Psyche logo

The Perfect Place

Driven to Destiny

By Nick SpiveyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

"We are so lost."

Elle was skeptical of the old maps we found in his car. We didn’t have much of a signal out here in the middle of nowhere either, so GPS was hopeless. Had to rely on old school methods like a couple of wandering settlers in search of paradise. In this case a couple of college kids on vacation. Our first cross country road trip. We were on our way to an amusement park in Florida from Chicago for some much-needed relaxation.

The radio. When it worked. Played staticky music and informed us that the skies were clear and it would be a bright and sunny day.

My eyes wandered from the endless road to her. They met in college almost 3 years ago and clicked instantly. Both psych majors working towards dreams of getting into med school. Not entirely sure on how to pay for it yet. They had just finished their semester and were excited to take a vacation. Both nearly broke college kids. They scrounged together a bit for a little adventure. It would be smarter to put as much towards savings as they could. The trip was much needed though, for their own sanity. Elle wanted to check out a theme park since she had never been. I was excited to show her one since he had loved them all of his life. Decided to take her to the one he grew up going to.

"Hey, mister. Focus on the road before we get into a wreck."

I went back to watching the road and for signs of life or direction. Civilization had to be nearby.

Glanced over at Elle’s’ map. Trying to remember where we were.

Almost didn’t see him.

The person laying in the middle of the road.

I slammed on my breaks and the car screeched to a stop, about 10 ft from them. My mind racing and my heart pounding. “Call for help!” I yelled, unclicked my seatbelt and threw open the door.

She said something, but I couldn’t hear.

I rushed over and knelt down.

The man looked like hell. Torn clothing, bloodied bandages. Deep cuts and scrapes covering his exposed skin. Difficult to tell age. Face was a bloody smear. Was he in an accident? Attacked by a wild animal? Where did these burns come from?

I was panicked and wasn’t sure what to do.

“Sir, we’re going to get help!”

The man coughed.

“What happened to you?!”

How is he alive? He slowly opens bloodshot eyes and a raspy voice. He spoke, but I couldn’t make it out. I leaned in closer to understand... He raised his hand, shaking. The movement strained him. Clutching a small black book in a hand with two fingers missing. A bright pink band aid wrapped around his index finger. What is this?

“Take. Take it… take it please.” He begged. Barely above a whisper.

I reached out and hesitated. I don’t know why. It just felt a bit strange. An uneasy feeling.

I took the book. The corner of his mouth curved into a smile. "Here... you will find... the perfect place." His voice sounded... relieved.

"What do you mean?" His eyes closed and his hand fell. I turned to Elle and yelled for her to come help and turned back to the man.

He was gone.

I gasped and fell back. Looking around. "What the hell?!"

"Sweetheart, what's wrong? I don't understand why we stopped and what had you so concerned?" Elle said walking up.

Elle reached down and helped me stand up. I was trembling, confused. Dusted myself off.

“You look so pale, are you feeling well?” She asked.

"Did you see him?!"

"See who honey?"

"The man, here! There was a man!”

"I don't see anyone, honey. Are you feeling okay? Did you remember to take medication earlier?"

"This wasn’t a hallucination... This was real. Very real. He was right there... right over there!" I pointed at the road.

"I see. Let's get back in the car. Looks like it's going to storm soon."

"He was there. He gave me this book."

I held it up.

"Oh, let me see." As she took it a slip of paper was sticking out.

*ouch*

"What?" She asked

"Oh, just a paper cut."

"Oh my gosh. I'm sorry. Here." She reached into her purse.

"Let me see."

I held out my hand. Still looking around for the man. “Where did he go?” I wondered.

"Here." She peeled the wrapping off a band aid and placed it on the cut. There. All better.

I smiled and thanked her. It did feel better already.

We got in the car and l started driving.

Elle opened the little black notebook and few papers fell out onto her lap.

I was still in shock and disbelief over the interaction. It was nothing like I had ever seen in my life. The condition that man was… almost indescribable… horrific. Really, it was something you would see in a horror movie. What could have done that to him? Why was he out here all alone? I wanted to help him. Do something… anything. He looked like he was in unbearable pain... I didn’t even get his name... and what was with the notebook? Why give it to me? What was so important about it? Was the man just delirious from his condition? My mind raced with questions. As the adrenaline started to go down. A big question was… where did he go? He just vanished into thin air. That was such a…

"Rollercoaster!" Elle said with excitement.

“What?” I said out loud. Elle’s voice snapping me out of it.

"Sorry, rollercoasters." It's a huge indoor theme park. Mike. Rides, arcades, a movie theater and restaurants!"

"...What?" I was struggling a bit, but now I was able to give attention to what was going on in the car.

Elle continued to read off details about a theme park. I loved seeing her excited and happy. Even if I was still a little confused.

Turns out the book had held a folded-up flyer for an amusement park.

"Is it expensive? We have to watch our budget if places are not..."

"Free admission!"

Oh, that's really great. It's tough to turn down a free theme park. I was also starting to get hungry as my stomach growled in retort. It sucks having allergies. He needs to eat...

"Gluten free food...: Elle whispered.

Well, that is convenient.

"Can we go?! Please, please... plea..."

I can’t think of a lot of reasons not to. This place sounds almost perfect. I still wondered if we shouldn’t continue to Florida. That’s when Elle unfolded another paper. Possibly the finger cut culprit. I started to glance down at my finger when she let out a squeal of excitement that nearly gave him his second heart attack of the day. This trip was going be the death of him.

“What is it?!” He asked, trying to match her volume.

“Twenty thousand dollars!!”

“What?!”

“Mike, there’s a winning ticket in here! It says, “Whoever finds this. Please claim your prize money at the theme park office.”

“That’s unbelievable, hon. What if someone already claimed it?”

Elle replied, “It says it’s stamped and torn off at this line after. However, the whole ticket is here!!”

I couldn’t believe it. I never considered himself the luckiest person in the world. Except for when I met Elle. Lucky in love, if nothing else.

They could really use that money too.

“Can we go?!” Elle asked with joy.

"Yes, we absolutely can." Being around her, talking to her always made him feel better. Regardless of where we were or what we were talking about. Glad to experience a new place together would make for some great moments and memories too. Save on having to drive several more days as well. Sure, the car is happy about that.

Was all of that earlier a delusion? Did he just find the book on the ground?

Details of the encounter with the man in the road we’re fading. He struggled to remember the interaction as if he was waking from a dream.

Elle mentioned a map with directions on the back of the flyer when rain started pattering on the windshield. The skies got darker rather suddenly. At least paper doesn't need a Wi-Fi signal.

Flicked on the windshield wipers. “What happened to bright and sunny skies?” Elle asked as she examines the paper. A flyer about a theme park I had never heard of, but sounded wonderful. "We need to make a left up here." I turned as my car made a noise in retort.

“I don’t know.” It was strange that the weather turned like it did. I was still thinking about the man. I had questions and no answers. I also had trouble remembering specific details about him as we drove. Like the feeling you get when waking from a dream. He was real though. I was sure of it. The way he just disappeared... I’m going to need to make an appointment with my doctor when we get back, just in case. Elle was probably right about that.

"I'm excited to see this place." Said Elle

I rested my hands-on top of the wheel. Trying to relax. I suddenly noticed the band aid.

I stared at it.

I just could not stop staring at. Elle continued talking about the amusement park, but it sounded faint. Distant for some reason. My ears started ringing as my heart began racing again. This feeling of extreme anxiety and uneasiness.

Not because it still hurt. No.

It’s just the band aid.

It’s pink.

"Yeah, me too."

Special thanks to Dave.

It was submitted for his approval and he said, “yeah, it was good.”

trauma
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.