much connected to, I did die, or more specifically, I was murdered by having my head decapitated by a katanah sword. at which point when my head stopped rolling away from my body I opened my eyes and upon seeing my now dead and still body, I felt a pain behind my eyes like nothing I have ever previous or since experienced. Upon waking I took a deep shocked and frightened breath of air and for the next few minutes was confused and scared. another connection of mine in relation to this theory is the very first dream I remember having when I was 4. I clearly remember doing summer saults in the air as I traveled downwards towards the home I was living at the time. I slid through the roof, saw myself sleeping in the top bunk and upon landing within myself I suddenly woke up.

  • Joseph June2 years ago

    Great story. Thank you for sharing

  • Danielle Mosley2 years ago

    Very good article. I never really looked at dreams that way.

  • Brian2 years ago

    Because I have severe Aphantasia, I can’t recall my dreams at all, i very occasionally wake up with a very vague impression of feeling a strong emotion but am unable to recall the dreams that evoked them.

  • Cecilia Figueroa2 years ago

    me encanta soñar)

  • Brittany Miller2 years ago

    This is something I've looked into myself repeatedly over the years. For many years, I had a reoccurring dream of dark water. Which makes sense because I almost drowned as a kid on multiple occasions, so that was my fear of water manifesting in the dream. There were other things I learned, but that is for another time. Thanks for the article! Heart and insights given!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.