Psyche logo

Overcoming Postpartum Depression

The process of seeking treatment

By Morgan ElizabethPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

Postpartum depression is an extremely difficult illness to navigate. It is also an unspoken enemy of sorts. Everyone is always so excited to hear of the new baby that no one wants to dare even whisper the term "baby blues." It is both a very real and very painful experience. If you're lucky, your doctor will mention it a few times and maybe as about it briefly towards the end of your pregnancy. Anyone who has experienced it can testify that it is beyond hard.

***Disclaimer: I am not a healthcare professional, just a peer explaining my experience and making recommendations as I see fit. If you are currently experiencing postpartum depression or any other mental illness, please seek professional medical assistance.***

Postpartum depression (or PPD) is different for everyone. For some, like myself, it creeps up on you. Personally, mine took some time to show its ugly head. I remember bringing my baby home and being so thankful that she was safe and healthy. My daughter's birth was challenging for both of us, and I was so relieved to not be pregnant anymore. My energy returned almost immediately, and I thought I was finally out of the woods. Unfortunately, I was sorely mistaken.

I started showing signs of PPD about 3 or 4 weeks after we brought our baby home. I started noticing the changes my body had gone through and I felt that I had become less attractive. My stomach hung and my hips were bigger. My figure was drastically different and even my face showed signs of wear and tear. After another week or two, I had become obsessed with my appearance and weight. Around 2 months postpartum, I had rapidly tailspun into a state of self-hatred and starvation. I would go days having eaten only a bowl of yogurt and 2 or 3 nutritional shakes, and that was when I ate anything at all. I smoked cigarettes to curb my appetite. My milk supply dried up, and we were forced to switch to formula full-time (we had previously been pumping, only formula feeding when needed.) This turn of events only made me even more desperate and bitter.

I changed during this time. I was impatient, I couldn't sleep, I was hateful and angry at myself and my body, and I expected the world from the people around me. I was one of the lucky ones. I sought help when I realized just how bad I had really gotten. I confided in my partner, my family, and my counselor. I was able to get help and I know that I'm only alive today because of that decision.

PPD comes in many shapes and sizes. It sucks the life out of you and can be hard to recognize if it comes on slowly, like it did with me. Some symptoms to look out for include:

  • mood swings
  • anxiety
  • sadness
  • irritability
  • feeling overwhelmed
  • crying spells
  • reduced concentration
  • appetite problems
  • trouble sleeping

It is crucial to pay attention to your feelings after giving birth. Bringing a baby into the world can be a remarkable thing, but the aftermath can be dangerous. Being aware of the risk of PPD can be lifesaving, and I'm so glad my obstetrician took the time to educate me.

Finding support is easier for some than for others. Everyone's circumstance is different. Some are married, some are single parents, some have family, and some don't even have available insurance. These circumstances can feel impossible to avoid and can make it feel even more hopeless.

We'll define support as anyone who can give their time to help in any way, whether it be helping with housework or just lending an ear. There are different forms of support, such as counseling and support from loved ones. These are all crucial to a full recovery, so please don't be afraid to reach out if you're hurting. For me, the only thing that really seemed to work was medication. If I hadn't told anyone, I probably wouldn't have recovered as quickly as I did. I'm not a doctor, but if you think that you may be experiencing postpartum depression please reach out to your doctor right away! You matter more than you may feel right now, so make sure you take the time to seek proper treatment. You'll be glad you did.

Public assistance and resources can be a lifesaving thing. There is a plethora of information online that can be accessed by doing a 5-minute Google search. Your doctor or health department can supply you with some local resources. Postpartum.net is a very valuable resource. They offer articles on recognizing and treating PPD, as well as providing a hotline that can be reached by call or text. The American Psychological Association's website (apa.org) is another free resource. It has some very helpful information about PPD as well as a few other resources that you may find beneficial. I've included these as suggestions and they are not expected to replace medical treatment. I've also included a list for anyone who is either currently suffering from this disorder or knows someone who is. If you think that you or a loved one might be suffering from PPD, ask your preferred healthcare professional about treatment.

Because this article concerns a very delicate disorder, I've included links that can assist in educating yourself on PPD. Whether you are a family member or friend looking to help someone you care for, or you think you may be suffering from PPD yourself, education is crucial to improvement and healing. Feel free to look through these, because they may help you the way they helped me!

Thanks for reading! If you like this post, feel free to follow my blog on Vocal or on my blog site!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Elizabeth

Hello, there! I'm 23, a mom to be of 4 and a cat mom. I'm also a student at the University of Maryland pursuing a degree in English. I have a lot of hobbies, including writing, painting, cat training, and reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.