Psyche logo

Pedrie: Pique's retirement is a blow to me. It is the best thing to contribute goals and assists to the team

Pedri: I was almost never nervous and it was my dream to play in the World Cup

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Ahead of the Qatar World Cup, Spain midfielder Pedrie spoke to World Sport about Barca and what to expect in the upcoming World Cup.

Is it important to be top of the league before the World Cup?

Pedrie: "Yes, that was the goal we set for ourselves before the game against Osasuna and we did it, so we are very happy."

About his own goal

Pedrie: "Almost all the managers have asked me for this and I know this is where I need to improve. Contributing goals and assists is the best thing I can do."

About being eliminated from the Champions League

Pedrie: "It's sad. We all want to go on and fight in the Champions League, but now we are doing well in the league and we have to focus on other competitions."

How does the locker room digest that?

Pedri: "We all want to play in the Champions League because it is a very important competition for us, but we have a lot of competitions to play in and we have to think about the league and change our emphasis after being knocked out. I think we are doing well because now we are getting results."

Is the league the top priority?

Pedrie: "This is a tournament where the most consistent team wins the prize and you have to persevere to be up there at the end of the season. This is the title we want to win and this is the way we are going to fight for it."

About the difference between Barca's performance in Europe and La Liga

Pedri: "In Europe we conceded more goals and we watched the games with the coach and the staff and they helped us improve a lot of things. In the league, on the other hand, our defence has been excellent, very compact and that is helping us win."

With little respite against opponents like Real Madrid?

Pederi: "They are going all out for the title as well. They are not far behind and we need to increase our advantage through the game."

On Pique's retirement

Pedrie: "He is a player I like very much. He helps the young people a lot. Every day he gives us a lot of happiness. I didn't know he was going to retire so suddenly, it was a blow to me, but I wish him all the best in his new life and I thank him for everything."

About dealing with a tight schedule

Pedri: "I want to especially thank the staff who have been very helpful to us during the recovery process. Mentally, we face the reality that every three days we have a final and we want to be top during the World Cup."

Is the World Cup inevitably on the mind in these recent matches?

Pedrie: "Yes, it happens. I always try to do my best for the team. If you are 100 per cent focused, then you have less risk of injury. Sometimes you want to be lazy, but you're going to get hurt, and what's going to come is going to come."

It looks like you're closer to the front

Pedrie: "That's another thing I have to improve on, as well as scoring goals, that's something I have to continue to do, give my all and not give up any possession. And in our group, with players like Garvey, who also left his mark on the field, that's what we have to do."

At this year's World Cup in Qatar, the young Pedrie was one of Spain's most valuable players, not just because of his outstanding technical ability, but also because of his leadership qualities and maturity.

As for Pedri's success, much of it is down to his unwavering love of football. There was more to him than that. Pedri said: "I almost never get nervous and when I get into football I enjoy myself, as I have done since I was a child. I'm calm, but I also like to compete and win. I think it's the worst to lose no matter what game it is."

Beyond his footballing achievements, Pedrie has kept his feet on the ground. When asked if he felt pressure to play for Barca, Pedrie talked about the way he works. "I am proud to be able to showcase the style of play and lifestyle on my island. On the court, I do. I've always been a little laid back, like in everyday life."

Before Pedri's eyes, the World Cup awaits him. Pedrie will aim to bring his intelligence and expertise to the table. Spain's path to glory will be far from smooth, with the likes of Brazil and Argentina expected to challenge Europe's top teams in the World Cup.

Pedrie said: "Playing in the World Cup is a dream, the biggest dream for players, we have a young and competitive team and Spain can go very far. On a personal level, it's important to continue to grow and progress."

Of Barcelona, he added: "We have to aspire to win all the titles. There's a lot we can improve on as a team. We obviously didn't do well in the Champions League but there are other games ahead of us and I hope to win something this season. As the years go by, I hope to win everything."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.