Psyche logo

Minute by Minute

Terror is in the eye of the beholder.

By Mark GagnonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
36
Minute by Minute
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

This was it. The day that was circled in red on my calendar. I reluctantly opened my eyes after a restless night’s sleep, knowing what awaited me. Simple denial, procrastination, appeals to higher powers, none of it worked. This was my fate, and I had to accept it.

At least my reckoning wasn’t until the afternoon, so I still had some time to enjoy life. For some inexplicable reason, I was starving.

The best way for me to start this noteworthy day is with a big breakfast. The smell of bacon wafted through the air. Pancakes with maple syrup, scrambled eggs, orange juice, and an endless cup of coffee was mine for the taking. The sumptuous meal took my mind off of what awaited me for a short time, but slowly reality forced its way back to the front of my mind.

Time is a commodity we all take for granted, even while it slowly slips stealthily away. Similar to a tire with a slow leak, time gradually escapes unnoticed. Unlike a leaky tire, time cannot be replenished. Once it’s gone, it will never be replaced with more time. The clock on the wall is a constant reminder of this.

Once my breakfast was over, I looked around for something to busy myself with until it was time for me to meet with destiny. I made a few phone calls to understanding friends and family, read a couple of magazines, even did some of crossword puzzles. All these activities designed to waste the very thing that is so precious to me—time.

It was early afternoon when an attractive woman in a wrinkle-free uniform emerges from a long hallway and stops directly in front of me. I try, but it’s impossible to ignore her.

“We’re ready for you now, Mr. Jackson. Please come with me.”

We walk down the hall she has just come from and are immediately joined by two more uniformed attendants. I wonder if I’m her first or last of the day? Now I hear it, faint at first but growing louder as we approach the room.

Whir, click, silence—Whir, click, silence—Whir, click, silence.

The old analog wall clock beats out its steady cadence, registering the minutes of my life I had just used, without a hint of how many remained. The constant reminder of time lost infuriates me, but I am out of options. Nothing could be changed.

The attendants who placed me here were pleasant enough, though professionally indifferent to my situation. What else might I have expected? After all, I did this to myself. They guided me to a specialized piece of furniture that wasn’t quite a gurney, but not a chair, either. Once they were satisfied that my body was oriented in just the right position, a blinding light sparked to life, filling the room. I could still see, but the light created halos around the various objects in my cell of solitude.

Whir, click, silence—Whir, click, silence—Whir, click, silence.

More time drained away from my ever-shrinking pool of minutes. I knew what was coming. I just wasn’t sure I was ready for it. First would come the shot, followed by several more minutes of waiting as a foreign liquid slowly spread from the injection sight, numbing the cells it passed through. My mind’s eye shows a view from the ceiling, looking down on my prone body bathed in a halo of light, mouth agape in an undignified pose.

A noise from the doorway roused me from my reverie. People entered my chamber, and I knew it was about to begin.

“Well, Mr. Jackson, let’s get started on that tooth, shall we?”

anxiety
36

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Somehow I knew straight away this had to be what it was! Perhaps it was too familiar!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Woah!!! Now this is absolutely a "Fig Jam" piece. Bravo, Mark. This is phenomenal.

  • Nice work ❤️😉 Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Andrew-Stuartabout a year ago

    Great work! Enjoyable read! Be sure to read mine too as I'm new on this platform and struggling for views. https://vocal.media/psyche/the-importance-of-creating-an-inclusive-society-for-everyone

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    I must be pretty dumb. I missed all the death row stuff and knew immediately that you were going to the dentist. How did I know? Because I would rather go to death row than the dentist.

  • Poultry Hubabout a year ago

    I appreciate how well you portray death row and a lethal injection! But in all honesty, events like these can distort our perception of time throughout the buildup and after it has ended. Please Visit Now: https://thepoultryhub.com/

  • This comment has been deleted

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    i love how you make it truly sound like death row and a lethal injection! but honestly, things like this can warp our sense of time--the build up--and then it is over.

  • Yesenia about a year ago

    Ufff the suspense!

  • Productifyabout a year ago

    really nice peice of art

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    Isnt it amazing how we use it up to avoid noticing it pass.

  • Gina B.about a year ago

    I love the perspective you told this from and the twist at the end. Brilliant!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Isobel about a year ago

    Same issue here and i cant find any solutions

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Love this

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Damn, I liked this!

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    Ah! Fantastic! You built intrigue in from the very first sentence and had me reading till the end. 👏👏👏

  • Caitlin Nightingaleabout a year ago

    was not expecting that end 👌🏻🥂😂

  • Miriam Lundgrenabout a year ago

    I really liked this! It's very well written and has a good flow that captivates the reader. Anxiety is very relatable and I liked how, as a reader, you're on edge nervous alongside you, waiting to find out what's going to happen - what the source to your anxiety is.

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.