Psyche logo

Psychic Dreams

Dreaming about future events

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Dreams display what is becoming but not yet fully realized. As the body grows and farms its somatic identity, it speaks to itself in many languages. One is the dream. If you think of dreaming as associated with a higher sense of awareness it is not uncommon that dreams actually can predict the future. My future predicting dreams started small when I was just a child. I had this reoccurring dream that I was sinking into the ground. I was reaching out but nobody would help me, they just stood there laughing. I could feel the cold mud on my skin and taste it in my mouth. I felt the fear and anxiety and I'd wake up trembling and cold. Sometime later this dream became a horrifying reality and the distinct details was beyond belief. It was like I was asleep and having that same unwelcomed dream.

I was walking in the mountains with my parents. I ran ahead chasing after a bunny rabbit down the path. Suddenly I stumbled into mud hole and was sinking deeper and deeper. It was so cold against my skin, so very cold. I couldn't move my legs but I was reaching my arms out toward my parents. The mud was coming up over my face and I could see my dad standing there looking down at me and laughing. I tried to cry but when I opened my mouth the mud filled me with a cold, bitter taste. I was going to die, I just knew it and the more that I panicked the deeper I sank. Finally my dad reached out and pulled me up out of the hole. The entire way home all I could do was shiver and cry. I cried because of what had happened to me and how terrifying that it was. I mostly cried because I had seen it happen to me so many times before in my dreams.

Such dreams are known as precognitive dreaming. It is a rare and special gift. Dreams may provide us with the common wisdom that we need to endure I certain situation. They are preparing us for something that is to come, warning us. Knowing the future in general terms spiritually means we are reaching into the psychic data bank. Since dreams normally help us process information they also help us prepare for situations in life. Sleep researchers call these “somatic” dreams.

What happens if a dream about the future actually comes true? I have encountered many nightmares that I worry about coming true. One historical example that I often think about is how Abraham Lincoln dreamed his own death before it ever happened. Lincoln’s former law partner, friend and bodyguard Ward Hill Lamon told a story about the 16th U.S. president’s premonition of his own death. Just a few days before his assassination on April 14, 1865, Lincoln shared a recent dream with a small group that included his wife, Mary Todd, and Lamon. In it, he walked into the East Room of the White House to find a covered corpse guarded by soldiers and surrounded by a crowd of mourners. When Lincoln asked one of the soldiers who had died, the soldier replied, “The president. He was killed by an assassin.”

In a regular sleep cycle, human beings go through nightly sleep and experience dreams. Typically, we forget these dreams and spend our daily life with no memory of what went on during our nighttime cycle. Some people, though, experience dream content that feels surprisingly realistic, and they remember it the next day. Such dreams are known as vivid dreams. I seen my own grandmothers funeral years before she passed. Several times I encountered the same exact dream. Unlike the others this dream was so vivid, so real, I was there, living it in every way.

I could see myself walking down a long isle with unrecognizable people on each side. As I made my way down the isle I could see a silver coffin covered with bright red roses. I stopped and looked down where my grandmother laid peacefully. She was wearing a pale pink dress that I had never seen before. She clutched a white bible in her hands, which I found to be incredibly odd as she wasn't a very religious lady. This dream would come and go for the next twenty years before it became a reality. The actual funeral unfolded just as I had seen it in my dreams.

I was pale, shaken and felt as if my legs couldn't hold me up as I looked into my grandmothers casket. There was the pale pink dress and she was holding the white bible in her hands. She was surrounded by beautiful red roses and the lights gleamed off of the shiny silver coffin that she was resting in. I had seen this moment so many times before. It was if I had painted it in my dreams and dreamed it into reality.

Dreams do not come to us because we focus on them, they are not maintained because we focus on them. They will not be fulfilled because we focus upon them. We fear this, that if we focus on and fixate on our dreams we will somehow bring them into existence.

The reality is that our dreams really do have a life of their own. They are are generated by the spiritual aspect of human consciousness, not by our cognitive mind (the aspect of human consciousness that fixates on things). There is a natural irony played out with humanity’s relationship with their dreams. We cannot control what comes to us in our sleep or what we might see as we drift into the dream world. It may be beautiful, it may be terrifying but we must learn to accept the gift and embrace it. Use your dreams as a tool to prepare yourself for what is to come. Don't be afraid to study, learn and talk about your psychic dreams. Being able to see the future through dreams is a part of who you are and most certainly what you will become.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.