Psyche logo

Moving

I've been in this city for almost four years, moved three times

By Bonnie D SmidtPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Moving
Photo by Verstappen Photography on Unsplash

  I've been in this city for almost four years, moved three times, and this is the last time. Since then, I don't live here anymore, and I don't live in this city.

  

  Two years ago, when I moved into this house, it was empty and silent, and now that I'm leaving, it's also empty and silent. I won't miss the warmth and fullness of this place, because I can't take those things with me, so I have to forget or give them up. Otherwise, how can I go to that farther place?

  

  Packing before leaving.

  

  We have been together for three years, we unpacked together and threw away old things together. He asked me if I wanted this, and I asked him if he wanted that. Then, the whole house became as messy as the mood, or rather, the whole mood became as messy as the house.

  

  Looking at the various miscellaneous items on the floor, I remembered the joy I felt when I bought them back. At that time, each of them is my treasure, because each of them has injected a beautiful color into my life, I love and cherish them like myself. Now, I have to go, but they have become a burden on my way forward.

  

  A lot of value but can not take away things, and I have to give them up here, some things can take away but no value, I also have to give them up here.

  

  In an old box, he took out an old necklace with a yellowed cross pendant, the chain waved in front of my eyes, and he asked me, "Do you want this?" I looked, and smiled, "No, throw it away!" Then, the old necklace and the old box flew into the trash.

  

  Like the things I was about to discard, this necklace was once treasured by me, not because the necklace itself was so precious, but because the person who gave it to me was once precious in my heart. It's just that now we are not precious to each other.

  

  I'm not indifferent, I'm just following the decree of time, to abandon it! The first thing you need to do is to get a good understanding of the situation.

  

  Before the departure of the cheap sale.

  

  I can't leave them in someone else's house, even if I can't take them with me. The reason is that no matter how valuable they are in my eyes, in the eyes of others, maybe they are just disgusting garbage.

  

  So, I had to call the aunt who collects and sells second-hand. The washing machine, sold 20 yuan, the old computer mainframe sold 5 yuan, those I used to take lightly put the basin flower pots together sold 30 cents, there are many many things that I once cherished, but also sold a couple of cents each ......

  

  All of a sudden, I used to love and cherish all the items, with wings, one by one to the scrap aunt that is covered with dust and grease stains inside the big bag to fly, but also occasionally there is so one or two iron plate or small pots to be naughty some, they seem to be reluctant to go in, so fell on the ground, but also the floor bounced a few times, with the pain of the fall.

  

  Pre-move cleaning.

  

  I hadn't moved out when there was already a new tenant that came to see the house. That day I was packing up, the house was very messy inside, I do not know if there is no impact on the rentability of the house.

  

  The landlord didn't say anything, but I felt a bit sorry for myself. So later, I decided to clean the house, which had been left empty by us, just as it is customary to tidy up the room whenever you go out to stay in a hotel and check out.

  

  When we left, the house had been cleaned, cleaner than when we first moved in, but also seemed more empty and cold, as if no one had ever lived here ......

depression
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie D Smidt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.