Psyche logo

The Once and Always Valentine

When a Parent Dies of Suicide

By Judey Kalchik Published 3 years ago 3 min read
28
Rev. Peter Foley, photo property of his daughter (Judey Kalchik)

Valentine weekend isn't always sweetness, light, and lacy hearts for everyone. The expectation of fluffy lovey doviness can do a number on a person and dredge up fountains of grief. For me, the grief is missing what once was.

The photo above is my very first Valentine. The man that was at the seat of every joy and misery of my life for my first 19 years, my father.

In the early hours of Valentine's Day 2007 he died of a self-inflicted gunshot.

Final.

Irrevocable.

Devastating.

It changed.... it changed EVERYTHING and at the same time changed nothing.

• I never understood him and now I never would.

• I was never sure he approved of me and now I'll never know.

• I had hoped time would heal our relationship and now I'll never find out.

• I thought someday the five of us, me and my brothers and sisters, would meet again and find our way. That hope is so small now I'm afraid to look at it too closely for fear the flame will extinguish.

His suicide is not about me- I no longer wonder why his wife and children (and grandchildren, and eventual great-grandchildren weren't a reason for him to stay.)

His suicide isn't about me, but it has changed me and I contemplate that change every February.

I do not speak lightly of 'killing myself'.

I do not mime pulling a trigger against my head when frustrated.

I do not understand the why of what happened but have come to accept that the why won't change what happened.

Depression runs in my father’s family. When I was growing up we didn’t use that word: we called it ‘moody’. Or ‘dramatic’. It wasn’t seemly to feel things so strongly that they brought you to your emotional knees.

No; those feelings were something to keep hidden. To avoid acknowledging at all costs. Well-adjusted people did not cry, did not doubt their purpose. And if we suspected we were NOT well-adjusted people… well missy that type of talk should just be left unsaid.

And I suspect tamping down that type of talk, that avoidance which ran generations deep lead to my father making a permanent action against a temporary situation.

But I will never really know.

That Valentine didn’t leave a note. Didn’t bare his feelings and seal them with a kiss. That day wasn’t tied up neatly with a ribbon. The flowers that week weren’t the kind we would display in crystal vases and remember with joy.

The commercials show that true love comes from @Jared and every kiss begins with @Kaye. That chocolate makes everything better (and don’t get me started on swallowing down the pain with food!)

Maybe that is true. Maybe that is what healthy people do. Maybe this is, then, their day.

I just can’t take the cupids and velvet. I want to go straight for the rainbows and shamrocks of March.

It’s getting better now, but not because I miss him less or feel ‘over it’. Its because I am determined to break the chain of silence and embarrassment.

I do, now, seek and accept help for depression.

I do, now, speak up when things are overwhelming.

I do, now, accept that addiction and depression are family traits, and also accept that these traits do not have an unbreakable hold on me.

I try to clearly see and learn from my past, even if some of those memories are frightening and painful.

I am still influenced by that past, still make emotional choices based on long-held conditioning.

But I am better, and I will be better still.

I miss you Daddy, even through all the complications and anger and fear. I miss you and I still love you, my once and always valentine.

If you have thoughts of self-harm reach out. If it’s too hard to reach out to family or friends contact @NationalSuicidePreventionLifeline at 1-800-273-8355. Or text to 741741 in the US and Canada (85258 in the UK and 50808 in Ireland) and communicate without speaking out loud.

#NationalSuicidePreventionHotline

family
28

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I have reached out. Just saw my therapist again this morning. Still....

  • Teresa Renton4 months ago

    Thank you for sharing such a devastating and personal story. You are amazing to deal with such traumas in your life ❤️

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Heartbreaking, but I see that you’ve taken it as a way to learn. Who are we to be this lucky to share our stories? I’m not close with my dad, I don’t understand him, and he doesn’t get me, and I’m holding out hope one day he will care. I’m sorry you lost that chance. Thank you for sharing.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was a very emotional piece and I appreciate how much you gave of yourself in it (you do that often and it gives greater weight when you are dealing with these kinds of topics) I am sorry for the fact you had to experience that. And think you were brave to discuss it so frankly. Thank you for sharing it.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking! Thank you for the courage you demonstrate in sharing this difficult real life story.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very honest and emotional. Thank you for sharing

  • It's the first time I have ready this and am here for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.